Examinations in Jamaica/Caribbean.
Your talk on patois is strong but studies have shown that learning latin has no bearing on one's prowes in the use of the english language.
Leave a comment:
The issue that ALMOST EVERYONE in Jamaica ignores is.....
Yes our education system is not doing well in producing the intended end product BUT...since the system is geared to the needs of say a 1980s economy...even if we were producing the intended product... WE WOULD STILL BE 30 YEARS BEHIND THE WORLD LEADERS.
Our system needs a fundamental re-focusing for the 21st Century KNOWLEDGE ECONOMY... the so called Info Age (which we missed) having passed
Leave a comment:
they are both important - future of children and forumites' opinions. why do you separate them?
Leave a comment:
So why yuh nuh post this too?
Hamerika BlackWalters
8/26/2010
Please do not run the risk of sounding as if everything has to be "hard" for us to achieve or that we still have to struggle for everything. Why can't we be happy for our children when they do well?
com_count++;Kerron B
8/26/2010
they said the same thing back in the 80s ... I practiced on early 80s and 70s math. papers thus scoring a distinction. So if its so easy parents should grab the opportunity to let your 9th graders do the exam and boost their confidence... then move on to A'O Mathematics the following year...
Leave a comment:
Thats true Mosiah, but the future of our children and country is more important that opinions of forumites.
Leave a comment:
we are all entitled to our opinions! it's a free forum! as long as you are not brucegoldious, you are welcome to post!
Leave a comment:
Its a very attractive argument Mosiah, albeit a rather weak one. S. Africal is a vast country which is an amalgamation of numerous tribes/nations, having different languages going back centuries. Jamaica is basically a tiny, almost homogenous society. In the case of Jamaica, the only reason to declare patois as an official language would be to mask the extensive rate of illiteracy in the true official language. It would be a cosmetic, feel-good thing. You would simply be soothing the egos of those who are either unwilling, or unable to learn English. Not a good thing.
They seem to have started to do a similar thing in maths, if Mr. James in Mobay is to be believed. The kids are too dunce, so make the test easier. Not a good thing. At the end of the day, we have to compete in a fiercely competitive world. Lets not voluntarily race to the bottom.
Leave a comment:
i srongly believe if we declare a language, first, make a clear distinction between it and English, we would be better off.
then, if we make it an official national language, it would go a long way of de-stigmatizing those who speak it naturally. and then we learn English as a foreign language, or a second language, distinct and separate.
i was impressed with South Africans, many of whom speak several native languages and perfect English at the same time. they have 11 official languages. if they can do it, we can too!
Leave a comment:
Mosiah, apart from probably writing ballot papers(which would be exactly what the party tribalists need), and cencus papers in patois, what other useful purpose would declaring patois as an official language of Jamaica serve?. You said we shouldn't have spelling bee in patois. I assume that if we declare patois as an official language, then it should be the language of instruction in physics, chemistry, information tech, civics, bible studies, mathematics etc throughout the school system. Do you think declaring patois as an official language would improve learning in Jamaican schools?. There is a natural experiment to disprove that going on right now 100 miles off our shores. It is called Haiti.
Decades ago Haiti had an educational system that was at least equal to an other English speaking Caribbean country. For a multiplicity of reasons the system broke down and illiteracy skyrocketed. The majority of the people fell back on patois. Patois was declared an official language of the country. Haitian patois is a far more developed language that our English patois. They have a well developed lexicon, and many of their books are written in that language. Did that improve overall learning in Haiti?. The answer is NO. In fact illiteracy has increased even further, with many people becoming illiterate even in patois. Mind what you wish for my brother, you might just get it.
Leave a comment: