I SHALL RISE, AND YOU CANNOT STOP ME - Have a read, HL!

• Muadib
    replied
    You are a confused fellow:

"Social COMMENTARY is the act of rebelling against an individual, or a group of people by rhetorical means. This is most often done with the idea of implementing or promoting change by informing the general populace about a given problem and appealing to people's sense of justice.

Two examples of strong and bitter social commentary are the writings of Jonathan Swift and Martin Luther. Swift exposed and decried the appalling poverty in Ireland at the time, which was viewed as the fault of the British government. Luther initiated the Protestant Reformation against practices of the Catholic Church."

Mutty is leaving a space for 'problem solvers' like yourself to make an impact.. he is diligent at his chosen role, you need to follow up....

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    He is on point about UWI though.

UTech has another problem...its no longer Technically driven. Its becoming an expensive diploma mill.

Perkins has no solutions to offer for national issues... only (petty) pet peeves and opinions which focus on personalities rather than issues.... he's not focused on problem solving.

He's pretty useless as a commentator as far as I'm concerned.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Partisan toward who exactly ?

Part of the problem ??

I did not know Mutty was a comrade... since when ?

LOL !
    Any partisan is a problem... the side doesn't matter. Partisanship is Jamaica's blight.

Perhaps one day you will wise up.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    I was going to point out to Karl the same thing...who knows exactly where , when and how the rot began but it certainly did not start two years ago.

Whe I look at my old JC magazines (early to mid 70s) over 90% of the teachers had at least a Bachelors DEGREE and many had a Masters... I don't know if we have have quality of teaching staff today in terms of their knowledge... do we? Karl?

The point though is the system needs to be radically changed...

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Why attack this minister?

Is he better or worse than his predecessors (of all parties)?

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Yuh start off nice and then mess up.

The system cracked. What dem call teachers nowadays is by and large NOT what me and you had back in the day. The standard drop big time and that needs fixing first.

The nose in the air argument is better pointed at the stupid "uptown mentality" that pervades Kingston!

Now that I see TVJ via the internet, it shocked me what is going on in Jamdung. The adverts (showing wonderful life for the few priviliged uptown kids) while the majority of our kids live in a state of privation is hard to take. Also the twanging that goes on in most commercials (normally phone companies - thus not actually productive enterprises) sicks me to the stomach. Is like seh we are a bad copy of America to raaganaut!

Is pure 'top up cell phone minutes' and lotto type prizes for 'topping up' mi si. If not that then its Singer and Courts chance to win something if you buyt more...As for the Digicel Rising Stars, them mek American Idol look real professional and talented!!!

Poor Jamaica, so far from God, so close to the United States!
    mmmm?
    So is it a 'chicken and egg' situation?

Back in the days - poor education environment --- responsible for what came out of the education institutions ---- who then go into the poor education environment --- to produce? ...and so on?

I am convinced the Minister of Education must strive to improve 'the situation'. He must start with improving the physical conditions (physical plants, equipment - curriculum, library facilities, science labs, reading labs, computer labs, etc., avenues to aid improved teachers (every last single thing that goes into that in-service courses/seminars, access to move on to higher education and gaining additional expertise on how to present subject matter to kids with 'the tremendous range within which a class of 15 - 20+ find individual unique way of being motivated (to learn/become terribly interested in what is being taught) ...including piece of mind on being able to survive financially....etc.

Ofcourse the system is cracked! ...that is the point. ...and the silly Minister is acting in a manner that shall make the
    crack(s) wider!

Aside: Back in the days - %age kids advancing to higher education...as opposed to day?

If today is awful...back in the days 'hit waus wosser'!

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Partisan toward who exactly ?

Part of the problem ??

I did not know Mutty was a comrade... since when ?

LOL !

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    I am trying to see if I can make it home for Summer. (Finances permitting)

I am sure I will be in for a shock.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    So true!

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    He is on point about UWI though.

UTech has another problem...its no longer Technically driven. Its becoming an expensive diploma mill.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Yuh start off nice and then mess up.

The system cracked. What dem call teachers nowadays is by and large NOT what me and you had back in the day. The standard drop big time and that needs fixing first.

The nose in the air argument is better pointed at the stupid "uptown mentality" that pervades Kingston!

Now that I see TVJ via the internet, it shocked me what is going on in Jamdung. The adverts (showing wonderful life for the few priviliged uptown kids) while the majority of our kids live in a state of privation is hard to take. Also the twanging that goes on in most commercials (normally phone companies - thus not actually productive enterprises) sicks me to the stomach. Is like seh we are a bad copy of America to raaganaut!

Is pure 'top up cell phone minutes' and lotto type prizes for 'topping up' mi si. If not that then its Singer and Courts chance to win something if you buyt more...As for the Digicel Rising Stars, them mek American Idol look real professional and talented!!!

Poor Jamaica, so far from God, so close to the United States!

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Of course talent abouds, but why YUh mention the new Minister who on the job for 2 years?

This is going back DECADES! Also the quality of teachers have gone DOWN since Buckley days.

If the teacher dem nuh ready, how you expect them to help the deprived students?

KARL, done with the jingoism and start engage yuh brain as to how we can fix this. Its a real problem for all of us...if we mean Jamaica any good.

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Is this nicer than:
    Grand Lido Braco Resort & Spa Hotel in Trelawny?

Leave a comment:

• Willi
    replied
    Nah man, Buckley is well known in Jakan Actuarial circles. Heard about him when he got the FullBright Scholarship.

UNC-Chapel Hill is highly rated, but is NOT Ivy-League. No State Schools (or Sectarian Schools) are in the Ivy-League.

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    Suh Mutty was on point ?

LOL !
    Mutty is pointless.... another partisan dinosaur... continuinig the dead paradigm

Part of the problem... not part of the solution.

Leave a comment: