• 'Deadly fish' scares buyers

'Deadly fish' scares buyers

Published: Friday | June 25, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Angelo Laurence, Gleaner Writer
    The sale of fish in the Mandeville Market has taken a nosedive after word spread that the Ministry of Health has confirmed that some vendors were using formaldehyde to preserve their fish. (what a wikkid set of people)

Dr Beverly Wright, of the Manchester Health Department, made the disclosure during a Board of Health meeting at the Manchester Parish Council yesterday.

The matter first came to light in March after a resident who ate fish purchased in the Mandeville market became ill shortly after. The matter was brought to the attention of councilor for the Mandeville division, Sally Porteous, who through the Manchester Parish Council alerted the Ministry of Health. The Ministry of Health then took nine samples of fish from vendors in the market and sent them to the Government's laboratory in Kingston for testing. According to Wright, "all nine samples tested positive for the chemical formaldehyde", which is used for the preservation of bodies by funeral homes.

Porteous, who expressed her disgust a the actions of the vendors, said she would like the police to investigate the matter to determine how the vendors came in possession of the chemical.

Keith Delapenha, of Delapenha's Funeral Home, told The Gleaner that formaldehyde is an extremely deadly chemical and should only be handled by persons trained in its use.

He said that although it is sometimes used in the production of animal feed, it should in no way be "handled or used" by vendors, even in small quantities.

In the meantime, secretary manager of the Manchester Parish Council, Alfred Graham, and Mayor of Mandeville, Brenda Ramsay, have summoned fish vendors who sell in the Mandeville Market to a meeting at the council chambers next week.

Dem need to mek these vendors eat their own fish at that meeting next week....

Now people know why they should worry bout diet soda.

In hot environments, the aspartme breaks down into methane and formaldehyde...two potent neurotoxins.

Since I drink diet drinks when I do have carbonated brevages, I have recently been doing some reading on the subject of Aspartame myself. Aspartame does not break down into formaldehyde and methane, actually it breaks down into methanol, phenylalanine and aspartic acid.

Phenylalanine
        Similar term(s): Phenyl-L-alanine, Phe.

Definition:
        Found in proteins, phenylalanine is an essential amino acid that we absorb from the protein we eat. Humans require phenylalanine for protein metabolism and children also require it for growth. Phenylalanine is converted into tyrosine in the body. Tyrosine is involved in the synthesis of neurotransmitters.

Aspartic acid

Definition:
        A non-essential amino acid in protein. The body produces aspartic acid to form part of a liver enzyme that builds and breaks down proteins and amino acids, and detoxifies nitrogen in urea. Aspartic acid is a neurotransmitter.

Methanol

Similar term(s): wood alcohol, methyl alcohol.
        Definition:

CH3OH. Methanol is the simplest alcohol and is toxic. At high concentrations, methanol can cause headaches, dizziness, nausea, vomiting, and death. Acute exposure may cause blindness. Chronic exposure to methanol can cause liver damage.

Methanol has many uses. It is an industrial solvent and used as a raw material in the manufacture of formaldehyde. Methanol is also used as antifreeze for use in vehicles, a camping stove fuel, a solvent for inks, dyes, resins, and adhesives. Methanol may also be added to ethanol to make it unfit for human consumption.
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Since unnu getting technical...is most likely formalin - which 37% (mass)formaldehyde is a gas at room temp. Supposed to be carcinogenic too and mess with yu mucous membranes...
          Formalin is approved by FDA for use in live fish (aquaculture) as a prophylactic for parasites, fungi and also for fish eggs.....

Originally posted by Exile View Post
            Since unnu getting technical...is most likely formalin - which 37% (mass)formaldehyde is a gas at room temp. Supposed to be carcinogenic too and mess with yu mucous membranes...
            Formalin is approved by FDA for use in live fish (aquaculture) as a prophylactic for parasites, fungi and also for fish eggs.....
            mi neva kno seh fish use boots

OK, so they could be misusing the formalin in their fish farms which is causing the problem seen as formaldehyde. As you say, Formalin is used as a parasiticide in aquaculture. I am wondering if the fish farm are misusing it which is causing the problem? Since the formalin is an aqueous solution of formaldehyde (37%), this could be reason they are finding trace of formaldehyde in the fish.

I would bet anything that the people treating those ponds are not following the treatment instructions. Maybe they are supposed to have say 1.5 parts per million in the water and they are seeing 15 ppm etc.
              "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tap finding excuses. Dont get over technical. The body metabolizes trace amounts of exactly what I said (methanol, not methane, my bad there) and the effects are deadly.

Part of what is called Gulf War syndrome is exactly that. At 86F aspartame breaks down and the effects are toxic to the body.

FDA rejected this for years until Rumsfeld at Searle used politrix to push it thru and we have all been "healthier" ever since.

-----------------

Sometimes, the manufacturer points to the fact that aspartame has been approved in many countries. But none of these countries even tested aspartame. They relied on the manufacturer's pre-approved "research" which was aptly described by an FDA Investigator:

"They [manufacturer] lied and they didn't submit the real nature of their observations because had they done that it is more than likely that a great number of these studies would have been rejected simply for adequacy. What [the manufacturer] did, they took great pains to camouflage these shortcomings of the study. As I say filter and just present to the FDA what they wished the FDA to know and they did other terrible things for instance animals would develop tumors while they were under study. Well they would remove these tumors from the animals."
                [US Congressional Record, Volume 131, No. 106, August 1, 1985, pages S10826-S10827]
                Some of the symptoms of aspartame poisong include:

Headaches/Migraines, Dizziness, Seizures, Nausea, Numbness, Muscle spasms, Weight gain, Rashes, Depression, Fatigue, Irritability, Tachycardia, Insomnia, Vision Problems, Hearing Loss, Heart palpitations, Breathing difficulties, Anxiety attacks, Slurred Speech, Loss of taste, Tinnitus, Vertigo, Memory loss, Joint Pain
                Because aspartame metabolizes into a poison and other dangerous chemicals (despite the claims of the manufacturer to the contrary), it is believed that it can trigger or worsen the following conditions:

Brain tumors, Arthritis, Multiple sclerosis, Epilepsy, Chronic faigue syndrome, Parkinson's Disease, Alzheimer's Disease, Mental retardation, Lymphoma, Birth defects, Fibromyalgia, Diabetes, Thyroid Disorders
                Monsanto is now preparing to release another poorly-tested, dangerous sweetener, neotame. However, a large number of people are not waiting to be poisoned again and are using the Healthier Sweetener Resource List to switch to stevia and other healthier, time-tested sweeteners.
                Last edited by Willi; June 26, 2010, 06:11 AM.

Diet Sodas and Cancer
                  Aspartame breaks down to methanol and formaldehyde. Yummy!

Oct 13, 2007 Ronald K. Frazer

Cancer and Aspartame - www.sxc.hu
                  Diet Sodas usually contain aspartame which produces formaldehyde as you digest it--more than the legal limit.

Aspartame—just the amount in one can of diet soda—produces an excessive amount of the carcinogen formaldehyde in your body. Aspartame is the chemical in Equal® and NutraSweet® and is the sweetener in most diet sodas. Formaldehyde isn’t listed in the ingredients; your body produces it as you digest the soda.

When you drink a diet soda, your body breaks down the aspartame into aspartic acid, phenylalanine, and methanol, one molecule of each.

aspartic acid is harmless; it’s broken down into alanine, an amino acid, and oxaloacetate, an organic compound
                  phenylalanine, an allergen to some people, is broken down into mostly tyrosine, an amino acid, and to a lesser extent into phenylethylamine, an alkaloid, and phenylpyruvate.
                  methanol (wood alcohol) is broken down into formic acid (the toxin in ant bites) and formaldehyde which is a carcinogen.
                  Each diet soda with aspartame produces about 20 mg of methanol. The methanol breaks down further into 6 mg of formaldehyde which is three times the daily EPA limit. It’s 30 times the limit in New Jersey, 100 times the limit in California, and 300 times the limit in Maryland.

Read more at Suite101: Diet Sodas and Cancer: Aspartame breaks down to methanol and formaldehyde. Yummy! http://cancer.suite101.com/article.c...#ixzz0rx8ajLGT

The formaldehyde from each can of diet soda is more than the legal limit of this dangerous chemical.
                    Dr. Devra Davis, the director of the Center for Environmental Oncology at the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, says that all scientific evidence about aspartame has been negative for human health, and it wasn’t until Donald Rumsfeld left government and became the CEO of G.D. Searle, the manufacturer, that the government approved aspartame for use in human food and drinks.

Interviewed by the Pittsburgh Post Gazette, when asked about Donald Rumsfeld’s connection to the aspartame approval, Dr. Davis stated:

“I don't know what his precise role was. I only know that prior to his becoming CEO of Searle, aspartame had been turned down by every scientific group reviewing its safety and that the General Counsel of the FDA asked the U.S. Attorney's office to convene a grand jury to decide whether to indict the producer for knowingly misrepresenting findings... The grand jury never acted. Those working on this for the government went to work for Searle. The day after Reagan's inauguration, the company resubmitted a request for approval. Within five months of Reagan's presidency, aspartame was approved.”

Also on Suite101
                    Formaldehyde Use and Indoor Air Quality
                    Low levels of formaldehyde in the indoor air are very common and come from many sources, but there are precautions people can take to limit their exposure.
                    In her new book, The Secret History of the War on Cancer, Dr. Davis describes the manipulation of the US government by the chemical industry—not only with respect to aspartame but many other chemicals that touch the daily lives of the citizens.

Formaldehyde isn’t the only nasty chemical in diet soda. Don’t drink your diet soda if it has been warmed by the sun for a while. According to a 2006 article in the Albuquerque Journal, the heat and light cause the ascorbic acid and the benzoate preservatives in soda to form benzene, another carcinogen that produces leukemia and other blood diseases.

For more information on preventing cancer, see The Center for Environmental Oncology or the Environmental Working Group.

Read more at Suite101: Diet Sodas and Cancer: Aspartame breaks down to methanol and formaldehyde. Yummy! http://cancer.suite101.com/article.c...#ixzz0rx9Bi236

---------------------

Monsanto is currently attacking articles like this with a PR campaign suggesting that the methanol in fruit does as much damage as the methanol in aspartame, or as it is now called "AminoSweet". This is a carefully crafted lie. See a very detailed analysis at http://www.holisticmed.com/aspartame/methanol.faq

Read more at Suite101: Diet Sodas and Cancer: Aspartame breaks down to methanol and formaldehyde. Yummy! http://cancer.suite101.com/article.c...#ixzz0rx9MudzB

Better safe than sorry!
                      No more diet sodas!

...gents could you turn your attention to the other carbonated beverages?

...and then (no joke...just curious) water?

Better safe than sorry!
                        No more diet sodas!

...gents could you turn your attention to the other carbonated beverages?

...and then (no joke...just curious) water?

Hey - something is gonna take us out

We'll need to see if it's farmed fish - tilapia or not. FDA doesn't have a withdrawal time limit for its use. The conc. used are relatively small...like 750-1000mls/1000 gal (I know I'm mixing SI w gals.)...
                          Truth is maybe they are just 'preserving' the fish and nothing to do with Tx.

Some are more responsible than others. So memba and no every fish yu see yu must eat.

Drink water...