A mother’s pride and joy

• A mother’s pride and joy

FIFTY-two-year-old Jamaica Observer vendor Althea Smith is a proud mother today. Having worked hard and saved meticulously over the years, Smith, a single parent, feels a sense of accomplishment that her daughter, Neveta Sutherland, is now a final year medical student at the University of the West Indies (UWI), Mona.

But the fact, too, that Sutherland still helps her mother to sell the Observer, has made Smith just as pleased because she remembers how difficult it was making a living after the birth of her child.

Years ago, Smith worked at a laundromat in the tough Waltham Park Road area of Kingston. Her dream at the time was to open a laundromat of her own in her community.

Her employer, she said, gave her a commitment to help her establish the business. However, he later withdrew the offer.

Smith, though, decided not to give up. She went ahead and opened her shop with one washing machine in 1996. Today, it is still in operation, though not as profitable as before.

At the time, Smith had already started selling newspapers, having inherited that business from her mother who passed away in 1987.

“In the morning I would be out on the street selling papers by 5:00 am until about 8:00 am, and then from what is left I would take some to leave with my friend who sell fruit and then take the rest by the shop,” Smith said.

She used her earnings from both jobs to send her daughter to school, from the early childhood level through to the UWI where she paid tuition for the first year only, as Sutherland secured a full scholarship from the education ministry.

Sutherland said she was also awarded another scholarship from Victoria Mutual Building Society but had it deferred.

“A lot of persons were surprised that we could find the money for the first year,” Sutherland recalled.

“From she was three years old she told me that she wanted to go to Immaculate High and she wanted to be a doctor,” said Smith, who vowed that education would be the vehicle to give her only child a better life then hers.

According to Smith, her daughter has always made her proud, therefore she was not surprised that she earned a place at medical school.

The proud mother said that Sutherland had shown her brilliance from very early, resulting in her being asked to read the scripture lesson at her graduation from Bridgeport Infant School and being selected as the valedictorian at Bridgeport Primary.

Sutherland was also very successful in her Grade Six Achievement Test, resulting in her being awarded a scholarship from Victoria Mutual Building Society as well as the Jonathan Riley Memorial Scholarship offered by the Gregory Park Church of God of Prophesy to the top GSAT student in East St Catherine.

Her GSAT results placed her at Campion College, considered one of the country’s premier secondary schools, which was her primary school teacher’s first choice.

At Campion, Sutherland excelled, graduating with distinctions in Caribbean Examinations Council Spanish, French, Biology, Physics, English Language, English Literature, Mathematics, and Principles of Business, and a credit in Chemistry.

She said she also received an award for the second highest grade in French and was the recipient of the Sam Mahfood Scholarship to complete sixth from studies where she was again successful in getting the top grade for each of the two units in Spanish, Biology and Chemistry, and the second highest grade in Community Studies and Caribbean Studies in the Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination.

Sutherland said she has been a honour student for the first three years at medical school, was on the dean’s list last year, and was also the recipient of the Portmore Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Academics.

She was also a contestant in the Miss Portmore Teen Pageant in 2006 in which she won prizes for being the most aware contestant and for best academics.

However, despite all her achievements, Smith said her daughter has remained humble and is looked upon by many in her community as a role model.

Smith was also happy to note that she did not have to force her daughter to study.

“It was easy. I didn’t have to push her to take up her books… and she didn’t have to take any extra classes after primary school,” Smith pointed out.

Since her daughter has been in medical school, Smith has suggested to her that she could stop helping her sell the Observer at her spot by the train line in Gregory Park, St Catherine.

Sutherland, though, has refused, insisting that she is happy to help out her mother. Plus, selling the paper, which she does on alternate Sundays, gives her mother a chance to attend church.

“Most persons would have felt weird selling the newspaper on the road, especially after starting medical school, but I didn’t mind doing it and it was because I was there doing that that I met a lot of persons who have helped me throughout my studies. And I still don’t mind doing it because it gives me a break from my studies,” said Sutherland, who wants to specialise in obstetrics and gynaecology.

“It was while I was selling the paper one day that I met Ms Jennifer Campbell from the Ministry of Transport and Works and was able to get a summer job there,” Sutherland said.

Newspaper sales also put her in touch with Ethnie Moulton, who, Sutherland said, has been very helpful.

Sutherland also said that through Campbell she met another person from corporate Jamaica, who wishes to remain anonymous and who has taken on the responsibility of paying for her monthly expenses while she is studying.

“Even though I am covered, if I have any other expenses I can call on them,” she said, adding that several other persons, including Maurice Tyne from her community, have supported her.

Smith is convinced that her daughter’s politeness and the fact that she always has her books with her, even while selling the Observer, have endeared her to several persons who are always willing to extend a helping hand.

“They tell me I have her but she is not my child,” Smith said with smile.

Smith took the opportunity of the interview to issue an appeal to other single mothers. “If a man is not maintaining his kids, don’t take it out on the kids, see to it that they get their books, the books are the most important thing,” she said.

“Mothers must look out for their kids and send them to school,” she added.

Sutherland agreed and showered praise on her mother for her efforts.

“She has been the primary person for making sure that I have everything I need,” said the medical student. “She has been the foundation.”

Good Post!

I read it early this morning. This definitely has to be among the most wonderful stories emanating from Jamaica in recent years. It is so touching as to almost seem unreal (fairytale-like plot and characters). Thankfully, it is real.

Good post, Twan.

Lovely story. All to best to them.

Not to dampen the happy story but my thoughts whenever I read one of these is how many others like her are out there, waiting to be helped.

None of us can save a nation by ourselves but we can all help to save individuals.

Very true....an inspiring story

Some will look at this and say... See, she can do it so can everyone.

While this is theoretically true and intrinsically positive.... this can be used in a disingenuous fashion to excuse the rotten system we have in Jamaica and the sentiment can be manipulated to obviate the imperative for reform.

Reform is a must...not trying to do the same backward thing...better.

Unfortunately that's the way of the JLPNP.... the current set is on the same course.

And also important is to note that she and her mother did not do it BY THEMSELVES. They came in contact with some good people and made maximum use of the assistance they gave.

This is true.... Good thing that not everybody waits until people are "educated" in order to help

Wonderful!

Positive and uplifting story. And I love it that the child still goes to help her mom sell the paper. Nuff a dem would think dem too cute

Good read and a very positive story to celebrate. But what bout the ones who dont have such strong determined mothers. You have to feel for them.

Talk about oppurtunity cost. One important thing is she could actually afford the first year at university. Instead of drinking beer, buying bleaching cream and partying out the little she earned, she somehow saved it for her kid's education.

Nuff credit fi dat. Big up mi say Maama and daughta.

True dat! For some would a buy bleaching cream wid the money

Yeah it is obvious where the daughter brains come from.

Again, we can only wonder what Mama could have achieved professionally herself had she been given the opportunity. Surgeon? Hotel Owner? Editor of the Observer dat she a sell paper for?

Them thoughts deh haunt me when me see youths a hustle a street.

Yuh know, and own a whole chain of laundromats! Blessed woman!