Is effective crime fighting a PNP priority?

• Is effective crime fighting a PNP priority?

THE EDITOR, Sir:
    JAMAICA IS on the verge of becoming a crisis country due to numerous incidents of crime, which remains Jamaica's most crippling issue of national concern.
    In light of the aforementioned, the present Portia Simpson Miller-led, People's National Party (PNP) government must be given credit for having identified crime as a national priority and for having indicating their commitment to the establishment of crime-fighting initiatives. However, it seems to me that the PNP has either neglected this commitment, misinterpreted their role in crime fighting or they lack the capacity to respond effectively to the increasing crime levels.
    We must no longer ignore the realities that in less than 100 days since the PNP took office crime has escalated to alarming proportions. Similarly, we must no longer ignore the statistics which give evidence to the PNP's historic inability to treat with crime. Why then has the PNP not seriously examined and in so doing take the necessary strides to dismantle gangs and garrisons affiliated to its political party? Why did the PNP not take the magnificent opportunity extended to them in 2009 by the then Jamaica Labour Party administration to extend the state of emergency to St Catherine, which would have certainly and significantly eroded the Clansman and any other existing or promising gangs in that geographic location?
    Mmisguided proposal
    Why then is the PNP disregarding the existing crime-fighting strategy that was successfully outlined and used by the former national security minister of the JLP administration? Is the PNP ignorant of the fact that a delay in crime fighting in order to design any new crime management plan will contribute to an increase in crime?
    Additionally and importantly, we must begin to question and object to the PNP's misguided proposal to reintroduce new squads as part of their crime-fighting initiatives. I am forced to agree with the sentiments put forward by the Opposition leader that the reintroduction of new squads "will only lead to an increase in human-rights abuse and drive a wedge (the wedge that became noticeably smaller when the JLP was charged with crime-fighting responsibilities) between the citizens and law-enforcement officers". Is the PNP not mindful that when an impediment exists in the relationship between citizens and law-enforcement officers crime escalates? Therefore, my position and concern is that the PNP has appeared far too lax in their crime-fighting efforts over the years, and that it is high time the Government take the necessary steps and choose to act in the best interest of the Jamaican people and demonstrate real 'people power' and proclaimed 'love for the people'. ConcerNed About Crime

Whats the big deal? Dem say "tun up di ting"... well di ting tun up ... why be concerned? No need .. people power.

Why then is the PNP disregarding the existing crime-fighting strategy that was successfully outlined and used by the former national security minister of the JLP administration? Is the PNP ignorant of the fact that a delay in crime fighting in order to design any new crime management plan will contribute to an increase in crime?
      (inhale)

Yuh see how Maudib a pace himself fi di long ride? A beg yuh do di same! Friendly advice!

(inhale)

When unuh cannot find anything significant to say ... unuh all use the same emoticon.

Yuh see how Maudib a pace himself fi di long ride? A beg yuh do di same! Friendly advice!
            Pace self for what? What yuh want fi ppl ignore whats happening? RJR since week had a discussion with Bunting about the rise in crime. Cliff Hughes of NNN put it to 2 JCF top brass that crime was on the rise and neither could deny it.

I recall a certain hypocrite on this very forum that was very vocal when the previous gov't took office and crime continued to increase. When the rate started to decrease you .. sorry the said hypocrite and his comrades fanned it off with comical excuses.

Now the ting tun up .... you .... sorry the hypocrite is silent.

Pace self for what? What yuh want fi ppl ignore whats happening? RJR since week had a discussion with Bunting about the rise in crime. Cliff Hughes of NNN put it to 2 JCF top brass that crime was on the rise and neither could deny it.

I recall a certain hypocrite on this very forum that was very vocal when the previous gov't took office and crime continued to increase. When the rate started to decrease you .. sorry the said hypocrite and his comrades fanned it off with comical excuses.

Now the ting tun up .... you .... sorry the hypocrite is silent.

lol

Well one can't deny that the PNP won the election and promptly unleashed their criminals on the populace (tun up de ting). That's as plain as any letterhead with a bell on it.The JLP promptly extradited he who was unknown and not recalled and crime went down 40%. OK now I get it, the PNP was just waiting to win the election so they could increase crime whilst the JLP (AKA the crime syndicate or extradition south) was diligently fighting crime. Someone should inform the Feds that they got it so wrong. Someone should also tell Robertson's US legal team.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
                    Well one can't deny that the PNP won the election and promptly unleashed their criminals on the populace (tun up de ting). That's as plain as any letterhead with a bell on it.The JLP promptly extradited he who was unknown and not recalled and crime went down 40%. OK now I get it, the PNP was just waiting to win the election so they could increase crime whilst the JLP (AKA the crime syndicate or extradition south) was diligently fighting crime. Someone should inform the Feds that they got it so wrong. Someone should also tell Robertson's US legal team.
                    Rudi ... we need a translator for your posts bredren. Numerous times I read your posts on current affairs and I end up having a Portia moment .... not a clue what to make of it.

OK here's the letterhead: The PNP won the election and promptly increased crime. Makes sense to you? How does it serve their interests? You infer that the JLP took crime seriously while sidestepping certain uncomfortable truths such as their documented criminal connections confirmed by loss of visas extraditions etc. In short your PNP tun up de ting makes no sense as it relates to crime. If I was a conspiracy theorist I would think that the JLP tun up de ting as that would make more sense. However, that can't be true because they have no history of doing that(that was sarcasm).

All mi waan know seh is when will Danhai get the all clear to return.. Petah.. sort out di ting nuh.. cho...

Mi ah mek sure mi get cushion fi mi JEEP seat.. once mi sekkle in cyaan yap all day !

the eyelash container clear yet?

Danhai? Him deh yah arready! Stay deh!