I SHALL RISE, AND YOU CANNOT STOP ME - Have a read, HL!

• Karl
    replied
    Karl, I'm not afraid to say what I think, irrespective of who want to disagree, but please don't twist my words. The abundance of talent myth that we've disagreed over is regarding football, nothing else.
    Only football...since when?
    Today?

I have claimed there is an 'abundance of talent'...period! I have tied it to each persons ability to learn given right environment/'good teaching'. What the hell you think football is but another 'subject'?

Massa - 'Talent abounds'! ...granted in physical activity being 'athletic' counts.

I hope you are not going to now claim we are nation with small number of persons with inherent 'good athletic ability'?

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    Suh Mutty was on point ?

LOL !

Leave a comment:

• Don1
    replied
    This is a story that warms my heart... did Wignall make this up?

One point that struck me ( no backhand slap Sickko) is the fact that he "failed" the Common Entrance twice!

Next thing is the allusion to the "old boys" club that UWI seems to be...

CE is overrated and archaic! Mr. Minister, please have the vision and balls to change, revamp our educational system. UWI...clean up your act!
    Agree UWI has nuff to clean up... much like the rest of Jamaica.

The first order of business is to clean up those two backward political parties holding back Jamaica.

UWI can come lata.

Leave a comment:

• HL
    replied
    is jahgan (Dragon) 'an chee-man (3-Man stout) me jink Assasin

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Then I'll buy him a 6-pack and borrow his platinum card!

Leave a comment:

• Gamma
    replied
    but HARD!!!

Leave a comment:

• Me
    replied
    Exam seems much different. You referring to same selection methods?
    Last edited by Me; June 29, 2009, 04:44 PM.

Leave a comment:

• Peter R
    replied
    I knew that but I still call it C.E. because it is the same exam with a different name...they did the same thing in T&T and call it it SEA (Secondary Entrance Assessment)... trying to fool the people.

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Originally posted by Farmah View Post
    A feel-good story! Shows that ambition and drive can move mountains. Many people who originated from the poor innercity communities (Tivoli, Jones Town, Jungle, Rema, Southside, Denham Town, Hannah Town, Greenwich Town etc.) can recount a true story of someone they know who overcame all the odds to make something of themselves. I could tell of quite a few! However, here's one that warmed my heart recently.

In 1991 I met a bredrin who came from Jamaica. Trying to get a job as a dishwasher in a Miami hotel, he was stuck with the difficulty of filling out the application form. I filled out the form for him and he signed his name in a fashion which exposed his unfamiliarity with a writing tool. He was about 30 years old at that time and, like Buckley, had been through hell and fire before finding his way to the USA. I remember that after Hurricane Andrew in 1992 he vowed to learn to read and write and to eventually get his high school diploma. He kept in touch over the years, calling me at least once a year to hail me up. Last week he gave me a call with the wonderful news that he had completed his Masters in Accounting and preparing for his CPA exams.

Now if you only knew about his early years in Rema, having never been to school, and how he arrived in the USA, then you would see that these things happen more frequently than one might think.
    Yuh kno...I cuss r@#$%^$$$ many times as I see in many places the 'nose in the air' r@#%^&$$ dem that forget that we all...ALL OF US...are not too far removed from the conditions similar to this gentleman!

Weh wi cum fram?
    Slavery?
    ...and before that the conditions were?

...or a bit of 'dis an dat' in our past?
    Indentured servants? Cut-throats from another land?

...Garden of Eden - walk bout, pick up an eat...nakedness...etc., etc?

...as if those 'nose in the air' are not human...but evolve from some other 'universe'?

The stupid screaming of the MINISTER OF EDUCATION at the teachers without recognising the environment in which they perform and the 'strength sapping'...'mental pull down' it exerts and the effects it has on performances (in the job...and make for some...scratch that - make for many making a quick get-away)...mek yuh waaan bax im!

Wonda weh dat deh Minister of Education cum fram...surely not JA!

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Watch it, one beer and HL done eh nuh

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Talent abounds!
    Fails Common Entrance twice?
    ...needed 'more teachers and nurturers'!

Come on, Lazie: Say it - TALENT ABOUNDS!
    ...yes, but for the lack of a helping hand many are the thieves and murderers whose good talents would shine!

...and many are the schoolboy and schoolgirl athletes who would go on to better things!
    Say it? ...say it loud?
    Talent abounds!

...wish that the silly Education Minister would recognize that it is also with his teachers...and he needs to provide the environment to give that talent 'nurturing'!

Aaaaaaaaah bwoy? Poor our people...poor Jamaica!
    Karl, I'm not afraid to say what I think, irrespective of who want to disagree, but please don't twist my words. The abundance of talent myth that we've disagreed over is regarding football, nothing else.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    I'm happy I could sway you away from Turks & Caicos. Not much difference between them and Jamaica. Both don't have functioning govts.

Call me when you get here - 836-1530

Leave a comment:

• Karl
    replied
    Talent abounds!
    Fails Common Entrance twice?
    ...needed 'more teachers and nurturers'!

Come on, Lazie: Say it - TALENT ABOUNDS!
    ...yes, but for the lack of a helping hand many are the thieves and murderers whose good talents would shine!

...and many are the schoolboy and schoolgirl athletes who would go on to better things!
    Say it? ...say it loud?
    Talent abounds!

...wish that the silly Education Minister would recognize that it is also with his teachers...and he needs to provide the environment to give that talent 'nurturing'!

Aaaaaaaaah bwoy? Poor our people...poor Jamaica!

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Just last week a youth link me. He was born in England grew up in Ja. His mom wasn't around and his father was very wicked to him. He reminded me how people use to treat him, beat him up everyday and accuse him of crimes. How police almost killed him. He was grateful as I was one of the guys who stood up for him and stop people from beating him.

He was failing out at Titchfield. Nobody expected good from him and he went back to England and was on the streets and was beaten by racists. He went back to school and now has two degrees and with a very successful job. He has written many articles and is a positive influence.

My thing with our education system is not that the talent in not there, we have to find a way to find these youths earlier and make them do the right things early. Working at the Community College for 12 years I have seen so many success stories from Jamaica of people who would never go to high school actually spend the time and better themselves.

Leave a comment:

• HL
    replied
    Thanks Mosiah. A true case study of the human WILL.........

The part of the story that made you bring the piece to my attention is mainly the last paragraph.

Jamaica is giving itself a slow 'self-asphyxiation'...................

Some of the brightest leaving because of the "system".

SIDEBAR:

A few weeks you posted that you visited a resort called Grand Palladium. That you were *gobsmacked at it's splendor!!

I have never heard of this resort before you mentioned it. I looked it up. Grand Palladium has received some excellent reviews!!!

I was (then) in the process of booking a vacation in the Turks and Caicos--but (now) decided on the Grand Palladium.

I will be there shortly.

*yuh bwoy would say you were smacked wid gob

Leave a comment: