Did we give peace some forum time? Big up this peace!

• Did we give peace some forum time? Big up this peace!

Tivoli 'war' overshadows Kartel/Mavado peace
    BY INGRID BROWN Observer Senior Reporter browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, May 24, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

THE stand-off between security forces and 'Dudus' supporters in Tivoli Gardens, West Kingston, last week overshadowed a significant move towards peace in two other troubled Kingston communities.
    Passers-by stood in amazement as residents from Big Yard and Cassava Piece, two long-standing rivals at the centre of a bloody feud, faced off in a busy parking lot off Mannings Hill Road.

Entertainer Mavado (left) converses with Rev Al Miller following the peace talks (Photo: Ingrid Brown)
    var caption4517358 = document.getElementById('photocaption4517358').inn erHTML; var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({ wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow dimensions: [370, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image imagearray: [ ["http://assets.mediaspanonline.com/prod/4517358/vado-miller_w370.jpg", "", "", caption4517358 ] ], displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:3000, cycles:0, wraparound:false}, persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session? fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds) descreveal: "always", togglerid: "slideshowtoggler" })

Entertainer Mavado (left) converses with Rev Al Miller following the peace talks (Photo: Ingrid Brown)

1/1

But instead of trading bullets and harsh words which has been the norm between these warring factions, men, women and children bridged the long-standing divide with firm handshakes, hugs and a friendly smile.
    Throngs of residents from both communities walked slowly towards each other, meeting on the imaginable half-way mark in the busy Super Value parking lot to broker the peace deal organised by the Rev Al Miller-led National Transformation Programme (NTP) and the Peace Management Initiative (PMI).
    A week prior, members of the NTP and the PMI toured the Cassava Piece community which is aligned to dancehall entertainer, Mavado and Big Yard which has connections to rival deejay, Vybz Kartel. At both communities, residents who had expressed a deep desire to see an end to the constant blood-letting, sealed the deal with hearty handshakes and hugs.
    Jennifer, a resident of Big Yard, was emotional as she hugged the young man from Cassava Piece who had threatened her son resulting in him being sent from the area to board elsewhere.
    Overwhelmed at what was unfolding before her eyes, Jennifer said she had been praying for this peace for the longest while as the violence between both communities had made it impossible for her to even venture to night services at the nearby church.
    "I feel joyous and good," she said with a big smile.
    Not only was she forced to send away her fourth form son, but her six-year-old son and granddaughter had to take the longer route to get to school as they could not pass through Cassava Piece.
    "Ah girl was carrying them through there one morning and someone shouted 'why you bring them through here'," she told the Observer.
    An outward showing of this new peace commitment for both communities will be the staging of a Labour Day clean-up project followed by a peace dance scheduled for today.
    They have also pledged to form a joint peace committee to ensure that dialogue continues before a situation escalates. In support, the PMI will establish an empowerment group for the women in both communities.
    "You can't do anything about the past but you can do something about the future," Rev Miller told the peace meeting, stressing that without peace, prosperity and development could not come to their communities.
    Following this persons were given the opportunity to air their grievances in bid to move forward,
    "Me heart a bleed right now and me glad we all here to witness what a gwaan because me hear people ah say we fi kill off we one another and that is what them want fi see but it nah go happen," said one of the players from Big Yard.
    Noting that anyone who attempted to break the peace would be removed from the community, he said his side was committed to maintaining the new found unity.
    Ivan Shaw, a resident of Cassava Piece and a peace facilitator, said they were committed to controlling the schoolboys and women who play a great role in the beginning of conflicts often started over petty issues.
    Deejay Mavado, one of the key persons behind the peace initiative, urged the men to put aside their differences, even as he denied claims that he had been behind the spate of violence.
    "Ask them if me ever bring a rifle come give them, but at the same time me nah tell them not to defend themselves," he said. "We nuh deh here because we fear them or them fear we but is because we want bring back the love," Mavado told the gathering.
    He noted that even if Vybz Kartel, who was absent because of an overseas engagement, did not make it on that day, it should not impact the peace.
    "Even if Adi have a show then that nuh have nutten to do with it because me and Adi good," Mavado said.

a lie, a di gully and gaza why di war a gwan. a dem to be blamed fi all crime inna jamaica.

tell u say nuff a unnuh pon di forum a eediat. bout gully/gaza peace like a dem a di reason why jamaica violent. all a unnuh mek bruce trick unnuh.