Jakan Restaurant Shut Down For Being Too Close To School

• Jakan Restaurant Shut Down For Being Too Close To School

A Jamaican restaurant in East London has been shut down because it is located within 400 meters of a secondary school. The shutdown is part of a Draconian campaign against child obesity.

Story From the DAILY MAIL:

Fast food police: Caribbean takeaway closed down for opening too close to schools

By Dan Newling
    Last updated at 8:34 PM on 20th April 2009
    The hit squad had prepared their raid long in advance.

At 10am eight police officers, some in anti-stab vests, joined three council employees on the doorstep of the Bamboo Joint takeaway.

Their mission? To stamp out the practice of selling jerk chicken within 400 metres of a secondary school.

Shut down: Police officers guard the Bamboo Joint takeaway in Leytonstone after it was closed yesterday for opening up too close to schools.

Yesterday, the Jamaican cafe in Leytonstone, East London, became the first takeaway in the country to be given a closure order under guidelines banning the sale of fast food near educational establishments.

Its owners were given three days to shut up shop.

They were informed by Waltham Forest Council that their small premises, on a busy high street, was not only within 400 metres of a secondary school but also within 200 metres of a primary school and 100 metres from a public park.

The action is intended to combat child obesity by reducing the number of shops selling unhealthy fast food near schools and parks.

Co-owner Maureen Farrell, who opened the Bamboo Joint six weeks ago, said she felt she was being victimised by a council which was acting 'completely over the top'.

'They told us that it's because we are too near a school, but this street is full of takeaways selling fish and chips and burgers.

Enforcement officers serve the takeaway with a closure order for breaching orders about fast food outlets near schools, parks and leisure centres.

'It's ridiculous. They just arrived here this morning and told us they were shutting us down. It looks like we are terrorists or something.

'But all we are doing is selling good food. It's not even unhealthy. We sell Jamaican-style rice and peas, and jerk chicken.

'It is not greasy stuff. And we hardly have any schoolchildren in here at all.'

The bylaw was introduced by Labour-dominated Waltham Forest in March and applies only to those takeaways yet to receive planning permission.
    It prevents them from opening close to one another and puts a limit on the total number in the borough's town centres.

The fast food ban has not been adopted nationwide but its progress is being monitored by other local authorities who could copy it.

Council leader Clyde Loakes said: 'This fast food outlet has not got planning permission and has absolutely no chance of getting it, because of its proximity to a park and a school, so we're closing it down.

'A lot of fast food outlets do their business with schoolchildren, in competition with the healthy schools agenda. We have a responsibility to look beyond the next year or two to the health of our children and young people.'

The Metropolitan Police was unable to explain why it had such a strong presence in the raid.
    Last edited by Bruce; April 22, 2009, 12:47 PM.

Racism plain and simple.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Dem is a crazy fing Council, and mi neva see anything like this before. Sent a copy to a cousin in England to get his input on the story.

The shop owners should sue them for discrimination. I am sure that they can prove that how we cook (not fried) our jerk chicken is healthy. It should not even be classied as fast food.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Got a surprising response from his blackberry.

Yep I saw it on the news. All I can say is rules are rules. There are too many black children eating junk, you just have to get on a bus when school ends to see how many black children are eating fried chicken burgers etc. Plus which Jamaican dish other than rice and peas do you know that is not greasy
          Also

But, could they have given the restaurant an opportunity to modify their meals before shutting them down?
          They can still re open selling healthy low fat vegetarian meals
          Last edited by Hortical; April 22, 2009, 01:08 PM.

It is selective enforcement, and what about other restaurants that appear to be selling fish and chips and burgers. Selective enforcement of the rules is discrimination.

What I can't understand though, is why was this place giving the green light to operate, only to be shut in 6 weeks. Where was the City Council and the relevevant agencies at the time

Anyway, in NY city, a Councilman is proposing the shutting down of all fast food places that are near schools. So this must be the new global thinking.

Next ting we soon hear farting is contributing to global warming.

The fact is English people need fi grow them pickney not shut down the man business.

they made distinction.....what i curious about is if a vegetarian fast food plce were to open it's doors AND what are the objective standards used to determine if a particular "fast food" is "unhealthy"

Very good point MdmeX!

In order to operate a restaurant, there are several city/town ordinances and (municipal regulations) that MUST be in place.

i find it puzzling why this business was allowed to operate....

The owners need a good Barristah. Onandi Lowe's barrister comes to mind.

That is not unhealthy fast food.