• JLP irresponsibility, Tivoli turkey shoot, the police

JLP irresponsibility, Tivoli turkey shoot, the police
    Franklin Johnston

Friday, August 06, 2010

A State of Emergency is a respite but it's not much help in solving crimes. I vote for the extension as it makes my granny sleep better. Bruce has a mandate but he won't govern! Failure to extend the State of Emergency is not the PNP's fault. The JLP is irresponsible or conniving to not order its MPs to attend the House and vote! Which other policy will it abandon and blame the PNP? We pay MPs to be there! Even so, why not accept the 15 days and get its MPs out by then? The JLP chose to play politics. We are all in grave danger! Do not disturb the ants' nest if you don't intend to finish the job.

Crime goes down around every State of Emergency, but it never lasts. And how the JCF used this State of Emergency raises major questions as to their ability to protect its men, us and its detectives to solve crimes.

Few of us criticise the police. We all tiptoe around them more out of fear than respect. There are a few bad eggs, but the JCF as a whole is failing.

Yes, murders fell. Why? You answer this! Was the lull in crime caused by the State of Emergency or because we deployed three times the usual number of officers to occupy troubled communities 24/7? Did murders fall during the State of Emergency because of good detective work? No siree!

Commissioner, teach us some more!

GOLDING... plays politics with our lives.
    1/1
    In a State of Emergency the police can act without the usual shackle of law - they don't need the normal paperwork, etc. Right? The magic of a State of Emergency is "shock and awe", that's all! It frightens bad men and reassures good people. This State of Emergency was poorly used. The goal to kill or capture murderers, detain suspects, do searches and solve dozens of major crimes was not met. It failed miserably! A State of Emergency has no value in solving crimes except in three scenarios:

(1) Where the police know the hideouts; the "rout" gets criminals to retreat, to be corralled, and taken dead or alive. The cops do not know the hideouts so this chance was wasted.

(2) Where the police know the suspects, have little evidence and need a State of Emergency to detain and buy time to build a case. They had no real suspects, the trawl pulled in 4,000. But in mass detentions, the album with pictures of the 500 men detectives want to find is the key. Not here! They had to "net fish" as they don't know what a Kingfish looks like!

(3) Where the State of Emergency is a ploy to calm public fears and scatter the criminals. The State of Emergency was as per the PM, a "rout" to make granny feel good, scare the "small fry" and scatter hard-back killers. The unintended consequence? The virus is now everywhere! Thanks, Bruce!
    His claim to be winning the "battle", that "criminal networks have been disrupted" and of "game changing" is fanciful. Just tell us: "Be resolute, band together and defend your granny!" Now, check the police scorecard:

How many of the 9,000 murders since 2004 were by the Tivoli 73? Which detainees are charged for murders committed before 2010? Bruce speaks of "the courts and DPP...fast-tracking the trial of cases involving serious crimes and high-profile offenders". Which are these cases? Will the DPP please tell us?

The JCF suffers delusions of adequacy! One hundred per cent of our crime is committed by 1 per cent of us. What's the problem? They got a State of Emergency to catch one man - Dudus. They went into the confined Tivoli turkey coop, used brute force against puny opposition and bagged 73 - no Dudus! Great police work? Big deal! They didn't need a State of Emergency to do this. They can do a turkey shoot any day they put pressure on Bruce - as the US did - to sign papers; cordon, detain, etc. But a State of Emergency is not and cannot replace detective work! Now, back to the scorecard:

*Have they caught the most wanted men whose photos they put out weeks ago? If they can't catch those they know, how can they catch those they don't?

*What does the Tivoli spent-shell analysis say - types of gun, rounds fired at police etc?

*Did they detain even one suspect for each of the 9,000 murders? No! What do detectives do? They detain a dozen tame dons! Great work! Give them medals and OJs!

*What has 20 years of detective work produced? Curry goat and beer belly? We need an external case audit of detectives! They now build cases against 50 people, only 50? Not even one per detective on the JCF payroll! Divide into 9,000. Is " nuff serial killer dat"! Did each detective have files on even 30 suspects, just waiting for a State of Emergency to haul them in, beat the crap out of them and get confessions (a metaphor)? The brave rank-and-file officers are let down by detectives. Bro Dwight, trust your instinct and make changes!

*The police have the materiel they need. For 35 years they ask for men, cars, guns and got them. Where is the dazzling detective work and results we expect in return? Check the spent shells. The criminals do not outgun the police, they out-think the police!

*They are masters of hype, thrive on each State of Emergency, kill citizens to satisfy our bloodlust, and sadly we applaud them. Why aid and abet this regular cycle of ritual police killings? Why not demand good detective work? The nation is in thrall to the JCF. We need my proposed elite second force to be truly secure. Bruce needs an option to end this tyranny of the inept. Let us call a spade a shovel! Detectives' performance sucks! Do something!
    Tips for the JCF
    (1) The police should wear tropical balaclavas in extreme close action. A person may "mark" an officer's face and cause bad blood and reprisals. Police need cool daytime face masking and two-inch ID numbers on their uniforms.

(2) Heavy window tint on cars is a security risk. Police need tint meters (measures clarity or opacity), the size of a cellphone. Press it on the window, activate and read. In London, if it shows less than 70 per cent light penetration the fine is £2,000. Minister Shaw, pledge the revenue to buy police cars and illegal tint will disappear! Even from police buses!

(3) Forensic archaeology. Historians know our detritus says a lot about us. The job of waste auditor and profiler stinks, but is well paid. Household garbage tells everything about us: a "gold mine" of consumer profiles for marketing firms, and like buried human remains are indespensable to solving crime. The JCF needs help, just not the kind they ask for.

(4) The UK is increasing special constables by 400 per cent to help the police. Security-cleared people, as firearms holders are ready-made for this. Why does the JCF resist this here?

(5) We need a private "national security think tank". The state has local experience but not broad policy, strategic and tactical vision. Over to the PSOJ! Mr PM, you play politics with our lives. The JLP has 32 votes in the House and can vote in a State of Emergency any day you want for as long as you want up to election 2012! Why not? Stay conscious, my friend!

Dr Franklin Johnston is an international project manager with Teape-Johnston Consultants currently on assignment in the UK.
    franklinjohnston@hotmail.com

My police friend, who is a detective, told me this week that the JCF does not investigate crimes.

As for that recent killing of the Spanish Town-based cop by that wicked 17 year old youth from Ellerslie Pen...all mi a tell unnu, remember what Les Greeen said about many of the police killed on the job.

But mi think with the Shower gone 40% crime gone?

Nobody think the State of Emergency was going to be forever but it just gave the police a little more time to weed out a few.

My police friend, who is a detective, told me this week that the JCF does not investigate crimes.

As for that recent killing of the Spanish Town-based cop by that wicked 17 year old youth from Ellerslie Pen...all mi a tell unnu, remember what Les Greeen said about many of the police killed on the job.

What did he say, please refresh our memories.

http://mobile.jamaica-gleaner.com/20.../cleisure2.php

Thanks Mo. BTW how yuh spending yuh Independence day

wid fambily and friends, about to leave the house but i think our options are limited as it is raining.

PJ friend dem nuh fat enough yet ?

Dem mussi board to r a s s..