• Newsweek: Jamaica best place in Caribbean

Newsweek: Jamaica best place in Caribbean
    Ranked 47th out of 100 countries worldwide
    Jamaica Observer
    Thursday, August 19, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

JAMAICA is the top-ranked Caribbean nation to live in terms of education, health, quality of life, economic competitiveness, and political environment, according to Newsweek magazine.
    Assisted by experts including Nobel Prize-winning economist Joseph E Stiglitz, the magazine compiled metrics across those five categories, which ranked the island 47th, three places above Cuba, among 100 countries surveyed.
    Newsweek's first-ever Best Countries special issue attempted to answer the question, "…if you were born today, which country would provide you the very best opportunity to live a healthy, safe, reasonably prosperous, and upwardly mobile life?"
    The survey will be welcome news for tourism authorities who have been struggling to rebuild Jamaica's image following the civil unrest in West Kingston in May. During this time some hotels in the capital reported that occupancy had fallen to zero levels.
    Since that time the Jamaica Observer has been approved by Vogue magazine to participate in this year's global Fashion's Night Out on September 10, when for five hours, participating stores across Jamaica will be slashing their prices.

Clearly Gelding is the cause of this strangely positive report.... after all he is the guy in power now..

I have a team that is committed etc etc
    Last edited by Don1; August 19, 2010, 03:39 PM.

Mi juss a sit back and watch di ride..

Your ilk will soon fade away.. di likkle recession give yuh breathing room.. but that too shall end..

Faade Away..

vroom vroom!

LOL, they should check the data at the US embassy.

I wonder how much 'safety' negatively affected Jamaica's ranking?

Or how high the other scores were to compensate! LoL

Well yes that too!

Just highlights how much crime drags down Jamaica. Where would Jamica rank if crime was significantly lower?

crime committed by civilians or police?

Crime!

Agreed! I have always said, crime is crime, no matter who does it!

Newsweek: Jamaica best place in Caribbean
                        Ranked 47th out of 100 countries worldwide
                        Jamaica Observer
                        Thursday, August 19, 2010

var addthis_pub="jamaicaobserver";

JAMAICA is the top-ranked Caribbean nation to live in terms of education, health, quality of life, economic competitiveness, and political environment, according to Newsweek magazine.
                        Assisted by experts including Nobel Prize-winning economist Joseph E Stiglitz, the magazine compiled metrics across those five categories, which ranked the island 47th, three places above Cuba, among 100 countries surveyed.
                        Newsweek's first-ever Best Countries special issue attempted to answer the question, "…if you were born today, which country would provide you the very best opportunity to live a healthy, safe, reasonably prosperous, and upwardly mobile life?"
                        The survey will be welcome news for tourism authorities who have been struggling to rebuild Jamaica's image following the civil unrest in West Kingston in May. During this time some hotels in the capital reported that occupancy had fallen to zero levels.
                        Since that time the Jamaica Observer has been approved by Vogue magazine to participate in this year's global Fashion's Night Out on September 10, when for five hours, participating stores across Jamaica will be slashing their prices.

Personally I believe Stiglitz was smoking a big head spliff throughout his survey.

Jamaica has the most "vibes' in the Caribbean...maybe the world.... but on the metrics he based his rating on Jamaica is far from the "best" in the region... in fact we lag quite a few other nations imho

BTW.... why the Newsletter's excellent Fashion Night Out promotion merits a mention in a piece like this is a mystery....

True, but if it stops Hitler in his tracks before genocide, who aggo bawl but him modda?

only 100 countries made the list, so....

best in the Caribbean list?