X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IRS tax law going after JA bank accounts

US tax grab - J’cans among millions targeted by IRS
    New US tax law may encourage illegal financial providers

BY JULIAN RICHARDSON Assistant business co-ordinator richardsonj@jamaicaobserver.com

Tuesday, April 17, 2012

THOUSANDS of Jamaicans will have their personal financial information released to American authorities if local banks sign on to a new tax compliance agreement in defiance of Jamaican law.

The US Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (Fatca), which becomes effective next January, requires financial institutions around the world to identify whether their customers are "US persons".

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz1sIwAmCaD
    "‎It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass

Dis a gwaan with Merka and Swiss long time...

Comment

If I am a dual citizen how does the local bank know that I am a resident/citizen of the US? I transact all my local business with local documents...

Comment

I hope your bank have a branch in the Cockpit country. Barring that dog nyam you suppa. Don't think of going up against Uncle Sam. The Cockpit country transfer may turn out to be blessing in disguise. You lucky baba.

Comment

How will the bank know is my question? I don't open a local account with a social security #...

Comment

Also if you open an account with someone in Jamaica, How will they deal with that?

Anyway a nuff man a go bawl.
            • Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.

Comment

LOL poor yuh. NUh worry bout bank worry bout IRS. If yuh have inna di millions dem all haff pitcha ah yuh nice house. Is ah good while dis ah gwaan but it was hush hush in the elite circles. Pot a bile now so.........