• Observer EDITORIAL: God is not mocked

God is not mocked

Friday, January 08, 2010

At the risk of sounding self-righteous, we are going to point Mr Bruce Golding, our prime minister, to the biblical book of Galatians which advises us in the sixth chapter that God is not mocked.

"...for whatever a man sows, this he will also reap..." The extract points to a practical reality which none of us can afford to lose sight of, even as we support the prime minister's recent call on local Christians to pray for the intervention of the Almighty.

For it is no secret that much of what we refer to as the 'current crisis' is really the inevitable outcome of decades of slackness and thievery on the part of his and previous administrations.

There's no getting around it, resources that could have propelled this society to a better life have been dishonestly employed for the benefit of the greedy and the party faithful, while those paid to protect our interests looked the other way.

Consequently we are now suffering from want and on our way back to a relationship with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) which won't hesitate to cripple and maim us in order to guarantee the safe return of its loan.

So, of course, it makes sense to call on the Almighty.
    However, it would be altogether too naïve to suppose that we can continue to sow the same seeds that escorted us to our present dilemma, in the meantime.

No; all of us, especially the prime minister and his administration, have to take the proverbial bull by the horns as far as the process of change is concerned.

So that when the IMF money comes in, it will be managed honestly and wisely.

We must ask the Almighty to rescue us from the type of administrative wickedness that prefaced our downfall.

We must pray that the healing, of which the prime minister spoke at this week's staging of the Power of Faith Ministries' 'Heal the family, Heal the nation' convention at the National Arena, is not spoilt by the dirty dons and unscrupulous administrators among us.

We must pray for the demise of the spirit of cronyism that has been manifesting itself through the appointment of people, who just aren't ready, to positions of power at the expense of the citizenry.

In the meantime, there is much that we as individuals can do, right here on earth, to supplement our prayers.

We can start by working with the various systems that have been put in place by the State to ensure the observance of the rule of law, instead of trying to buy our way through via the greasing of palms and other unethical practices.

Maybe then we will have less by way of scandals to gawk about and more by way of progress to celebrate.

lol ! There goes that disingenous attempt to change history:

"For it is no secret that much of what we refer to as the 'current crisis' is really the inevitable outcome of decades of slackness and thievery on the part of his and previous administrations."

is only 1 party mi know can claim 'decades of slackness and thievery'...

lol !

Yuh bline!
      Why yuh tink suh much JLPites fram past administrations mek hit tuh jail?

causen a PNP ongle si corruption?

Yuh bline!
        Why yuh tink suh much JLPites fram past administrations mek hit tuh jail?

causen a PNP ongle si corruption?
        is you for REAL ?

Can you read ?

Which Decades of Bruce Administration dem ah talk bout ?