• Haiti?

One lesson for us?
    Bring our health services and other 'first responders' services up to speed.

I wish the Haitians well. May they come back from this 'hell' a million times 'better' and stronger.

We do a decent job with hurricane preparedness these days I think, providing transport to get people out of flood prone areas, etc.

Don't know how much you can prepare for what Haiti just had without an excess amount of resources though. I guess its an argument for keeping the JDF around. Haiti had disbanded thier army some time ago.

Jaaah, yes Karl mi glad yuh see whey mi ah see. Whilst I'm truly sorry for the Haitian people, it teaches us in JA the lesson that the Somalia model is not a good thing to aspire towards.

Somalia have a model? Wha she name?

Ugly Betty .

iman?

dat's as racist as you can get.

So much for Garvey and all that.

sigh

Imagery and symbolism seems lost around here, but it's okay. Carry on Mo.

On eof the major problems with Haiti's infrastructure is that their buildings with the exceptions of hotels and major buildings are not built to proper specifications and so the slightest wind or tremor will come down with sever consequences.

Did you see the pics of Digicel's building? A 12-story glass-curtain structure with not even a window shattered!

A comment by a black man about a black woman can be considered like that?

No way! Did not see that one...

I agree about the lack of standards of buildings in Haiti, but a 7.0 earthquake is very powerful and would have caused a disaster if it occurred in a modern industrial society. In Haiti a lot of modern new buildings were completely destroyed.