• Defrauded Olint investors nervous as US moves to corral $$$$

Olint investors threaten suit

Published: Saturday | August 21, 2010

A GROUP calling itself the Association of Concerned Olint Members (ACOM) says it may bring a class action in the United States as a result of the indictment of Olint boss David Smith.

The US this week indicted Smith to stand trial for 23 criminal charges, including money laundering.

But ACOM says the United States' declaration of interest in Olint, based on the allegation that it is laundered money, means that "there is the likelihood of the money not being returned to its rightful owners".

"We are now seeking legal advice as to how best to thwart such an eventuality, and are not ruling out a class action in the USA," the group said.

Smith is currently facing fraud charges in the Turks and Caicos Islands (TCI) where he now resides.

Not surprised

Yesterday, ACOM said it was not surprised by the indictment in the US. It said the US had been working to get through to Smith.

"It is ominous that the combined resources of the United Kingdom, the United States and the TCI have to date failed to present Mr David Smith with his "day in court".

Instead, the prosecution, having arrested Mr Smith and having secured an order that has frozen his assets worldwide, seems afraid to test its accusations against the scrutiny of defence examination in a court of law," ACOM said.

"We have no reason at this stage to feel that the well-choreographed and strategically timed entry of the United States to the centre stage of this catastrophe will bring any different results than those we have seen to date," the group added.

ACOM claims that Smith "does have funds that belong to Olint members, and these funds cannot reach the hands of its owners for as long as David Smith is holed up in any court".

Babylon have bills to pay! What unno expect?

Olint made the news in Central Florida. Me neva even know they had an office here.

http://www.wftv.com/news/24692410/detail.html?taf=orlc

Well I guess it shows Jamaica has white collar criminals who are as global in thier reach as our blue collar criminals.

David will probably be offered a Wall Street job after he does his time, LOL.

Olint made the news in Central Florida. Me neva even know they had an office here.

http://www.wftv.com/news/24692410/detail.html?taf=orlc
          Wow di US connection luger dan wi did kno bout.

One bredda dida try get mi inna dat inna 2004 inna Jamaica... mi nah seh mi neva inna ponzi yet.. in fak mi did inna couple well wid ah 2 week payoff....but if mi nuh kno did man dem a top personal...figget it

if yuh did get involved in Olint from 2004, none a wi coulda talk to yuh now! Olint did deh bout from dem time deh?

Than you did know bout.

Anybody who know anything bout OLINT, know how big the foreign participation is.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                Than you did know bout.

Anybody who know anything bout OLINT, know how big the foreign participation is.
                ok...since YOU know...how big is the foreign participation? I would appreciate the specifics people in the know like you can provide...let's have a ballpark number or at least a %

mi nuh kno if di baby did bawn den...but come to tink furdah twas 2005

LOL. Maybe the feds or court docs will tell you. Is either you know the thing or you don't.

I guess then that you don't know as well

Yeah man. LOL

Nuh watch nutten maybe Butch will soon add it to the Newsletter so you can get the info.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                          Yeah man. LOL

Nuh watch nutten maybe Butch will soon add it to the Newsletter so you can get the info.