JLP outsmart PNP - PNP walked into a trap

• JLP outsmart PNP - PNP walked into a trap

The JLP did not want to extend the state of emergency but did not want to take responsibility for stopping it so they made sure that they did not have enough votes on the government side to pass it then bring it to a vote.

If the state of emergency was not extended iand crime rose again then its the PNP fault because they had the majority.

Front-page Editorial

Published: Wednesday | July 21, 2010 0 Comments and 0 Reactions

Reckless day in Gordon House The Golding administration and Portia Simpson Miller's Opposition engaged in a reckless piece of political gamesmanship in Parliament yesterday, for which the Jamaican people could suffer severe consequences.
    Both, but particularly Mrs Simpson Miller's People's National Party (PNP), which attempted to eat its cake and still have it, should be made to bear the penalty for such juvenile and callous fiddling with Jamaica's interests, allowing for the collapse of the state of emergency that was initially imposed on May 23.
    Emergency conditions were declared when the Jamaican state found itself under threat from irregulars loyal to Christopher Coke, the west [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Kingston[/COLOR][/COLOR] strongman, whose extradition to the United States was finally agreed to after months of dithering. Mr Coke's militia blockaded Tivoli Gardens, attacked the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]security[/COLOR][/COLOR] forces and burnt police stations. Coke's Tivoli redoubt was eventually overrun and his command [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]infrastructure[/COLOR][/COLOR] dismantled.
    In the nearly two months since the state of emergency was imposed, first in Kingston and St Andrew, and later St Catherine, it has clearly had a positive effect. The 91 murders in June represented a reduction of over a fifth, compared to the same period a year ago, and by a dramatic 49 per cent compared to May.
    There is a clear correlation between the decline in crime and the state of emergency, so it is understandable that most Jamaicans, who faced 1,680 murders in 2009 and more than 870 so far this year, would want it to be extended when it expires on Thursday. Which was the intent yesterday.
    Opposition shunning responsibility
    The PNP, we suspect, called for an urgent winding-up to the emergency, expecting to be defeated by the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Government's[/COLOR][/COLOR] majority. The Opposition would have found favour with human-rights groups, declared itself to have looked out for the interest of the poor, and in the end would be free of responsibility.
    Mrs Simpson Miller and colleagues didn't count on six government members being away, leaving the administration with fewer than the 31 votes for the majority to carry the motion. And Prime Minister Golding insisted that the Opposition bear the responsibility.
    It may have been a good political manoeuvre on the part of Prime Minister Golding, but irresponsible action for [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]governance[/COLOR][/COLOR], given what was at stake and with a scared Opposition agreeing to support an extension for 15 days. Mr Golding could then have used the next fortnight to rally his members to ensure any further extension of the emergency.
    We also believe it to have been irresponsible on Mr Golding's part to have taken the motion without assurance of the votes to carry it. Which brings us back to our suggestion for a credible and consistent forum, including a parliamentary committee within which to discuss security issues, and prevent the kind of debacle that occurred yesterday.
    So now, persons detained under the emergency power and against whom no charges can be laid immediately will have to released. Many are likely to have a good laugh at the Jamaican people for the inept leadership we tolerate.

Fo what reason would the jlp have to end the SOE? Surely a reduction of crime is of benefit to them?

The PNP just saw an opportunity to scupper the governments wishes without thinking about the consequences. I wonder who's "bright" idea this was?

No it's more than that: both parties are working against the interest of the people. Ask why weren't there enough JLP MPs present to push the bill forward. When it serves the JLP's interest all and sundry is in Gordon house to overide any motion.

The people must take note and ask for a radical change.

Originally posted by MissLondon View Post
        Fo what reason would the jlp have to end the SOE? Surely a reduction of crime is of benefit to them?

The PNP just saw an opportunity to scupper the governments wishes without thinking about the consequences. I wonder who's "bright" idea this was?
        Pick yuh choice! Heard Lisa Hanna explaining that if the gov't had requested 15 days ... yada yada yada .... heard Peter Bunting talking as if he is more of a crime expert than everybody else.

At midnight on July 19th, 45 ppl were murdered in Jamaica .. a way has to be found to try and stop this. As one comrade said on September 8th, 2007 "I cannot afford to see this gov't succeed!"

Agree with you here.

Cant treat this like a football!

yada yada?!? what exactly was she saying? was it reasonable?

tell the G2K that!

PNP Offered 15 day extension now and another 15 if needed. They also wanted to hear directly from the CP and the JDF Chief. That is not unreasonable since a previous CP and JDF later claimed that they never ask for a state of emegency (was that 1976?)

Bruce trick the PNP big time.

Prime Minister Bruce Golding will this morning huddle with the police and army chiefs to craft adjustments to their massive anti-crime initiative in the wake of the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]Government's[/COLOR][/COLOR] failure yesterday to get enough votes to green-light an extension of the state of public emergency in the Corporate Area and St Catherine.
                Golding, on the request of the heads of the security forces, was seeking to extend the emergency regime until August 21.
                However, with six government members not on the island, the Labourites needed support from the Opposition People's National Party (PNP) to [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]secure[/COLOR][/COLOR] the extension.
                Under the Constitution, at least 31 of the 60 members of parliament (MP) must give the thumbs up for a state of public emergency to be extended. There are 32 government members in the House of Representatives.
                Despite political gymnastics, a stone-faced Golding and a more than 20-minute consultation between senior members of both parties, no consensus could be reached. All 25 government ministers present voted for the extension while the 18 opposition members in chamber abstained. Seventeen members were absent.
                Charles' rebuke
                "Shame!" Cabinet minister Pearnel Charles shouted as the results of the vote were read by stand-in Speaker Gregory Mair.
                "You are against the [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]security[/COLOR][/COLOR] forces who are sacrificing their lives," the labour minister added, while pointing in the direction of Peter Bunting, opposition spokesman on national security.
                Earlier, Golding pressed Parliament to [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]grant[/COLOR][/COLOR] the approval. He referred to a downward trend in murder figures since the measure was first implemented in May.
                "We would be playing Russian roulette with the country's security. We would be risking a regression from the significant advances that have been made if, in the face of the recommendations of the security forces, we are to say, 'Enough is enough, this is as far as we are prepared to go'," Golding said.
                However, the Opposition, during the debate on the motion, argued that there was no need for a one-month extension.
                Bunting and Opposition Leader Portia Simpson Miller said they were prepared to allow an extension until July 31 to allow for winding-down operations.
                Golding, however, ignored the suggestion, arguing that the security forces would not be able to take on some tasks without those special powers.
                Uneasy opposition
                As it got closer to the vote, some opposition MPs moved from seat to seat trying to convince others not to be swayed by Golding. Among those uneasy was Fitz Jackson, MP for South St Catherine, who was instructed by Simpson Miller to abstain.
                Then came the clearest sign that the parliamentary Opposition feared a political backlash for appearing to be soft on crime.
                "We are interested in seeing this matter resolved to the betterment of all and I am suggesting, on behalf of the Opposition, before you put the matter to the vote, that we have a short consultation," Derrick Kellier, leader of opposition business in the Lower [COLOR=blue !important][COLOR=blue !important]House[/COLOR][/COLOR], said.
                A 10-minute recess was granted but members took twice as much time in an attempt to break the deadlock. The result: still no deal.
                Bunting later told journalists at a hastily convened press briefing that the Opposition was prepared to have the state of emergency extended beyond Independence Day, August 6.
                "We offered to accept a compromise position of an extension for 15 days and during this time we would ask to have a briefing from the minister of national security, as well as the chief of defence staff and the commissioner of police.
                "We would be prepared, if we felt it was justified, to extend for a further 15 days to achieve the 30 days that had been requested. The Government took the position that either we agree to the 30-day extension at one shot or there is nothing at all," Bunting said.
                Murder reduction
                According to police data, from January to May, 737 murders were committed at a rate of 147 per month or five per day.
                Ninety-two murders were committed in June. The year's homicide toll up to July 20 was 876.
                "The effort and the measures that have been used to bring about these reductions are measures that must be sustained, at least for the immediate, to continue that process because the security forces have made it clear to me that the nature of the operations that are being carried out would be severely hampered if there is a curtailment," Golding said.
                However, Maxine Henry-Wilson, opposition backbencher, lamented that the statistics presented by the Government were not sufficiently cogent to support its call.
                "We are not against the police having the power to do whatever they need. We are not against a state of emergency per se. What we are saying is that we want to be able to take decisions from an informed perspective," Henry-Wilson said.
                daraine.luton@gleanerjm.com

Not difficult for Bruce to trick anyone. Liars are good at that!

"We offered to accept a compromise position of an extension for 15 days and during this time we would ask to have a briefing from the minister of national security, as well as the chief of defence staff and the commissioner of police.
                  "We would be prepared, if we felt it was justified, to extend for a further 15 days to achieve the 30 days that had been requested. The Government took the position that either we agree to the 30-day extension at one shot or there is nothing at all," Bunting said.
                  Reasonable enuff for me.

Steeupps, bickering over 15 days?

You eida vote fi di 30 days or say no. Picking a needless fight for nothing. Cant be doing this crap every 15 days. To me it should be reviewed on a 3 months basis, such is our crime situation.

Steeuups again.

Yes, you are well within you rights to call him a liad and ting. No problem there. However to run go cannonize the other side and hold them blameless is foolhardy. Dem easy to trick cause dem not thinking or acting smart. Too obsessed with an early return to power. Pwer fi the sake of power.

They should busy themselves in this time with some soul searching and understanding how they screwed up the last 15 years of their tenure. They should also do nuff introspection and self clarification, so when they do come back, they will hit the ground running with a lot to offer. instead we get mainly cantankerousness and pretty slogans like Progressive Agenda.

Dem vacuous! Dont give them any slack, even as you flay the Gelding.

Fi what?

All dem peripheral orgs mean nothing. I never pay them any mind.

Mouth mek fi talk!

Dr. Gomes was not for its extension either. I don't mind taking refuge under her skirt!

If they were offering 15 days and then another 15 days if need be, why not agree to the full 30 days? The PNP unanimously abstained because of 15 days, that there will to offer if necessary? That is reasonable?

given the govt's lack of a crime plan and full details of what has so far transpired, not to mention the very good argument as to how come no politician on either side has been declared a person of interest - yes, pretty reasonable to me!

SOE is not a crime fighting tool in and of itself!