True Democracy or continued Idiocracy: Jamaica must choose

• True Democracy or continued Idiocracy: Jamaica must choose

Jawge..I am taking the liberty of reposting this important story which got zero attention.

More power for the people - MoBay's heads of industry and civil society call for better governance

Published: Friday | December 18, 2009

Nagra Plunkett, Assignment Coordinator

WESTERN BUREAU:
    [B]A shift in the power structure from politicians to the general citizenry is being advanced as a possible remedy for lack of accountability and inadequate governance in Jamaica.

"The state has too much power. When my community, for example, supported the University of Technology (to establish a campus at the multi-purpose stadium) for Trelawny, I had the support of every chamber.

Yet, one (political) person was not going with it so the Government says if that person is not going, they don't have to listen," charged Dennis Seivwright, president of the Trelawny Chamber of Commerce, during an Editors' Forum at The Gleaner offices in Montego Bay, St James on Wednesday.

"We might need to restructure our state apparatus in order to guarantee good leadership. When you elect a member of parliament, he's done with you. There's no constitutional power or obligation for him to be out before the next election or to be reprimanded."

He added: "It should be, I believe, that whatever the member of parliament does in his constituency should be by consensus and consultation with the people."
    Seivwright was among a panel of business and civic leaders discussing the state of leadership in Jamaica.

Deputy Superintendent Paul Stanton, officer with responsibility for community safety and security in Trelawny, St James, Hanover and Westmoreland, maintained that the country's history of bad governance is an impediment to sustainable growth.

Going forward

"This has really crippled Jamaica in many, many ways, and it doesn't go to the political sector alone. It goes to people in business, trade union leaders, even in the church," said DSP Stanton.

"They make decisions, not in the interest of the organisation, or for that matter a country going forward, they just make the decision based on their own personal agenda and this has more or less brought us to where we are today."

For businessman Dr Lee Bailey, the country lacks collective leadership.
    "With that I want to say the type of leadership that we have today, cannot manage a macro economy when 90 per cent of the people in the country are among the less fortunate or just on the border of the poverty level," explained the chief executive officer of CCS Tours Limited.

"Because somebody is involved in politics doesn't mean they're a leader. Leadership is distorted in Jamaica simply because we are not addressing the majority."[/QUOTE]

This is totally on point. Let us not slavishly follow the political & business tycoons leading us to destruction

Too much top down leadership from self serving political and business buffoons.

The political/decision making apparatus needs to be opened up to more entities across the country

We need more consensus and collective leadership & decision making

We need a people's assembly leading to a National Mission AKA a comprehensive Social Contract

We need to sideline the political tribes and reduce their ability to wreak havoc..ie more accountability... outside the electoral process

One by one the people are waking up to the political gamesmanship of our misleaders. All this movement needs is effective leadership for it to take hold.

Question is: Will that ever materialize?
    Last edited by Don1; December 20, 2009, 10:40 AM.

Anything to cut politician power is a good thing.

Addendum

No true democracy without right of referendum!

Anything to cut politician power is a good thing.
        yep!

Boss as it go:bible said some seed will fall among thorn and thistles whilst others will fall on fertile soil. If yuh haffi post Three more time boss.

Mi support them: An mi serious bout term limits. enough is enough.

yes sah! Time fi modify the source code of the operating system. Wi nuh like the desktop that comes up after the OS is loaded. wi want one whey look jakan; wid all reggae ah play inna di background. Suppen whey suit wi.

MORE LIKE old time Jam where people had respect fi dem eldas!

Strangers (homeless people) passing by on Xmas day asking for something to eat. This still happens at my people's home.