Caribbean History-Historian I know you will

• Caribbean History-Historian I know you will

love this, sickko yuh betta watch - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HpgKN...eature=related

Interesting Island Trip

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
    love this, sickko yuh betta watch - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HpgKN...eature=related
    LOL In the context of YouTube, “Holiday in the Caribbean 1948” is almost like a mini-movie, TDowl (lol). How on earth did you find this black and white documentary? The trips to Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands, Trinidad, Cuba and Jamaica were interesting. I couldn’t help being struck by the fact that Kingston and Montego Bay were so orderly back then, and the people so happy (almost naive?)!

I also enjoyed the re-enactment of slavery days dancing as well as the music of Cuba. This documentary is indeed an interesting find .

I was researching WW I & II, starting with Joe Clough and Sam King.

I am a big fan of Cuban Music and Dance, there is another one that I will e-mail you off this site later.

I have seen a photo of that diving platform at Doctors Cave Beach, but this video is off the wall. Finally see a video of the Trolley car in Kingston

Here you go - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_FVAa...eature=related

Another Interesting Trip

Originally posted by TDowl View Post
          TDowl, boss, ever consider changing your handle to “Historian” (lol)? You are truly a historian in the most real sense of the word, as I’ve been telling you since discovering your “Talawah” site some seven years ago!

I just watched the YouTube video, “Caribbean Playgrounds 1955” and I must say that it was a learning experience. For example, who would ever associate the seemingly British sport of horse polo with India?

Seriously though, this was actually an interesting journey through Puerto Rico and Jamaica as the introduction of baseball and basketball in Puerto Rico, and also the development in Jamaica of polo, soccer, rafting, sailboat racing (MoBay) and Blue Marlin fishing were discussed.

And to think that I used to associate the word “Caribbean playground” only with the Americans in pre-revolutionary Cuba!

Thanks for another personally beneficial YouTube video !