... and I quote, "The BEST crisis

• ... and I quote, "The BEST crisis

manager bar none is Mr. Edward Phillip George Seaga." radio host.

Wow the "demon" name a get called regularly lately. And surprisingly some of those calling his name are some serious comrades (not the one quoted up top).

What I want to know if is since Seaga retired people recognize his competence? After turning around the Manley mess, putting the country on a path of growth he was kicked out. Who replaced him? A set of clowns that did an excellent job of putting us on the brink. Now some die hard comrades want the current PM to listen to the most hated PM we've had to date? No wait, Bruce may surpass him based on recent activities.

How the song guh? Too late shall be their cry.

Seaga was always seen as a competent technocrat.

Just a **************** poor leader, thats all. He should have remained a deputy party leader and senior cabinet member, everybody would have been much better served by his abilities.

Very poor people skills.... so he would more likely than not be rejected by the electorate.

Yes ...the guy can't lead...but he can count very well....except when it comes to "forgetting" that he had millions of US$ worth of loans on his hotel.

Jamaica nuh need di Tivoli model....wi need sumtin diffrant.

P issed poor leader? Really? Lets see who Jamaicans idolize as leaders.
        1. Manley
        2. PJ
        3. Portia.
        Wow, does one have to fail in order to be seen as a good leader? Yes, he has a domineering attitude, but seeing how most Jamaicans stay, we need a leader that will put down him foot like it or not. But hey, it was his downfall.

Very poor people skills.... so he would more likely than not be rejected by the electorate.

The petty shot aside. Shouldn't we have been looking at the results instead of personalities? Look where it got us? When will we learn?

P issed poor leader? Really? Lets see who Jamaicans idolize as leaders.
            1. Manley
            2. PJ
            3. Portia.
            Wow, does one have to fail in order to be seen as a good leader? Yes, he has a domineering attitude, but seeing how most Jamaicans stay, we need a leader that will put down him foot like it or not. But hey, it was his downfall.
            Seaga could not even control the likeminded in his own party.....causing the PNP to win repeatedly and believe they "owned" Jamaica.

Of course the guy will be rejected.

Your labourite emotions are getting the better of you Lazie.

Portia ever won an election? So how can she be on your list of leaders idolized by Jamaicans?

Putting his foot down served the JLP as an organization really well, didn't it? Unoo (and Jamaica) lucky there is a party left today to rhatid. The amount of talented people he purged from thier rolls over his 30 year reign as the One Don is legendary.

Wheh yuh seh.. him inna di Cult of Personality ?

LOL !!

How di Petard ting guh again ?

Him fool Willi.. but Willi just new tuh dis...

Seaga could not even control the likeminded in his own party.....causing the PNP to win repeatedly and believe they "owned" Jamaica.

Of course the guy will be rejected.
                  Well many ites over the years have pointed to that smokescreen. Look at the flip side, for how many years have the comrades been holding hands, singing together and shouting "Farwud" as Karl love to say, as our economy headed in the wrong direction? Mi see Lionpaw a talk bout progress wha day ....

The X in the Jamaican flag must be for the choices we'll always make.

Wheh yuh seh..Eddie should have learned to be a populist..

Nuh worry doh.. Bruce tek all di notes him need innah exile..

PNP goose cook !

lol !

Your labourite emotions are getting the better of you Lazie.

Portia ever won an election? So how can she be on your list of leaders idolized by Jamaicans?

Putting his foot down served the JLP as an organization really well, didn't it? Unoo (and Jamaica) lucky there is a party left today to rhatid. The amount of talented people he purged from thier rolls over his 30 year reign as the One Don is legendary.
                      Whatever make you comfortable I-Man. I don't go off emotions, just facts. Despite his personality, the country moved forward under his leadership.

Regarding Portia. She may not have won a general election but didn't she beat off the likes of Peter Phillips twice to be leader as PNP?

The statisical data supports my position. But now .... ppl see the need fi call the demon's name.

Anything to raise the level of political leadership will get my support.

ahright so we are in agreement.. PNP in exile for the next 20 years while they raise the level of their political leadership..

A country is only as strong as its weakest link... PNP need to get to work.. sort out demselves.. purge themselves of the Manley legacy..

Regarding Portia. She may not have won a general election but didn't she beat off the likes of Peter Phillips twice to be leader as PNP?
                            Ok , so since Seaga (sometimes literally) beat off all JLP challengers for 30 years he must be the most popular leader of all!

Come Lazie, me know you can do better than that.

The petty shot aside. Shouldn't we have been looking at the results instead of personalities? Look where it got us? When will we learn?
                              Seaga is/was a competent technocrat as Islandman states.

I don't believe in his one don style or in his trickle down economic model or his social practices of encouraging garrisonization.

Seaga is not a solution for Jamaica in my opinion...maybe as a finance minister with a wise leader to control the fellow.... not as a leader.

In the 1980s Seaga was Reagan's favorite child and the US underwrote his entire economic program because they could not allow him to fail, having invested heavily to ensure Manley's failure...aided by Manley himself of course.

Seaga was the the FIRST foreign leader to visit Reagan...UNPRECEDENTED! That's usually by protocol the Canadian, Mexican or some W European leader..a sign of his political & strategic importance to Reagan

The CBI & consequent 809 garment program was virtually designed for Seaga by the Reagan administration as political payback for defeating Manley with CIA assistance.

The economic growth of the 1980s was not achieved by any brilliant policy making...it was mainly politically driven...but Seaga played his trickle down cards well. Jamaica had some growth...but what development?

The rich got richer and the poor suck salt tru wooden spoon.... which is why he was kicked out having won just one contested election...growth but no development... what good is that to the man in the street when the elites cream everything off the top?
                              You need to drill down deeper than mere growth numbers.

Jamaica cannot expect that type of personal/ideological support from any major power now.... so a Seaga one don approach is a non starter.... in my opinion.
                              Last edited by Don1; December 22, 2009, 01:09 PM.