• Mosiah
    replied
    There was an article in the gleaner, that was posted here. Because it never fit into the mythical beliefs of many of the hypocrites round here it was ignored.
    For every positive article on Shaw, you can find two that are negative. You know that, but yuh come here acting like is bay positive tings pon him.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    Oh Sass ... the Joe Wilson comment isn't directed at you, dem know demselves.

Leave a comment:

• Lazie
    replied
    yes there is a recession but some basic changes would help. I haven't seen much implemented.
    There was an article in the gleaner, that was posted here. Because it never fit into the mythical beliefs of many of the hypocrites round here it was ignored.

When everything was going good, our Caribbean neighbors out performed us, yet now in a time of crisis the article indicated the response by the Gov't wasn't that bad? Whatever dat mean?

" ...... since the crisis erupted, Jamaica has held its own relative to Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago in terms of changes in the debt stock, growth rates and inflation rates. It is no secret that Jamaica compares less than favourably with Barbados and Trinidad and Tobago in terms of its debt-to-GDP ratio, but this is a problem it inherited. Recent changes in Jamaica's debt stock appear on par with at least one of its Caribbean counterparts: the public debt stock for Jamaica and Barbados increased by roughly three per cent and 3.4 per cent, respectively, between March and June.

Jamaica's recent growth performance also seems on par with its neighbours. At the end of June 2009, the Bank of Jamaica estimates that the Jamaican economy declined between three and a half and four and a half per cent, which it says represents the sixth consecutive quarter of economic contraction and the largest quarterly contraction in Gross Domestic Product (GDP) over the last ten years. Nonetheless, after nearly fifteen years of steady growth, the economy of Trinidad and Tobago also contracted by 3.3 per cent. Meanwhile, for the first half of 2009, the Barbadian economy contracted an estimated three per cent, the country's first downturn in more than five years. In the circumstances, Jamaica appears to be holding up as well as can be expected."

Yet the Joe Wilsons on the forum continue to take shots at Shaw?

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news1.html

Leave a comment:

• Islandman
    replied
    Ok Thanks. Sounds like a great project.

Me haffe go ask Dallas bout the 69ers name though.

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    yes there is a recession but some basic changes would help. I haven't seen much implemented.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    When ???

Before, during or after the record setting Global recession ??

LOL !!

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    Some real indicators changing like balance of payment, balance of trade, Interest rate cut, productivity and growth in the GDP.

those are what I expect to see changes in from a finance minister.

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...RAS_FOR_KC.asp

Leave a comment:

• Muadib
    replied
    He has acheived nothing economically ???

Um.. and when exactly did you expect to see the 'results' of anything he has done or is doing ??

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    "could even be better".

Where did you get that? So far Shaw hasn't done much to impress me. He has achieved nothing economically.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    Okay, so we have established that Omar was a failure and that Shaw, with all his faults, could even be better. What next?

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    a di only recent example we have to compare Shaw with. You can't do 14 years and expect to just no be compared to. It is the only example we currently have.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    There you go again. How Omar come inna dis?!? Omar is gone, Sass! let's deal with the present!

Leave a comment:

• Assasin
    replied
    I am not impress with the job Shaw is doing so far. Despite the economic crisis, but despite Omar brilliance he failed to achieve anything except keeping inflation low.

Get all the brains that is needed involved. We need their help. Bruce Golding know their is no great financial genius in the current JLP representitves.

Leave a comment:

• Mosiah
    replied
    i am not saying that successful business men have no place in govt. but right now it's a case of one down...

the bigger point is does Shaw look like he can manage the job at all?

Leave a comment: