• Fidel: US wants Cuba to act like a slave

US wants Cuba to act like slave - Fidel Castro

Fri May 1, 2009 4:57am BST

HAVANA, April 30 (Reuters) - Former Cuban leader Fidel Castro on Thursday derided U.S. steps toward improving relations with the communist island, saying the United States wants Cuba to act like a slave willing to "accept again the whip and the yoke."

The 82-year-old Castro, writing in a column published on the Internet, said "the adversary should never be under the illusion that Cuba will surrender."
    President Barack Obama has said he wants to recast U.S.-Cuban relations that have been hostile for 50 years, but insists on maintaining a U.S. trade embargo imposed against the island since 1962 to use as leverage for Cuban change.

He recently eliminated travel restrictions for Cuban Americans and called on Cuba to release political prisoners and improve human rights to get more concessions from Washington.
    But Fidel Castro and his younger brother, President Raul Castro, view U.S. conditions as infringing on Cuban sovereignty, or worse.

"The collision between the great power of the North and the Cuban revolution was inevitable. The heroic resistance of the people of our small country was underestimated," Castro wrote.
    "Today they are willing to forgive us if we will resign ourselves to returning to the fold as slaves that, after knowing freedom, will accept again the whip and the yoke."

Both Castros have expressed a willingness to talk with the United States, and informal, low-level talks have already begun in Washington.
    But they publicly insist that Cuba does not have to make concessions to move the diplomatic process forward.
    In Thursday's column, Castro said a wary Cuba was carefully studying Obama to determine his true intentions.

"We are not arsonists as some imagine, but nor are we idiots easily fooled by those who believe the only things important in the world are the laws of the market and the capitalist system of production," he said.
    "There still exist those who have the illusion that people can be manipulated like puppets."

Castro did not mention it, but on Thursday the U.S. State Department issued a report on terrorism in which Cuba remained on a list of countries regarded as "state sponsors of terrorism."
    There had been speculation Cuba would be taken off the list as part of the Obama administration's efforts at reconciliation.

Cuban Foreign Minister Bruno Rodriguez brushed the report off, telling reporters in Havana, "I don't think anybody reads those documents ... because they know that the author (U.S.) is an international criminal in many of the issues it criticizes." (Reporting by Jeff Franks; Editing by Doina Chiacu)

Okay Just maybe Fidel
    may save Ja by giving them a few more years on life support
    Small wonder bruce was trying to cozy up with Fidel. Brucie, Fidel nuh like like him figet tings at all an there is no doubt now who run tings ova deh so.

I once posted on this site that the US
      would lead the world in the info age. Scorn was quickly heaped on me.
      Well the US has alredy changed gears bewildering opponents on the chess board. Obama is a new and unknown piece to Castro and he has to be very careful with this one.

are you the same guy who said that white people would never let obama win the presidency and that the GOP was setting him up?

No perverter of the truth; I was the one that said
          yes to Yuttie when asked if Obama had chance of wining the presidency after beating Hillary.

yuh saw the question sign??

anyway as you said AFTER he beat hillary ...pray tell preponder of the truth, what were you saying before that?

Ok go to the Archive and show where I said
              those words.

don't know how to...but even so i am not interested in trying to convince anyone of what you said he fact that i don't know how to retrieve it does not make it any less true.

Ok what does that have to do
                  with the fact that Obama is now PRESIDENT of the USA and represents
                  all its interest. Hillary said White people would vote for him now she is
                  secretary of state. Man get over it and add something of value to the current argument at hand (fidel handling Obama).

get over says the come lately...get over yourself and try to get some current AND accurate information for a change..after all man, it is the information age!!!!

Ok your contribution is noted. Thanks.