• Plans shelved

Three new schools cut from education ministry's budget
    BY LUKE DOUGLAS Observer writer editorial@jamaicaobserver.com
    Friday, August 28, 2009
    PLANS to build three new schools in the upcoming academic year have been shelved by the Ministry of Education as part of its 20 per cent budget cut ordered by Prime Minister Bruce Golding.
    But education minister Andrew Holness yesterday sought to reassure stakeholders that the ministry's critical functions would not be affected in the new school year which begins September 7.
    HOLNESS... By deferring three schools we are probably deferring about $1.5 billion
    "What the prime minister has asked us to do is to look at our budget and see areas that we can tighten up. In other words, we should look at how we can deliver the service with less funds. As a ministry we have been forced to become more efficient," Holness told journalists at a press conference at the ministry's Heroes Circle, Kingston, offices yesterday.
    Areas such as the nutrition programme, tuition support and grants, student assessment, the Programme for Advancement Through Health and Education (PATH), which provides money for vulnerable children, the purchase of books, and refunds for teachers have not been touched, the minister disclosed.
    However, Holness said the building of the three new schools has been shelved until the following year. "By deferring three schools (for a year) you are probably deferring about $1.5 billion," the minister said, underscoring the expense involved in building the schools.
    Holness did not disclose where the new schools were to be built. Maintenance of existing schools would not be affected, he said.
    He said the ministry had "agonised" over the areas to sever, but stated that students and teachers would not be significantly affected by the cut.
    On the matter of textbooks provided by the Government, Holness disclosed that contracts valued at $560 million had been awarded to four book suppliers for the secondary school system.
    He said contracts, valued at $370 million, were being prepared for the supply of books to the primary system. These primary books, he said, would not be delivered until the third week of September, but some schools had stocks of books from last year that they could distribute in the interim.
    Meanwhile, permanent secretary in the education ministry, Audrey Sewell, urged parents to visit the ministry's website to view the lists of books provided for both the primary and secondary levels, or to visit the ministry's Media Services Unit for the information.
    Holness also asked parents to consult with class teachers before purchasing books, to avoid duplication. He promised that next year the ministry would provide guidance on the purchasing of books.

... now the Opposition up in arms about this. Which world are this people living in? Maudib, how many flight are there to Puerto Rico?

Lazie, it didn't seem quite surprising to you that, in the middle of this world economic crisis, the MOE could announce a very bold plan to build how many more schools, with the help of the private sector? Only to be now adjusting the numbers? This reminds a little bit of the how the tourism ministry has painted things as well.

Darn! Silly me! To think that you would have found it a little odd!

Lazie, it didn't seem quite surprising to you that, in the middle of this world economic crisis, the MOE could announce a very bold plan to build how many more schools, with the help of the private sector? Only to be now adjusting the numbers? This reminds a little bit of the how the tourism ministry has painted things as well.

Darn! Silly me! To think that you would have found it a little odd!
        Odd? Are you people paying attention? Nuh the other day the PM instructed the various PS to find a way to cut the budget of the various ministries? Wasn't this long after the announcement was made in Parliament? If unuh want to complain bout something .. find something that makes sense nuh?

So, the honourable minister needed a nudge from the PM to comprehend that such grandiose plans would have been difficult even in the best of times?!?!

And you never know dat eedah!?? Or di people dem pon NNN neva gi yuh a hint?

Plan still haffi mek.. postponed or not...

So, the honourable minister needed a nudge from the PM to comprehend that such grandiose plans would have been difficult even in the best of times?!?!

And you never know dat eedah!?? Or di people dem pon NNN neva gi yuh a hint?
              Yuh put on yuh shoes before yuh put on yuh socks? Then again, with some of you, the gov't is in a position of damn if they do, damn if they don't. The MOE made the annoucement in July, wasn't it almost a month after the PS were asked cut their budgets? How yuh know these projects weren't shelved because of that exercise?

And it was a great plan! But, someting tell me dat when Noah did build di Ark, him neva try selling lots at the same time!!

When was the economic recession upon us, Lazie? I just hope the govt. has a better feel for what it means than you!

Based on the attitude of you and others, I would think it nuh reach unuh yet. When things was going good and we were being left behind unuh did a mek up noise bout logon to progress. Now there is a worldwide financial crisis all of a sudden unuh ready fi find fault.

pathetic

Ah fi him problem dat...

When yuh decide fi put up your For Sale sign ?

And it was a great plan! But, someting tell me dat when Noah did build di Ark, him neva try selling lots at the same time!!