• Feedbacks and responses are

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=1 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>

<SPAN class=TopStory>welcome here:</SPAN>

<SPAN class=TopStory>Free education in Jamaica</SPAN>
    <SPAN class=Subheadline></SPAN></TD></TR><TR><TD>Wesley Barrett
    Monday, December 04, 2006
    </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
    <P class=StoryText align=justify>There is hardly anything of value that does not have a cost attached. The notion that formal education can be free in Jamaica or elsewhere is false. Formal, non-formal or even informal education does have a cost. What we can correctly say is that education may be provided free to someone but only after someone else has paid or has promised to pay for it.<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=5 width=80 align=left border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR><TD><SPAN class=Description>Wesley Barrett </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><P class=StoryText align=justify>We have been hearing talk about free education in Jamaica. Whether there were pronouncements to that effect in the 70s or any other time, students or their parents have always had to meet the cost partially or in full. It is really misleading to state that at some time the country enjoyed free education. What was enjoyed and is still provided and enjoyed in public schools is free tuition, which in reality is the instruction provided by teachers who are paid by the state.<P class=StoryText align=justify>With fresh elections due within a year or so, it is an appropriate time to think again about quality education and its cost, and examine carefully what the political parties have to say on the matter. I would propose an open and vigorous informed discussion on the key elements associated with quality education and how the costs should be distributed. There are two key aspects to be addressed, namely, provision and participation or access.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Costs cluster around these. Provision usually relates to what is made available and in evidence at the school, and access relates to the means and requirements to interact with the provision.<P class=StoryText align=justify>In providing quality education in schools, there must be in place effective teachers who provide quality instruction in well-equipped classrooms that are housed in safe and secure buildings. Good teachers, sound buildings and functional and student-friendly learning materials and equipment cost much. Parents of students who attend some private educational institutions know how painful these costs can be, especially when generous provisions of technology are used in the learning and teaching process.<P class=StoryText align=justify>Provision of supplies of electricity and water at school is indispensable and they account for a significant portion of the operational costs which must be met in a timely manner. The cost of building and equipment maintenance also accounts for much of the educational expenditure in schools. Special gears provided for physical education and sport, as well as equipment and materials for music and the visual and performing arts, require much money.<P class=StoryText align=justify>There are costs for administrative and ancillary services which are indispensable in well-run schools. Extra coaching services provided in areas such as athletics, football and volleyball make big dents in school budgets. The range of costs and expenditure is almost infinite, but more critically must be met by someone or some agency.
    On the other hand, relatively high costs are incurred for day-to-day maintenance on a personal level.<P class=StoryText align=justify>One cost, that of food, could range between $50 and $300 for one student each day, depending on whether the food is a simple snack or a midday lunch. To this must be added the cost for uniform and shoes. A major added cost particularly for rural students is the cost for transportation which could b

RE: Feedbacks and responses are

We need free education
    published: Friday | December 1, 2006
    <DIV class=KonaBody x8F28="true">

<B MZN9j="0" b3Ni0="0">THE EDITOR, Sir: [/B]<P MZN9j="0" b3Ni0="0">IT IS indeed really amazing to listen the many opinionmakers who are trying to convince the populace that <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Jamaica</SPAN> cannot afford to have tuition-free <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">secondary </SPAN><SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">education</SPAN>. These are the same persons who thought Michael <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Manley</SPAN> was the greatest thing born in Jamaica when he made education free to the tertiary level. <P MZN9j="0" b3Ni0="0">This position being adopted by these persons, however, leads one to ask questions. If <SPAN class=kLink style="FONT-WEIGHT: 400; COLOR: orange! important; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif; POSITION: relative">Barbados</SPAN> can have free education up to university level, why can't Jamaica have tuition-free education to secondary level? Can we afford not to have tuition-free education to secondary level? Are there not main areas of waste and duplication where savings can be made to offset the cost of this expense? If we cannot afford this, how then can we find the money to put the financing political party campaigning on the backs of the poor taxpayers? <P MZN9j="0" b3Ni0="0">Seemingly, many principals and education practitioners have swallowed this argument about our inability to accommodate th

Thanks lazie, you gave it

your best shot.

You know I have this question before and you and Lazie skirted it. This time I am not letting you guys off the hook. So one more time I ask......Are you guys sure you are not brothers? The way unno trouble yu one annedda itlook like true sibling rivalry to rhatid. Unno jus' a fling pure box whenver given the opportunity. - T.K.