• UK Government seeks control of Ramcharan’s property

The British government

is seeking to take control of the properties in Jamaica, which are owned by 55 year old Jamaican Norman Ramcharan.

Ramcharan who was one of Jamaica’s most sought-after criminals, was jailed in London in November 2004 for laundering 1.7 million pound sterling from the proceeds of cocaine trafficking.

The Director of Public Prosecutions has applied for forfeiture orders on behalf of the British government.

The matter came for hearing in the Supreme Court yesterday but has been put off until December 4.

Lawyers from the DPP's office and the lawyers representing Ramcharan said they needed more time to discuss the matter.

Norman Ramcharan who is from Montego Bay is the brother of Montego Bay businessman Leebert Ramcharan who is serving a 35 year prison sentence in the USA for drug trafficking.

...again, why isn't the Jamaican gov't doing the same? All the assets owned by these characters should have already been seized. Now the British gov't gonna mek claim and we just gonna sit back and watch?

Wait till di US govt come fi D...ross, a suh it late!?

on what basis is the uk gov't claiming the property? if the UK gov't has a claim (i.e. proceeds opf criminal conduct) then their claim MUST be subservient to the jamaican gov't!

what the hell...?????

Welcome to Jamdung!

on what basis is the uk gov't claiming the property? if the UK gov't has a claim (i.e. proceeds opf criminal conduct) then their claim MUST be subservient to the jamaican gov't!

what the hell...?????
            Wouldn't that depend on his being convicted of such a crime in Jamaica? Has he been?

that is a good question the answer to which lies in that grey area known as the penumbra... HOWEVER, hasn't he pleaded guilty albeit in the US?

but before we get there, has he been convicted of a crime in the UK?

Come now, I guess everyone is naive today on the forum. Drug proceeds fund political campaigns, and why would dem ruffle the feathers of the hands that feed dem.

that is a good question the answer to which lies in that grey area known as the penumbra... HOWEVER, hasn't he pleaded guilty albeit in the US?

but before we get there, has he been convicted of a crime in the UK?

Counselor, I know not....but stand ready to be educated on the matter.

There is a Proceeds of Crimes Act and while I am not conversant on the details I am sure the governmnet cant just move in and take peoples things when they get convicted.

They would need to prove first the property was in fact bought or procured with money earned form drugs and that could take a while.

"They would need to prove first the property was in fact bought or procured with money earned form drugs and that could take a while."

LOL .

Do you have anything sensible to add, or you just being your idiotic self?

LOL

well, there's your answer!

Yuh know a movie called Scarface ?