• Gelding respects "The will of Parliament"

wooiee mi belly!

PM chose not to ‘defy Parliament’ for new State of Emergency

Jamaica Observer

Thursday, July 29, 2010

PRIME Minister Bruce Golding said he chose not to ‘defy Parliament’ by using the technical route to impose a new State of Emergency (SOE), after Government failed to get enough votes to extend the limited SOE.

Speaking on his monthly radio programme Jamaica House Live last night, Golding said if Government had gone to the governor general for permission to begin a new State of Emergency, it would in effect be “a defiance of Parliament”.

“Any further extension must be approved by Parliament and if Parliament took a decision not to approve a further extension I would tread very cautiously about using the technical route to say, well, we can impose a new State of Emergency,” Golding said.

“The Constitution allows Cabinet to advise the governor general to impose a State of Emergency for a period not exceeding one month. And therefore my position is: there would have to be extraordinary reasons that would arise, subsequent to the expiration, for me to feel that I am on strong constitutional grounds to seek Cabinet’s authorisation and thereafter to advise the governor general,” he said.

With the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) short six of its MPs last week, the People's National Party (PNP) members abstained en bloc, effectively defeating the Government's motion to extend the limited State of Emergency by a month.

The motion needed at least 31 votes to pass, but though it received all 25 from the JLP, it was not enough against the 18 abstentions by the PNP.

Golding, meanwhile, said the country must not rely on a State of Emergency to achieve ongoing law and order.

“We were very clear in our minds that the state of emergency could not continue, not just that it couldn’t continue indefinitely, it could not continue for any prolonged period of time, because a society must never become accustomed to living under emergency powers. It is not good. It is not good for the security forces to become so accustomed to relying on security powers that it becomes the routine means of dealing with criminal behaviour but there is no doubt that the security forces started a mighty job and they achieved some positive results,” Golding said.

... funny, people continue to make this man out to be some villian, yet the same idiots idolize a PM that used a SoE to secure victory at the polls. Conflicted souls.

yuh eva si anyting widout a JLP vs PNP context??

sheesh!!!

yuh epitomize what's wrong wid Jamaicans.....tribalism

but mi dying trial!

yuh eva si anyting widout a JLP vs PNP context??

sheesh!!!

yuh epitomize what's wrong wid Jamaicans.....tribalism
          Mi touch a nerve? I guess the stone caught you... but as the saying goes ... the truth hurts ... hush.

yeah mi nuh respek di tribal ting...unnu fi tek whey unnuself

Who on this forum is more tribal than you? If someone says someting yuh uncomfortable with yuh call dem tribal ... well ... speaking the truth isn't tribal comrade, suh continue with yuh PNP propoganda, others will pay attention to reality.

... funny, people continue to make this man out to be some villian, yet the same idiots idolize a PM that used a SoE to secure victory at the polls. Conflicted souls.
                You really are incredible. The PNP fffed up big time to my mind by not voting for the SOE. However, the Crime minister's talk of respecting the will of parliament is pure double-speak plain and simple. It must be now obvious to all that more than the PNP the JLP did not want an extensioon of the SOE. Let us accept the JLP's explanation that the fact that six JLP MPs were off the island at the time of the vote was merely coincidence. The JLP has a majority in parliament of 32 to 28. The SOE requires 31 MPs to vote in favour. At any time subsequent to the last vote the JLP can reflect the "will" of parliament by bringing it to a vote and passing it. If one reads the Crime minister statements carefully he obviously does not want to. Try and ask yourself why. All the rest is about who get's the blame.

I think the Crime Minister will want to take back his words. Smcks of the highest form of hypocrisy!

You know, Bruised Gelding, Person of Interest No. 1, cannot do anything to disappoint me any more. He is the slime of the frikking gutter!

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    You really are incredible. The PNP fffed up big time to my mind by not voting for the SOE. However, the Crime minister's talk of respecting the will of parliament is pure double-speak plain and simple. It must be now obvious to all that more than the PNP the JLP did not want an extensioon of the SOE. Let us accept the JLP's explanation that the fact that six JLP MPs were off the island at the time of the vote was merely coincidence. The JLP has a majority in parliament of 32 to 28. The SOE requires 31 MPs to vote in favour. At any time subsequent to the last vote the JLP can reflect the "will" of parliament by bringing it to a vote and passing it. If one reads the Crime minister statements carefully he obviously does not want to. Try and ask yourself why. All the rest is about who get's the blame.
                    onspiracy theories and speculation seems to be the in thing. I guess you also buy the argument that the 4 killed in Bog Walk was a plot by the gov't.

wooiee mi belly!

PM chose not to ‘defy Parliament’ for new State of Emergency

Jamaica Observer

Thursday, July 29, 2010

PRIME Minister Bruce Golding said he chose not to ‘defy Parliament’ by using the technical route to impose a new State of Emergency (SOE), after Government failed to get enough votes to extend the limited SOE.

Speaking on his monthly radio programme Jamaica House Live last night, Golding said if Government had gone to the governor general for permission to begin a new State of Emergency, it would in effect be “a defiance of Parliament”.

“Any further extension must be approved by Parliament and if Parliament took a decision not to approve a further extension I would tread very cautiously about using the technical route to say, well, we can impose a new State of Emergency,” Golding said.

“The Constitution allows Cabinet to advise the governor general to impose a State of Emergency for a period not exceeding one month. And therefore my position is: there would have to be extraordinary reasons that would arise, subsequent to the expiration, for me to feel that I am on strong constitutional grounds to seek Cabinet’s authorisation and thereafter to advise the governor general,” he said.

With the governing Jamaica Labour Party (JLP) short six of its MPs last week, the People's National Party (PNP) members abstained en bloc, effectively defeating the Government's motion to extend the limited State of Emergency by a month.

The motion needed at least 31 votes to pass, but though it received all 25 from the JLP, it was not enough against the 18 abstentions by the PNP.

Golding, meanwhile, said the country must not rely on a State of Emergency to achieve ongoing law and order.

“We were very clear in our minds that the state of emergency could not continue, not just that it couldn’t continue indefinitely, it could not continue for any prolonged period of time, because a society must never become accustomed to living under emergency powers. It is not good. It is not good for the security forces to become so accustomed to relying on security powers that it becomes the routine means of dealing with criminal behaviour but there is no doubt that the security forces started a mighty job and they achieved some positive results,” Golding said.
                      That means at least two of the 32 JLP MPs dont really want a SOE

Who on this forum is more tribal than you? If someone says someting yuh uncomfortable with yuh call dem tribal ... well ... speaking the truth isn't tribal comrade, suh continue with yuh PNP propoganda, others will pay attention to reality.
                        utter crap....your usual currency

how can any reasonably intelligent people trust this man as a leader... does this sound like a man who wanted to extend the soe...

it is apparent that this is a leader who lacks conviction... cannot assume responsibility for the tough decisions... instead he tries to blame the pnp for the collapse of the soe... it is obvious that he doesn't respect the jamaican people... in less than a week he is making the same poing as the pnp made for abstaining on the soe vote... obfuscation is his modus operandi... bruce is a chronic lyad... no credibility... where is the media to challenge bruce goldious...

it is only a pity that the pnp isn't thinking strategically and aren't adept at communicating with the people without coming across as petty...

What a load of nonesene! Jamaica desperately needs a third party. These people are clueless!

Well, we agree there.

And dem cuss mi when I voted for the Rasta Party!