• Lee Chin, Scotia hit by dividend tax

By Camilo Thame

Friday, April 24, 2009

Finance Minister Audley Shaw's plan to charge withholding tax on non-resident shareholders of Jamaican listed companies would likely earn the government J$3.4 billion or more should firms maintain last year's dividend policy.
    What's more, Canadian billionaire Michael Lee Chin and the parent of Scotia Group Jamaica (SGJ) will feel the brunt of the tax.
    Audley Shaw
    Last year, SGJ, which consistently pays out dividends - usually the same as the year before - forked out J$4 billion, of which J$3.1 billion went to the parent in Canada.
    The tax to be applied is 33 1/3 per cent, which means that this year J$1 billion will go back to the Government.
    National Commercial Bank, which has a similar dividend policy to SGJ, forked out J$2.8 billion in dividends. Lee Chin's share, which he owns through AIC, would have yielded him J$1.9 billion and would attract a tax of J$639 million.
    His 47 per cent stake in Kingston Wharves would also be affected, although he only earned J$25 million in dividends last year, and the cargo handling firm is looking at a negative year in light of the global economic downturn.
    Other entities with large shares held overseas include European companies such as British American Tobacco, which owns half of local cigarette distributor Carreras, and Diageo, which holds 73 per cent of the shares in Red Stripe.
    Respectively those companies would have earned J$3 billion and J$620 million in dividends last year, although 80 per cent of BAT's earnings was from capital distribution.
    Another $1.5 billion in dividends was paid out to companies in Barbados and Trinidad for their shares in Jamaica Money Market Brokers (JMMB), Pan Caribbean Financial Services and Sagicor Life of Jamaica.
    Interestingly, 10 per cent of the JMMB shares are held by the Trinidadian Government, which took over the assets from CL Financial Group as part of a bailout plan.
    C L Financial Group still holds the majority shares in Lascelles de Mercado, but the local manufacturer of spirits didn't pay out dividends last year.
    The year before, Lascelles paid J$288 million in dividends.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/magaz...IDEND_TAX_.asp

Lee Chin a Canadian now? Him better do a Vaz quick quick.

if he is a canadian billionaire...what is he in jamaica?

So impose a draconian tax and severely penalize success.

The tax to be applied is 33 1/3 per cent, which means that this year J$1 billion will go back to the Government.
        National Commercial Bank, which has a similar dividend policy to SGJ, forked out J$2.8 billion in dividends. Lee Chin's share, which he owns through AIC, would have yielded him J$1.9 billion and would attract a tax of J$639 million.

The socialists would tell you "They can afford it"

Do shareholders in Jamaica pay these taxes?
            If they do why should these companies who is just taking all the profit they make and send north not pay it?

33 is a bit steep but I support taxes on their income. They have to pay it here in North America.

Rhatid man. The small man on PAYE nuh get lick all these years with draconian taxes on his small success?

I can never understand how people want to defend the interests of the super wealthy instead of lokking after their own interests. Mek dem fight their own battles. After all, Lee Chin didnt benefit form all kinds of subsidies and benefits growing up in Jamaica? His success was not in complete isolation. His parents, teachers, mentors and nation contributed as well.

As far as I am concerened these people and entity controlling the entire banking infrastructure of Jamaica is already a huge concession (foolish, some would say) and if they pay a bit of tax for that....so be it!

The capitalist will say if they get away from paying tax, then WE ALL SHOULD!

And I am no socialist!

Witholding taxes are just that. Can be reclaimed at tax settlement time. Indeed, the US charges me 35% withholding tax on my likkle muckle that I get in US dividends.

Tax dem yes.

But muss.

Everybody a get lick.

Yeah they should pay some tax, but 33% seem high to me, especially coming from nothing (which it should never have been). When the govt tax policies on investment instruments are always changing dramatically it discourages long term investments as you never know what to expect in say 5 years.

But I know you will say these are extraordinary times, so...extraordinary measures are needed.

No, I will say that US charges me 35% on my likkle muckle and I never get it back.

Also, when the double taxation deal is neetted off, they will get back all or most of it, but Canada in this case will pay. Scotia taxes in Canada will be lowered based on this withholding tax in Jamaica. You know that

I know about the double taxation in US tax policy, wasn't aware that it was a general rule for most countries.

If thats the case, then I don't see a problem with it at 33%. But again, if that the case why allow them to not pay any in the first place? Seems to be giving away tax revenue with no real benefit to it.

So me see it too.

Send me a PM with your tel. number.

I want to make a quick linkup.