The need to develop and 'export' our 'brain power' v the..

• The need to develop and 'export' our 'brain power' v the..

. the old silly thoughts of 'brain drain'?

----------

At least 3 times since this web site was created I put forward the thought that all things considered, we in Jamaica should push mightily to educate our people in ways that would lead to vast numbers finding employment 'outside' of the island. Sell our skill services (skills and services). Have our 'graduates' in demand world-wide and supply graduates to satisfy some of that need (satisfy graduates as best suits us).

It does not necessarily mean all our 'brains' follow bodies out of the island. It must mean what we offer is desired outside of the island and bought by interests outside of the island. It would also mean that if the bodies reside here then that 'brain power' by itself and collaboration with 'brains' outside of he island would also be available to the country, not only on the level of foreign exchange earned but actual input in local economic development.

On this forum each time I have advanced this idea it was shot down by shouts of 'brain drain'.

Here below is a letter expressing some concerns that fit within my thoughts on where we could sink if investments in education that provide outlets for the vast hordes leaving our institutions each and every year to join our masses of underemployed and unemployed is not reduced.

----

The chickens are coming home to roost
    Wednesday, August 04, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

Dear Editor,
    In recent days I read of the "100 per cent increase" in tertiary tuition in the Gleaner. The minister of education responded urgently and appropriately, "No 100 per cent increase in tertiary fees" (Observer, July 30). In spite of the minister's statement, there will be significant increase in the cost of tertiary education. The chickens are coming home to roost.

This explains that what we are experiencing now are the dictates of globalisation, WTO/GATS in urging the government to reduce "social" spending, especially in the area of tertiary education, calling for the "transformation" of this area from a "public good" to "private goods". This approach has opened this sensitive area regarding national development and the development to the "invisible hands" and "market forces". It is important to know that one of the most dominant forms of foreign exchange earnings for Britain and the USA is in the area of returns on selling of services, especially in the area of education by way of correspondence courses and distance learning. If education is the concern of all the citizens, then we must begin to play a more active role in this process.

The Jamaican government, like many other developing nations, went to the unforgettable Seattle globalisation conference in the winter of 1999 and signed treaties to privatise everything in the state reserve, except the government ministries. We have a strange history: we went though slavery and colonialism - during these times the interests of foreigners in terms of national ownership was at its peak; our free labour built the Western empires and it destroyed Africa: we gave away bauxite - the major mineral resource of Jamaica; we gave it away and it built civilisations in Canada and the USA; and today we are selling the rest of what was left which includes service-like areas such as education. Public education as "public good" is under threat. We must rise as we celebrate another occasion of Emancipation and Independence to struggle for and defend public education. Now is the time that Jamaica needs a strong tertiary sector; not less tertiary, but more.

The chickens are coming home to roost, we are feeling extreme pressures from the public utilities, especially light and water. Each year, for the past few years, the different costs for state services related to motor vehicles increase significantly. For example, recently I went to the Constant Spring Collectorate to pay for the Certificate of Fitness and there was an increase of $1,000, moving from $1,500 to $2,500. The high taxation is beyond toleration - what is in all these increases for the people? Recall the level of high taxation in the 1865 period and the consequences. The matter of taxation is sensitive. How far have we journeyed from slavery? If we are not proud of what we have now, we cannot continue to remain silent. The time has come for our voices to be heard. It can only be heard if we "speak up". It was not our silence that led our great struggles for freedom.
    Louis EA Moyston

Kingston 8

thearchives01@yahoo.com

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...-roost_7846613

PS: I still do not understand why the 'brain drain' converts consider producing the quality graduates to satisfy our local needs on all fronts - local needs on expertise needed in local industry and other local spheres + 'export' - is terrible for the island. I am
    Last edited by Karl; August 4, 2010, 08:03 AM.

You are really confused to be trying to refute a FACT.

The model that has been practiced in Jamaica as it regards the movement of an intellectual class seeking opportunity outside of Jamaica HAS BEEN and continues to be a brain drain.

It was not an organized strategy to 'sell' the services of our trained people to the international market.

If that was the case then our coffers would not be filled with the lowest value add of Remittance Money but rather the normal flows one would expect from Taxation on income as well as increase in bank deposits as pay checks flow into local accounts/economy.

"Human capital flight, more commonly referred to as "brain drain", is the large-scale emigration of individuals with technical skills or knowledge; it is normally due to conflict, lack of opportunity, political instability, or health risks. Although the term originally referred to technology workers leaving a nation, the meaning has broadened into: "the departure of educated or professional people from one country, economic sector, or field for another, usually for better pay or living conditions".[1] Brain drain is usually regarded as an economic cost, since emigrants usually take with them the fraction of value of their training sponsored by the government or other organizations. It is a parallel of capital flight, which refers to the same movement of financial capital. Brain drain is often associated with de-skilling of emigrants in their country of destination, while their country of emigration experiences the draining of skilled individuals."

Now please stop making an a s s of yourself on this matter.

Thank you.

You are really confused to be trying to refute a FACT.

The model that has been practiced in Jamaica as it regards the movement of an intellectual class seeking opportunity outside of Jamaica HAS BEEN and continues to be a brain drain.

It was not an organized strategy to 'sell' the services of our trained people to the international market.

If that was the case then our coffers would not be filled with the lowest value add of Remittance Money but rather the normal flows one would expect from Taxation on income as well as increase in bank deposits as pay checks flow into local accounts/economy.

"Human capital flight, more commonly referred to as "brain drain", is the large-scale emigration of individuals with technical skills or knowledge; it is normally due to conflict, lack of opportunity, political instability, or health risks. Although the term originally referred to technology workers leaving a nation, the meaning has broadened into: "the departure of educated or professional people from one country, economic sector, or field for another, usually for better pay or living conditions".[1] Brain drain is usually regarded as an economic cost, since emigrants usually take with them the fraction of value of their training sponsored by the government or other organizations. It is a parallel of capital flight, which refers to the same movement of financial capital. Brain drain is often associated with de-skilling of emigrants in their country of destination, while their country of emigration experiences the draining of skilled individuals."

Now please stop making an a s s of yourself on this matter.

Thank you.
      http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/forum1/s...ple#post217467

Do not come with your revision of the argument. The proposed was that we target 'export' of our people by 'ramping up' education systems to satisfy our local needs and export the surplus/those for whom our country could not find meaningful local opportunities.
      Last edited by Karl; August 4, 2010, 11:04 PM.

good word

developing brain power to drive innovation to create value adding products and services from Jamaica is 110% the way to go....

Exactly what our Digital Yard project is all about... trying to build that intellectual capacity inna di yutes dem..
        Last edited by Don1; August 4, 2010, 11:35 PM.

What 'silly thoughts' of Brain drain are you referring to ?

The reality of what has obtained ? Those 'silly thoughts' ?