Pilots confident in their bid for Air Jamaica

I spoke with someone last night and the message I got was, the pilots were not being considered.

I never said and I am not now saying you are not correct that the pilots are being considered as buyers...I am merely repeating what I was told. ...and I commented on your article being, 'possibly dated'.

What is the date of your article and where did you get it/its source?

...and what's the below?

They had lost hope of buying and had now recently had that hope revived?
    Did they make a bid for the airline? The fact that there is the thought of keeping all 19,000 employees mek one wonder how serious they are.

[quote=Lazie;209513]"At a meeting with the Prime Minister on Tuesday, the pilots were told that based on their first proposal the government was not convinced that they could take over the airline." [quote]

Let us assume Tuesday is last Tuesday 19 Jan. 2010 - The pilots proposals were long before last Tuesday dismissed. So what is new in this. ...are we to understand a 'new' proposal was submitted?

If so, what is 'new' about it?

Now that Air J may be going away everybody start get sentimental. Yeah .. it would be nice if the pilots bought it ... the question is, what if they're in a financial bind? Should the gov't be bailing them out as well?
      Now that Air J is going away... does that not say, the pilots are 'out'?

Unuh can cuss me - but the Pilots nuh have any money, and I doubt they will raise the equity. It is all sentimental talk.

Air Jamaica is battling losses for over a decade, and all of us could see that someday the sentimental airline would become extinct. If those pilots were serious, they should have been pursuing this long time. It was only in 2009 that they started the lip service about hoping to buy the airline.

Furthermore, if they are serious, how the hell would they be able to keep 19,000 employees, without trimming any "fat". Nuff restructuring would be needed, lean staff and nuff pay cut!

As to dealing with the Unions - that's another headache, heartache, etc.

If the airline couldn't turn a profit in the days when it had less competition - I don't see it happening now.

I hear them talking about raising equity and people in the disapora.

Which of you Air Jamaica sentimentalists on this forum is willing to buy a stake in the airline?

You a buy NWU, BITU and the rest a dem.

Ain't that the truth

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                Unuh can cuss me - but the Pilots nuh have any money, and I doubt they will raise the equity. It is all sentimental talk.

Air Jamaica is battling losses for over a decade, and all of us could see that someday the sentimental airline would become extinct. If those pilots were serious, they should have been pursuing this long time. It was only in 2009 that they started the lip service about hoping to buy the airline.

Furthermore, if they are serious, how the hell would they be able to keep 19,000 employees, without trimming any "fat". Nuff restructuring would be needed, lean staff and nuff pay cut!

As to dealing with the Unions - that's another headache, heartache, etc.

If the airline couldn't turn a profit in the days when it had less competition - I don't see it happening now.
                Whether or not they have the ability to purchase and to manage the airline, we have not a clue...but my understanding is they would have gone a Southwest-like model. That suggested to me that an attempt would be made to have the workers give tremendous concessions in wage cuts and fringe benefits. ...and like Southwest tremendous effort at work.

Southwest like Model? Them woulda cut them pay and get rid of the unions? their salary is one of the highest in the industry.

It would be interesting to see if the players would cut the unions and do their own thing as does the non-union Jet Blue!

...remember in the Southwest experiment the workers all own a piece of the airline. It is claimed that is why the put in so much effort. ...but the funny thing is Southwest workers are unionized.

They would not only have to cut salary, they would have to downsize the headcount.

Agreed

Butch money long and him couldn't keep up. This pilot association bid is a joke

champagne will do that to you