Point? You asked a question and I answered. Was anyone proclaiming that Bob was "holding himself back" cause he was carrying on about a midget on a white horse being God in the flesh? Do Christians have more of a problem with violence and sex than "blasphemy"?
What's holding back Kartel? A fixation with Bob?
Remember Cayman and some other islands started lick out early as them never want no Ganja smoking rasta inna them country.
I simply wouldn't use that as a measure. Kartel however has made some silly moves.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Mosiah View Postbrickie, now yuh beginining to sound like my architecture lecturers. what the ...did you just say?!?!
I am not squeamish about sexually explicit lyrics. I certainly don't care for the violent kind and think that should be banned! But that's me, and I know thousands will disagree with me on that.
For me, Bob isn't great because of his socially conscious lyrics. Well...yes, I guess that's one reason, but I believe Kartel could become great too with his clever lyrics if only the quality was always there. It ain't!
the only problem mi have with sexual lyrics is to keep it out of the ears of kids.
As long as a all consulting adults a listen and dance I have no problem and when the DJ them come pon stage and all them have a just how many ways fi dun Punany and bun ******************** man it becomes boring.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Saw is good as she is creative and is an actor.
I remember her going to a show and when the MC introduce her she came on and said Mr.MC mi hear say you control NY so maybe if me give you somthing mi will get a number tune. She walked toward him and the MC retreated very fast. Everybody in the audience cracked up. She often clown around with Derrick Barnett and other members of the band. She will drop a few other non sexual songs in it so I like her. But when you have 20 people a come up and say the same thing..... yaaaaawn- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Lazie View PostYuh studied Bob Marley in school?TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostAnd who determines what is garbage? The powers that be considered chanting bout Selassie and his words as garbage you consider music about girls, guns and ganja to be garbage. To each their own.
However the notion that a fixation on Bob is holding back these backward musicians is ludicrous.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Bricktop View PostAccording to Bob himself the entire Rastaman Vibration was banned cause authorities dem neva waan hear nutting bout SelassieTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Lazie View PostHere is a piece of an interview ..
W: did you get any resistance from the music industry or government in Jamaica when making your music? Like banning your songs?
M: Of course! Our songs got banned all the while. "Rastaman Vibration" was one of the first record ever banned for me. Yeah, because it carry the speech of Haile Selassie, and because the country trying to go communist or socialist, they never want to hear what Selassie have to say. So them just ban it. When Rastaman song get banned in Jamaica man it was war at the radio stations that play our music. War! A literal going to fight fe get your music played. Cause you know them figure say Rasta is changing society. But that is what we come to do. And people get quarrelsome and weak. We come to change things and when them see changes them quarrel and say it's changing. And that's what we come fi do, and them know it.
http://webby.cc.denison.edu/~waters/marley.html
Anyhow it is nonsensical to equate Bob with a nincompoop like Kartel.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Agree with you 100% Don1
Heard Kartel once or twice. Hope i never hear him AGAIN. Pure crap!!
The names: Bob Marley and Kartel should not be used in the same sentence.
Good for the folks in Grenada!!!The only time TRUTH will hurt you...is if you ignore it long enough