Manufacturers to get 1-yr rent free in Govt factories

• Manufacturers to get 1-yr rent free in Govt factories

New incentives are coming for the manufacturing sector.
    Prime Minister Bruce Golding unveiled the incentives at the governing Jamaica Labour Party's 67th annual conference at the National Arena on Sunday.
    He announced that Government-owned factory space will be made rent-free to new investors who are interested in establishing manufacturing operations that will provide jobs.
    Mr. Golding also declared that no rent will be required in the first year of business.
    "For the second and third year, they will only be charged 50% of the rent because we want to encourage them to get into production, to employ Jamaicans, to start producing, to help us to generate the return to growth that is so much a part of our priority," he said

"Hmmmmmmm..."(thought HL) while he stroked his chin......

sounds like a plan. but can we take his word for it?

YES!!

The fly in the ointment will be WHO gets this nice subsidy...it's a great time to be at the trough..yes??

a trough yuh call dat ?

Is which eediat woulda waan guh inna manufacturing after Omar Davis and FINSAC ?

lol.

Good move. Now to the energy input costs.

ongly Wheeling can save dem...

Free Rent = Potential Trough for the Genetically Connected

It's not rocket science...especially given the propensity for corruption from the current tribe in command...unnu run di PNP offa di track pon dat corruption ting lang time.... and in record time.. < 3 years

Open Secret

they say for one year...i presume that after that they will be paying rent?!

soo.. what do you suggest ?

$1 dollah rent ?

they say for one year...i presume that after that they will be paying rent?!
                      dem seh 50% in year 2... but who knows?

A good ting still...implementation though should be watched for the genetic connection

Could well be a give away to the ones who already have, and are politically connected. This is where the good Jamaicans for Justice could be a watch dog, and get people to vigilant against the thieves. Never sleep with both eyes closed when you are surrounded by thieves. They never can get enough.

well any incentive would follow that line of 'reasoning'...

Good ting is that this is productive ventures... not trading paper...

Change is Good...

I thought the consensus on the forum is that we can't manufature anything?

When man a say we need fi do the best we can with the little we have all mi hear bout a China, China, China.

Man can't live by buying alone.

Many people a go fold them hand and watch. Instead of trying a thing them wait fi the next Cash Plus. We have more capital than we think we have. We just have to learn to put it together and do the right things.

JMA wants more info about Govt's latest incentives

The Jamaica Manufacturers Association (JMA) is Monday morning seeking clarification on a series of Government incentives designed to encourage more activity in the productive sector.
                              They were announced on Sunday by Prime Minister Bruce Golding as he addressed the Jamaica Labour Party's 67th annual conference.
                              Among them are rent-free space at Government owned factories, special credit arrangements, and other loan benefits.
                              Omar Azan,JMA President, welcomes the initiatives, but says more information is needed.
                              "The way things are going and the way they are thinking seems to be positive but more (needs to be done) in the way of implementation and putting things in stream because not many of our manufacturers have been able to access that mutual guarantee scheme or that credit enhancing facility that the Prime Minister speaks of. We would need to get specifics on it from our Minister of Industry or the Prime Minister for us to be able to allow our members to access these things," said Mr. Azan who was speaking on RJR's daily current affairs discussion programme Beyond the Headlines Monday evening.