Gleaner 2003 - Bruce Golding on State of Emergency?

• Gleaner 2003 - Bruce Golding on State of Emergency?

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean.../letters1.html

We should all resist State of Emergency
    published: Thursday | October 9, 2003

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    MR. KINGSLEY Thomas has now joined Professor Don Robotham in the call for a state of emergency to deal with the current crime level.

Neither of them is likely to be detained without charge for being "a threat to national security". Nor any of their children, for that matter. And if, by some misadventure, it were to happen, a simple phone call would take care of that.

The poor who live in our inner cities, most of whom are no less law-abiding than Mr. Thomas or Professor Robotham, have no such assurance and no such privilege. Every so often the police detain scores of people who are first locked up then "processed" and later released. Why?

Because the police have no evidence on which to charge them. Under the Thomas-Robotham plan, the police would simply detain and lock up. No need for any "processing"! No need for any evidence! No need for any trial!

The gates are flung wide open for corrupt policemen to "deal with" individuals with whom they have a dispute and for a corrupt government to "deal with" its political opponents with whom it always has a dispute.

The PNP has never acknowledged the abuses that it perpetrated against hundreds of persons, including JLP supporters, in the 1976 state of emergency. It has never even been able to justify (or even attempted to) the detention of Pearnel Charles, Babsy Grange, Pat Stephens, Ferdie Yap, Ray Miles, Karram Josephs, Edwin Singh, George Lazarus, Keith Steele or the hundreds of other persons who were simply rounded up and thrown into detention camp.

Prime Minister Patterson was a member of the Cabinet at that time! Several others in the present government were actively involved with the PNP at that time. The then Minister of National Security signed blank detention orders so that others could "fill in the names". Who, other than the likes of Kingsley Thomas and Don Robotham, can trust these same people to administer a state of emergency impartially even if it were deemed necessary?

The atrocities that were perpetrated by the government in the state of emergency of 1976 must never be allowed to happen again! They will never be allowed to happen again!

I am, etc., BRUCE GOLDING
    Last edited by Karl; July 25, 2010, 02:30 PM.

Are all you people drinking from the same cup? Was the SoE necessary? Suh why the spin?

You an Likle Brucie tek people fi fool!

Has the security forces reacted to the "contrived...by Likle Brucie...Tivoli threat? Did they kill 70+ and restored calm?

So why not look at Likle Brucie's statements when there are no attacks on policce stations or barricading of communities? The same type climate such as it was when he made that statement?

Why this 'new' State of Emergency?
      Unnh tek people fi fool!

You an Likle Brucie tek people fi fool!

Has the security forces reacted to the "contrived...by Likle Brucie...Tivoli threat? Did they kill 70+ and restored calm?

So why not look at Likle Brucie's statements when there are no attacks on policce stations or barricading of communities? The same type climate such as it was when he made that statement?

Why this 'new' State of Emergency?
        Unnh tek people fi fool!
        I've told you time and again. Nobody has to take y'all for fools .... y'all did the job without assistance.

Since you haven't been paying attention, the police and military requested the 30 days extension. Like some comrades think, are you more of an expert at law enforcement than the JCF and the JDF?

Why are you still here, Bruce? You here 4 decade! WHY!? LEAVE NOW! 4 DECADE!

Nothing new here; you should hear Bruce on Dudus prior to May.

and people have the nerve to ask who would replace him if he resigns?!?!? even Maudib not so brucegoldious!

Yuh mean the whole cabinet. This is serious and people just sit and take it for a joke. Imagine the same man that bruce said had rights is now being tried in NY. Nuh fret more to come though.

If this had happened in London, MissLondon would not be asking who would replace the PM. A coulda Boy George!

But is Jamaica!

Did I mention how much I am enjoying this ?

Almost feel guilty..

Did I mention how much I am enjoying this ?

Almost feel guilty..

Why are you enjoying it? Are you ready to admit that Bruce delivered a political master stroke by calling a vote with the PNP having a majority in the house and therefore forced to take responsibility for whatever the outcome of the vote?