Back in town

• Back in town

Went to my Grandmother's funeral. Bwoy a long time mi nuh go a nine night. It has changed and could easily pass for a concert as they used a live 3 piece band and them drop some music. It was sad but I know my grandmother would want it that way. For all those people who haven't seen nine night in years unnu might have a culture shock.

It was good to see relatives and friends again and while it was not a vacation "mum" pass off inna style with so many youngsters testifying how she influenced their lives. Gone but will not be forgotten. As the youth them say "A mum thing yu kno, so we have fi come". RIP "Mum"

welcome forward

Life goes on...and your "MUM" would not have wanted it to be any other way!
      "Head high", boss!
      The memories you shall have forever!

welcome iyah. she played the role that the father wrote for her...

Did you know the traditional 9-night was celebrated 9 nights after the funeral?

just some trivia for y'all!

Hope you had a good time a yard, despite the occasion.

Welcome back Assasin.

Culture shock indeed at nine-night!!!

On a visit about 2 years ago, my friend asked me to
            'drop him down at a dead-yard to deliver some food' he was cooking.

We got to this place.... I asked my friend 'why he want to stop at this road-side dance? He replied that this was where he was going....

Assasin I have never heard a sound system so loud and heavy with bass. It shook my car!! Then the attire of 'specially the young women was something else.

It was night so i stayed in the car with the engine running, while my friend delivered the stuff.

. I must admit i felt out of place. I recall the term 'culture shock' going through my mind.

Nine night appears nothing close to what i remember --when i lived in Jamaica.

Welcome back roots!

big up sah

It so sweet even yu bes fren cyaaan wait fi yu fi dead...LOL

Oh welcome back to the forum Zass.

no wonder the murder rate so high. LOL

It was every bit blessed. It was good to go to sea where only you and your crew was there for miles. Great to visit Blue hole and take river bath. It was Mango, Pear, Breadfruit and ackee season so I won't say anymore.

I only miss playing some ball with the youths and help them Windsor Castle FC celebrate the St.Mary division one title. My heart still deh a yard yah now.