Shame an Scandal in di Fambily..ah Yaad an Abroad
and it takes money to run this forum. if you would like to Advertise on this forum, please send a message to Tilla. He would be more than happy to take your business!
I am not used to be “limited” and I never usually accept unnecessary limitations. Every regular on this forum by now should know that I have a blog so that is why when there is a topic (like this one) that coincidentally is what I blogged about, I just invite everyone at their own will to “take a look.”Originally posted by Mosiah View Postwith all due respect to you and your blog, this forum is not here for you to big up your blog. if you are having a conversation with us, then please do.
i have not commented when you simply mention your blog, but the outright shove into our faces will not work.
i hope you understand.
If you or anyone else had a blog that did the same, I would have also invited people to check it out. I would also be a fool to be actively on a forum like this and not promote my blog…. I was born with business in my blood….
In any event, the what??… 2 weeks, was great!
Take care,
Garrison Child
Leave a comment:
with all due respect to you and your blog, this forum is not here for you to big up your blog. if you are having a conversation with us, then please do.
i have not commented when you simply mention your blog, but the outright shove into our faces will not work.
i hope you understand.
Leave a comment:
From in the 1970s and even before then, custom agents have always been aggressive with Jamaican visitors because they were always in search of ganja or people coming from Jamaica with fruits such as mangoes that back then they weren't allowed to bring into the country.Originally posted by MissLondon View PostGarrison Child, I liked your commentary, particularly, and I hope you don't mind me quoting, this part.
When did Jamaica become one of the moral authorities of the world? I have been living away from Jamaica for quite some time now and from I used to live in Jamaica and used to travel to other countries, Jamaica was always known for having the most “misbehaving” set of people. I have never taken a trip anywhere when I was living in Jamaica and upon arrival the custom agents have had great things to say about Jamaican visitors - sad but true.
You also want to tell me that it is because of the Manatt, Phelps & Phillips debacle that other countries don’t want to grant visas or entries to Jamaicans?
I heard this sentiment from a few people on here and it makes me wonder if they've ever set foot outside of Jamaica. Jamaica has been known as a violent, drug dealing, consuming place for decades. I remember an article in a British tabloid months before the dudus thing kicked off, talking about whether drug addict Amy Winehouse wanting to record in "druggies paradise" Jamaica was a good idea. A person commented to me when the security forces was looking for Dudus "but doesn't this happen all the time over there?". I corrected him of course, but that is the perception and it has been that way for a long time, from the 70s and 80s when gun battles raged on Kingston's streets like in old cowboy and Indian movies or when Jamaicans were forced to get visas to travel to England because they were accused of exporting drug dealers and gun men over here.
Come in through JFK and you have all kinds of dogs sniffing you for drugs and marijuana. I heard this Jamaican once telling the security officer "beg yuh mine yuh dawg an mi foot."
Leave a comment:
Wow ... is it for that reason they remained in office for almost 2 decades?Originally posted by Mosiah View Posti seem to remember a country that was not very happy with the PNP govt, but when they looked the other way, there was nothing but turmoil, insurrections and mutinies! what is a voter supposed to do?!?!?
Leave a comment:
I might be "defriended" todayOriginally posted by Garrison Child View PostThank you Miss London!
Some Jamaicans just cannot handle the truth. I mean, I like Betty Blaine. She's even my friend on FaceBook
.... I have also written a couple emails to her....
BTW, she's the one who befriended me on FaceBook and I immediately accepted
Betty...NOOOO!!
Leave a comment:
Thank you Miss London!Originally posted by MissLondon View PostGarrison Child, I liked your commentary, particularly, and I hope you don't mind me quoting, this part.
When did Jamaica become one of the moral authorities of the world? I have been living away from Jamaica for quite some time now and from I used to live in Jamaica and used to travel to other countries, Jamaica was always known for having the most “misbehaving” set of people. I have never taken a trip anywhere when I was living in Jamaica and upon arrival the custom agents have had great things to say about Jamaican visitors - sad but true.
You also want to tell me that it is because of the Manatt, Phelps & Phillips debacle that other countries don’t want to grant visas or entries to Jamaicans?
I heard this sentiment from a few people on here and it makes me wonder if they've ever set foot outside of Jamaica. Jamaica has been known as a violent, drug dealing, consuming place for decades. I remember an article in a British tabloid months before the dudus thing kicked off, talking about whether drug addict Amy Winehouse wanting to record in "druggies paradise" Jamaica was a good idea. A person commented to me when the security forces was looking for Dudus "but doesn't this happen all the time over there?". I corrected him of course, but that is the perception and it has been that way for a long time, from the 70s and 80s when gun battles raged on Kingston's streets like in old cowboy and Indian movies or when Jamaicans were forced to get visas to travel to England because they were accused of exporting drug dealers and gun men over here.
Some Jamaicans just cannot handle the truth. I mean, I like Betty Blaine. She's even my friend on FaceBook
.... I have also written a couple emails to her....
BTW, she's the one who befriended me on FaceBook and I immediately accepted
Leave a comment:
She has entered the political fray. Her stridancy increased in 2007 and intensified since she launched her religious party.
Leave a comment:
This might also not be one of my better responses since I am a bit “rushed” today…..
You stated:
"If you have travelled to many foreign countries and to these United States as often as you would want us to believe and have had the below always occur, as we would say, yuh bad lucky bad-bad!"
Where in my quote or in my complete commentary does it say "travelled to many foreign countries and to these United States":
Here’s what I said:
"I have never taken a trip anywhere when I was living in Jamaica and upon arrival the custom agents have had great things to say about Jamaican visitors - sad but true."
When extra security goes in place upon the arrival of a flight from or going to Jamaica, what does that mean? I am not "generalizing" that's a fact…… From Jamaicans claiming that their 20 pound carry-on bag is their pocket book to always going over the weight limit…..
The next thing is that my commentary is based on Betty Blaine's statement:
"I honestly don't think that the people of Jamaica deserve the kind of government that has evolved since 2007."
What is she trying to say?…… That there was no scandal, no crime (political genocide) before 2007? It’s ludicrous to think that this Manatt, Phelps & Phillips situation is the cause of all Jamaica’s problems.
BTW – As the convener of a new political party, what is her solution????
Leave a comment:
Garrison Child, I liked your commentary, particularly, and I hope you don't mind me quoting, this part.
Leave a comment:
That one is not up to your usual standard.Originally posted by Garrison Child View PostBetty Blaine “drew my tongue” on this one…. So today I responded like I see it on my blog. When you get a chance, I invite you to take a look. Here’s the link - http://childofthegarrison.com/2010/09/22/My_Commentary.aspx
It may excite the die-hard supporter of the government...but it does nothing to refuse most of the sentiments of Betty Blaine.
You are bang on the money about people (majority of the people) in other countries not dwelling on Bruce's transgressions...but so it is with the transgressions of all our past governments.
You also, unfortunately, fall into the same hole as Betty with the generalizations. If you have travelled to many foreign countries and to these United States as often as you would want us to believe and have had the below always occur, as we would say, yuh bad lucky bad-bad!
Many are the workers in immigration and customs who on finding I am Jamaican have brighter smiles and share good memories or just say 'nice' things about our country. Sorry my experiences differ from some of those generalizations you and Betty make.I have never taken a trip anywhere when I was living in Jamaica and upon arrival the custom agents have had great things to say about Jamaican visitors - sad but true.
You are bang on, we should always be proud to be Jamaicans. The indiscretions and wrong doings of some of us, even a PM, should not cause us to forget the many good deeds both in quiet unassuming ways usually far from public glare or indeed, top world achievements blazed across the world - Jamaica, wi likle but wi Talawah, rings loud.
btw - If Portia's actions you constantly shout demand her removal...that has nothing to do with Brucie's demanding his removal. It would only mean, both should go!
Leave a comment:
You must be fair. She has attacked the faults within the PNP and indeed the society, such as she saw them...for years and years! She has always been here.Originally posted by Willi View PostWhere was this woman for 18 years???
Jamaicans seem to have blinkered vision. Trust and confidence??? Jakans have a history of trusting the wrong people too much. What trust doing in the equation? The price of freedom is eternal vigilance!
This is what PJs legacy is. He broke the back of the Jamaican society, which was weak to start with.Last edited by Karl; September 22, 2010, 03:03 PM.
Leave a comment:
Betty Blaine “drew my tongue” on this one…. So today I responded like I see it on my blog. When you get a chance, I invite you to take a look. Here’s the link - http://childofthegarrison.com/2010/09/22/My_Commentary.aspx
Leave a comment:
I recall reading many complaints from her in the past, but her complaints seem to have proliferated with the pathological prevarication perpetrated by the Gelding regime...Originally posted by Willi View PostWhere was this woman for 18 years???
Jamaicans seem to have blinkered vision. Trust and confidence??? Jakans have a history of trusting the wrong people too much. What trust doing in the equation? The price of freedom is eternal vigilance!
This is what PJs legacy is. He broke the back of the Jamaican society, which was weak to start with.
phew!
Moral of the story...Jamaicans intensely dislike barefaced liad
Leave a comment: