How comes the trains not rolling yet?
The truth about the trains on my ends.
I use to take a train to school most mornings. It was a comfortable ride but a two mile walk from railway station to Titchfield. We could live with that. I enjoyed the ride very much as oppose to the old Leyland buses which oftenly broke down and is very pack.
The demise of the train started with the Mini van era. All of sudden mini van took over and make stops at people gate and and few stops. The ride from Portland to Kingston was a long one and not commercially profitable for the train as they had to go through St.Mary, then St.Catherine going to places like Higate, Troja, Bog Walk, and Spanish Town. It would take about 5 to sic hours to get to Kingston on train while 2.5 hours going on a mini bus.
The people were not very unfriendly to the trains as they let their animals who often got hit by train to graze near the rail. There was also people who destroy the wood for the line and use it as firewood.
After Gilbert many people know that train going Port Antonio was never going to happen again as Black Hill line was deverstated. Here is a part of the line that had nothing but tunnels and bridges and it was totally wiped away. It would have been still nice if the train could come to Annotto Bay or Buff Bay but going back to Port Antonio was going to cost too much.
In my opinion the railway can be viable but as a part of a proper transport system.
Leave a comment:
Agreed
This has been my opinion for the past many years. I'm also happy you stressed the type of dictatorship (benevolent). The sad reality is that western-style democracy in today's Jamaica is just not working.Originally posted by Peter R View PostWell, the horse already bolt so it's all moot as you've indicated... maybe what we need is a dictatorship (benevolent of course) for the next 20 years...democracy as practised in JA has failed.
Leave a comment:
Wills was the father of organized political violence. That is why Eddy talked about fire fi fire, blood fi blood. That is when it got stepped up from knife and stone to guns.
Eddy and Tony are the fathers of garrisons.
Leave a comment:
Well, the horse already bolt so it's all moot as you've indicated... maybe what we need is a dictatorship (benevolent of course) for the next 20 years...democracy as practised in JA has failed.
Leave a comment:
History is fuzzy on that... but Seaga is generally recognized as the main and most influential protagonist (followed by Tony Spaulding) in developing the garrison culture... not Wills Isaacs.Originally posted by Willi View PostActaully, Wills O Isaac started it and Seaga took it up sveral notches and graduated to Garrison, and then the PNP took it to the ultimate...many garrisons with almost no internal controls, so now chaos.
We have the highly organized (and perversely disciplined) JLP garrisons and the plethora of PNP Garrisons that kill mainly fellow PNPs garrison inmates. Totally weird situation and nuff blame to spread about.
Tivoli is Seaga's lasting monument and calling card.... Jungle is Spaulding's. That's our Ground Zero.
But regardless of history... the imperative in this 21st century must be to move beyond partisanship (despite the efforts of the crazies) to a new paradigm of cooperation and... reject contention.
Otherwise we have no chance to progress.Last edited by Don1; June 12, 2009, 07:02 PM.
Leave a comment:
Actaully, Wills O Isaac started it and Seaga took it up sveral notches and graduated to Garrison, and then the PNP took it to the ultimate...many garrisons with almost no internal controls, so now chaos.
We have the highly organized (and perversely disciplined) JLP garrisons and the plethora of PNP Garrisons that kill mainly fellow PNPs garrison inmates. Totally weird situation and nuff blame to spread about.
Leave a comment:
Sycophancy begets destruction.Originally posted by Maudib View PostAt least clean your draws Don1.. or have you totally given up any pretense ?
How did Tivarli prevent the rather voluminous Nation Building efforts of Seaga that he is being heralded for.. much AFTER the decimation by Joshua ????
Talk about dead paradigm...
LOL !!
Seaga was the main culprit in starting the madness... and the PNP reciprocated in fuller measure. Which is why I disdain both sides until I see some change.
On your very minor level you represent the same partisan nonsense.... which will only lead to further destruction.
Your partisan philosophies are part of the problem and should be exposed accordingly.... I'm happy to oblige.
why dem likkle bredda yah love talk bout underwear suh? di likkle man name comment ave di said problem. a wha dis faada? hmmmmm
Leave a comment:
another myth destroyed...
PNP.. the real Garrison party....
Poor yuh..
Leave a comment:
At least clean your draws Don1.. or have you totally given up any pretense ?
How did Tivarli prevent the rather voluminous Nation Building efforts of Seaga that he is being heralded for.. much AFTER the decimation by Joshua ????
Talk about dead paradigm...
LOL !!
Leave a comment:
Willi - just know that a whole heap of the lands that the railway tracks used to be on, have eroded. I would love to see the system in place again, it was of great help to the farmers, & mi love the scenery - harmony with nature!!
Leave a comment: