I lift my hat to the Haitians.....

• I lift my hat to the Haitians.....

Especially for the relative calm that they have exhibited.

I don't know why I thought the country would erupt into anarchy--considering the magnitude of their plight.

I wonder if the Jamaican people would show similar restraint in such a crisis?
    Last edited by HL; January 25, 2010, 04:24 PM.

Especially for the relative calm that they have exhibited.

I don't know why I thought the country would erupt into anarchy--considering the magnitude of their plight.

I wonder if the Jamaican people would show similar restraint in such a crisis?
    Ans: No

Well I was there during Gilbert and I can tell you I wouldn't want to be there during another Hurricane but the aftermath and rebuilding was really sobering. To see Jamaicans giving, helping and been there for each other. It is something I will never forget.

With the little bad we are a caring people, loving people and so too are majority of the haitians I have met while living in NY.

yuh expect different from hl?

come to think of it, was it all honky dory after katrina ravaged new orleans?

jus axin' a simple question..........

...and I know you know the answer to my question.

Assasin comes from a civil community that is not really representative of todays' Jamaica. It is an outlier.
          Last edited by HL; January 25, 2010, 05:13 PM.

I was living in Mobay at the time. The first thing I saw was workers and hotel guests together clearing roads and leading the recovery long before any government agencies.

Yes there were the looters in Mobay during the hurricane but one of the first thing I had to do was make sure my grandma was ok in Portland and I took the ride for a few days and when people have to get back to basic they realise the importance of neigbourhood.

Remember the riots ion LA after Rodney King and the looting...

those were the jamaicans in compton!

dem ebrywhere

these situations can tax the extent of human endurance....

http://news.yahoo.com/s/nm/20100126/...s_quake_haiti1