RBSC

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The United States of Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago?!?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The United States of Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago?!?

TRINIDAD, TOBAGO & JAMAICA: A TRIPLE ISLAND STATE?

Trust me peoples, Trinidad & Tobago (T&T) and Jamaica always make for an interesting, and sometimes contentious comparative study.

I have been travelling to T&T almost every year for over 20 years now, and I'm still constantly amused and intrigued by the similarities and differences shared between our two nations. Given the increasing power and presence of the Trinis in our economy, and the growing influence of culture on their lifestyles, the comparisons may actually be increasing in relevance. What you think?

African heritage
    One of the things I have noticed, for instance is that black people in T&T seem to be a little more into their African heritage. My senses tell me that the keenness to represent their 'African-ness' may be due in part to the very strong, assertive presence of their Indian counterparts, who proudly and unapologetically emphasise their heritage and culture in very visible and tangible ways. Whatever the reason, though, I find that compared to us in Jamaica, more black people in T&T have African names, wear locks and Afrocentric fashion, embrace African ancestral spirituality and espouse pan-African views. And although Trinidadians have bought into many of our Jamaican-lifestyle ills (like the 'Gully vs. Gaza' graffiti now covering the walls at the St Augustine campus of UWI) the skin-bleaching epidemic has yet to reach them.