suh dem bun dung Holland Bamboo

• suh dem bun dung Holland Bamboo

cayliss people a clear land fi farming..

certain Jamaicans are a curse upon Xaymaica.. pity di Spanish did kill off di Arawaks

Tried to purchase J$500,000 worth a pre-mix concrete from 8:30am this morning...all now mi still waiting on the call back from Jamaica Pre-Mix...we are hopeless...

That is a crying shame... an iconic symbol of the parish. I remember very well as a youth living outside Mandeville the many trips we would take to Black River and driving through "Bamboo Avenue" was one of the highlights... as well as being swarmed by the ladies with "swims" in Middle Quarters.

The good thing is Bamboo is a fast growing grass and within five years will reach maturity... dem shud mek dem plant it back, and more...

On a related note, I heard a report on BBC about attempts to commercialise the growing of Bamboo in Nicaragua as an alternative to the clearing of the rain forests... the report said the demand or bamboo ( I assume they were talking about the plant) was very high in the US and there was a market, currently being filled by China and countries east... but being so close to the US, Central America could possibly compete. .. and maybe JA ?

Some African countries were also looking into commercial bamboo... T&T have plenty growing wild... Exile could start a likkle operation right by his workplace...

'Jamaicans' don't respect 'symbols'.

My feelings was very hurt when i read about the fire.

Last year, (in fact every year) I made a special effort to drive through Bamboo Ave. Mostly to show-off this lovely natural treasure.

In my opinion, Holland Bamboo Ave. is relatively unkempt by my standards.

Holland Bamboo should have a paid full time landscaper that prune, propagate and care for this lovely natural treasure.

I was very hurt by the news.

Sad....
          Pity the Spanish came to Jamaica....

Some years ago there was a Chinese delegation here with bamboo experts trying to start a bamboo industry and training people etc. ....never happened...mi tell dem go JA 'cause.."we have the big bamboo, bamboo...ay yah ya ay..."

Sad. Perfect place to attract more visitors with a little economic activity and help to preserve nature, instead we bun it down. Ah bwoy.....

How did Holland Bamboo Walk came about?

Excellent question!!

My guess that it was by (natural) accident.

like most things in Jamaica. we are blessed but we don't realise.

No it was setup by the big shots from what is now Manchester, then St Elizabeth, who had to commute to Black River, so those bamboos gave them a shaded rest area.

It is not the first time those idle people burn it down, bout them clearing land, do you see how Jamaica is polluted these days.