• Vybz Kartel, negative impact on males

Study Shows Vybz kartel Having a Negative Impact on Males Between 10-18 yrs

The sexually explicit and violent lyrics for which deejay Vybz Kartel - one half of the Gully-Gaza feud - is known affect how Jamaican teenagers think and view themselves, according to a recent study.
    Numerous young people between the age of 10 and 18 have spoken of the negative influence of Kartel's lyrics and music videos on them, communication specialist and former permanent secretary in the ministry of energy and mining, Marcia Forbes said her research had found.

Forbes, who put the issue in the context of the vicious Gully-Gaza feud between Kartel and his arch-rival Mavado, said the research showed that the deejay had power over what teenagers thought about and how they viewed themselves based on his lyrics. (See page seven for the full article) "One girl was delighted with herself because she met Kartel's standard by having a tight "p.u.m p.u.m" and not one that "placka like mud", as he disparagingly described v.a.g.i.n.a.s with lax walls/ insufficient muscle tone," Forbes said of a girl who "used Kartel's lyrics to validate herself and her sexuality".

One boy, she said, explained that the deejay's Tek B.u.d.d.y song of some years ago was good because it gave power to men.
    "To this boy, the song showed that men were taking back power from women who were usurping men's roles," Forbes said, reiterating that "teenagers really listen to Kartel".
    Last week, the police cracked down on several vendors at school gates in Kingston, who were selling badges depicting images of Kartel with what are believed to be two chrome 9mm pistols, bearing the words 'Calabar Empire', and another showing the entertainer holding what appeared to be a firearm to the head of an image which bears the resemblance of Mavado, and has the words, 'Mi murder people inna broad daylight'.
    The deejay has distanced himself from the pins, insisting that he did not authorise the pins to be made and neither would he derive any financial benefit.

And principal of the Edith Dalton James High School, Ray Howell, last week lashed out against the sale of badges, saying it would sow seeds of division among schoolchildren.
    "We are very concerned about what I call the 'G culture' in schools - the Gully, Gaza, gun, ganja and graffiti. This is the worst disease that has come into the school system in my 37 years of teaching," Howell told the Observer.
    Forbes said when young people were asked whether music videos reflected mostly real life or mostly fantasy, over 80 per cent said reggae music reflected mostly real life and almost two-thirds expressed similar sentiments about dancehall.

"So we see that the vast majority of those in the survey of 447 adolescents believed that our two indigenous music forms really reflect life," Forbes said.
    SOURCE: Jamaica Observe

at what stage we start give Kartel and Mavado the blame?

They have been banned in more way than one. We have to realise this is deeper than them.

the wutless parents must be sighing and wiping the sweat off their foreheads. dont blame the bad parenting for these messed up kids, let's just blame the music. i too was exposed to murder music and secular songs growing up and i never killed a man or raped a woman growing up; reason being, mi parents grow mi wid sense. though i loved(and still do) hearing gun tunes, i never tried to mimic the lyrics, though i was surrounded by peers who turned to that lifestyle. at the end of the day, bad parenting is to be blamed.

you were the lucky one.

boss, i'm not the only one. many of my peers turned out alright after growing up on gun and gyal tunes. kartel gave a good example on impact. he stated that people from cherry gardens, havendale and other upscale areas, blast his music constantly and they arent going around killing people.

come on, u really think that if dancehall artistes stop making murder music totally, the crime-rate would magically decrease? unnuh a live inna a dream world. u think that criminals get up and listen to dancehall and then go on their rampage just because of what they heard in the song? the crime taking place right has nothing to do with music. man a kill man cause "him diss", "him inform", for politics and for turf control. stop pointing fingers ppl. the authorities are corrupt and that's why crime is where it's at right now. garisson system it name.

i was surrounded by peers who turned to that lifestyle what was the reason for this?

someone mentioned cherry gardens people listen to it and nuh kill nuhbaddy...maybe they have stable parenting too, for the most part. however is that true of our inner cities where most of the so called bad man dem emanate from?

i was surrounded by peers who turned to that lifestyle what was the reason for this?

someone mentioned cherry gardens people listen to it and nuh kill nuhbaddy...maybe they have stable parenting too, for the most part. however is that true of our inner cities where most of the so called bad man dem emanate from?
              my other peers turned to that lifestyle because they were influenced by a "don" who moved into the area, buying guns for them. we were all either deep in school or striving to be sports stars before he came along. half a we guh tun gunman and the other half either stayed di str8 and narrow or migrated. music had absolutely NOTHING to do with it. Me stay the str8 and narrow because my parents nuh play certain game. mi used to bun weed yes, but mi couldnt even think fi go home wid weed scent or red yeye. mi woulda affi bun weed early inna di day and wait till night when the red yeye and weed scent diminish and sneak in while others used to all smoke weed inna dem parents yard. i quit weed-smoking early cause mi couldnt badda wid di hide n seek ting and i figured mi granny woulda find out eventually and pop mi neck. a now since mi grow up mi bun the occassional spliff and mi still cant mek she know that inna mi adult stage ya.

nuff a di parents did all a hear say dem pickney get gun and dem nuh do nutt'n bout dat. if da rumour did reach my granny dem time deh, i wouldnt be here today. i thank her for how she raised me.

LOL!!!

"granny woulda find out eventually and pop mi neck" - funny stuff!

I blame politicians for the gutter we find ourselves in, but certain behaviours not helping the situation.

yeh mon, she serious. one night mi cousin a blaze bare weed and reach home bout 1 am. mi granny go wid di key fi open di grill and smell weed and tun back inside. di man bawl livin yeye waata fi she let him in. she jus go back in go sleep. mi wake up see him a sleep under di mango tree wid a puddle a tears unda him head. him was 16. needless to say, him nuh pick up a spliff after dat.

i didn't say it would dramatically increase. read again carefully what i said, if indeed this post was intended for me. there is a connection, whether it is life initating art or art imitating life...

in a subtle way i agreed with you about the parenting thing...just go back and rad fully what i said.

i understand what ur saying. the ghettos do lack stable parenting due to the prevalence of teenage pregnancy and absentee fathers. society will always be society regardless of what musicians do. in jamaica, it's almost becoming customary for fathers to abandon their children. it's just wired in us. i've never heard a dancehall song encouraging fathers to abandon their kids but that's how it is. jamaica will remain how it is until the lower class becomes educated, whether or not dancehall cleans up its act or not. However, politicians do not want an educated Jamaica as this will spark a reduction in votes and gullible supporters at rallies, which are more often than not held in the lower class, uneducated faction of society where politicians can promise "big house" and "criss car".