Broken promise? - Opposition says PM reneged on pledge ...

• Broken promise? - Opposition says PM reneged on pledge ...

Broken promise? - Opposition says PM reneged on pledge to disclose letter of intent

Opposition leader Portia Simpson Miller on Tuesday night blasted Prime Minister Bruce Golding for breaking a promise to disclose the full contents of the Letter of Intent to borrow money from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) before the agreement is signed.

"He indicated that some of the details relating to the IMF programme are so sensitive that public disclosure, or a debate in Parliament on the matter, could further delay or even derail an agreement with the International Monetary Fund," Simpson Miller said of a meeting with Prime Golding, which took place on Tuesday.

Simpson Miller was addressing a People's National Party (PNP) forum held at The Jamaica Pegasus, Tuesday evening.

The Government has indicated that the IMF board is to deliberate on the Letter of Intent (LOI) on January 27, more than a week after Parliament debates the issue on January 19.

However, the Opposition has complained that Golding has broken a promise to give full details before the agreement is signed off. Jamaica is seeking to borrow up to US$1.3 billion from the IMF.

But Marlon Morgan, a technical adviser to Finance Minister Audley Shaw and member of Generation 2000 - the young affiliate of the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) who attended the forum - sought to punch holes in Simpson Miller's charge that Golding has broken his promise with regard to the IMF.

Three tiers

"There are three tiers at the IMF. There is the middle management, who is more or less in possession of the Letter of Intent as we speak; the senior management, and the board. It would stand to argue that the board will have in its possession the LOI after the debate in Parliament," Morgan said.

However, Simpson Miller and Dr Omar Davies, the opposition spokesman on finance, dismissed Morgan's explanation.

"The fact is that the prime minister indicated to us that there were sensitive issues that he does not want to get out there. How then can we debate it in full on the 19th," Simpson Miller asked.

Davies said that, if the full details cannot be disclosed before the IMF signs off on the document, it would mean that the Parliamentary discussion takes place in a vacuum.

"What we understood then was that a Letter of Intent - which contains commitment of the government of Jamaica, on behalf of the people of Jamaica, to abide by certain rules - what we understood by a full debate was that we would be exposed to what the elements of this agreement contained, and that we would have the opportunity to voice our views as well as to make suggestions," Davies said.

Meanwhile, Simpson Miller said the Golding-led government has developed a trust deficit which will impair the ability of the country to survive the current economic tsunami.

"In addition to the gaping physical deficit and the monetary deficit, this government also has a trust deficit. This trust deficit is of the government's own making. The deficit of trust this government now faces has led to great levels of insecurity, anxiety and confusion in or nation," Simpson Miller said.

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...ews/news1.html

Bankers fall in line - Endorse Gov't's debt exchange but demand prudent fiscal management

Gary Spaulding, Senior Gleaner Writer
    Key stakeholders in the financial sector yesterday warned the Bruce Golding administration that they would not let his Government off the hook if it fails to deliver on its promise of a prudent fiscal-management programme to supplement the debt-exchange initiative.

At the launch of the Jamaica Debt Exchange (JDX) yesterday, well attended by the gamut of sector interests at the central bank's downtown Kingston's offices, Golding reiterated the Government's commitment to fiscal discipline in its proposed medium-term economic programme.

Golding continued to appeal for widespread support for the JDX which he described as a voluntary contribution.

But in stark contrast, Finance Minister Audley Shaw declared that holders of government bonds who did not sign on to the JDX would not be allowed to "free ride and exploit other holders".

The prime minister conceded that the move was a political gamble. "I am prepared to take the political risk," Golding declared.

"My leadership will rely on the history and not the voters."

Dawn of new day?

Members of prominent financial interests endorsed the initiative, but argued that it must signal the dawn of a new day.

"I hope that the initiative will be accompanied by tax reforms and strong fiscal management … without that, we may be here again in three years," declared Minna Israel, president of the Jamaica Bankers' Association.

"We need to hold the Government accountable in achieving fiscal discipline and medium-term economic plan," asserted Bruce Bowen, Scotiabank's chief executive officer.

"This debt-exchange programme is not the end of the road, but the beginning," Bowen said.

"I am appealing to the Government not to squander the opportunity to develop fiscal discipline," declared the head of the Jamaica Money Market Brokers, Keith Duncan.

In reinforcing the necessity of the Government's medium-term development plan, the financial sector representatives assured the prime minister of their confidence in the JDX.

"We can begin to turn the corner, it's a pity that we had to do it at the behest of the multilaterals and the International Monetary Fund," Duncan asserted. "I call on all Jamaicans to stand up for Jamaica now."

Bowen argued that there was no perfect solution in a time of crisis. "What is quite clear is that it has to be done … We must get on board and support the solutions."

"We can begin to turn the corner, it's a pity that we had to do it at the behest of the multilaterals and the International Monetary Fund," Duncan asserted. "I call on all Jamaicans to stand up for Jamaica now."
      Rudderless ship.

We all know yuh have issues steps are being made to correct the ship and you still claim its a rudderless ship? Careful, you're about to cross that line.

Well it seems most of Ja is now conditioned for this environment: Money at the top with the hopes of a little sprinkling to bottom in the form of a few menial jobs here and there. It's then posted in the books as progress.

The island will fall apart at the above rate.

steps are being taken but is who ordering those steps?

Well it seems most of Ja is now conditioned for this environment: Money at the top with the hopes of a little sprinkling to bottom in the form of a few menial jobs here and there. It's then posted in the books as progress.

The island will fall apart at the above rate.
              Elijah ... where were you and yuh prophecies all along?

better late than never.

steps are being taken but is who ordering those steps?

When yuh doctor order you to stop drinking alcohol yuh have to be willing to do it nuh true?

When those ordering the steps were chased out and told "Ta Tahhh" unuh never celebrate? Where did that move get us? When Shaw said he would go to the multilaterals he was mocked. Put yuh pettiness aside and confirm that Shaw approaching the multilaterals was a move in the right direction.

better late than never.
                    Well for those who came in late need fi get up to speed.

???? Read over your initial question.

Shaw?!? Two words - INCOMPETENT. RESIGN

INCOMPETENT: Lets see ... a man who kept an Omar Davies as MOF for over a decade has the balls to call the current minister incompetent as he is correcting the mess created by your beloved Omar?

RESIGN: Since when yuh start smoking weed?

Again, we all know yuh have an axe to grind. Better yuh cool cause yuh beginning to sound really petty bredren.

at least i'm beginning...

Problem with Jamaica is people like Mosiah, who sit and just make excuses when the PNP are in power and cuss bout everything when the JLP is in power. Meanwhile Jamaica get screw.

Duncan and some of the others are the same thing. Them know them live them good life and get the contracts and clients already. Now them have time fi speak up