JLP representative issues apology for books with her picture

• JLP representative issues apology for books with her picture

Jamaica Labour Party candidate/caretaker for Eastern Hanover, Paula Kerr-Jarrett, has issued an apology in the wake of rumblings over another incident involving the Jamaican flag.

Mrs. Kerr-Jarrett's apology follows a complaint from the People's National Party, PNP, about the distribution of exercise books which contain her picture over the flag.

The one thousand books have been provided along with other school supplies to students in her constituency in preparation for the start of the new academic year on Monday.

When contacted by our news centre last night Mrs. Kerr-Jarrett said she never meant to offend anyone by using the national emblem.

The JLP representative said she was only trying to help needy students in Eastern Hanover:

This is the second time in recent weeks that a public figure has come under flak for the improper use of the Jamaican flag.

Earlier this month, Education Minister Ronald Thwaites sought to dissociate himself from the controversy regarding the use of the Jamaican flag on bookmarkers which were printed by his Ministry.

The bookmarkers which were to be distributed to schools in celebration of Jamaica 50, featured a picture of Mr. Thwaites superimposed on the flag.

Meanwhile the PNP has taken on Opposition Leader Andrew Holness over the latest incident involving the Jamaican flag.

The Party is of the view that Mr. Holness who has been strident in his calls about the use of national emblems has turned a blind eye to the misuse of the flag by Mrs. Kerr Jarrett in her production of promotional exercise books.

It's urging the Opposition Leader to begin dialogue with the Government and other stakeholders regarding ways to get Jamaicans to show greater respect for national emblems including the flag.
    http://rjrnewsonline.com/news/local

OPPOSITION LEADER'S STATEMENT RE FLAG ISSUE

The Leader of the Opposition and the Jamaica Labour Party reasserts the call for the proper observance of the protocols surrounding the use of our national symbols and emblems.

We take the view that all citizens, especially those holding public offices and using public funds, should adhere to the proper standards and protocols.

We note that Mrs. Paula Kerr-Jarrett, our candidate/caretaker for Eastern Hanover, in keeping with the standards of the party, understands the protocol and has competently clarified the issue with regard to the use of the flag on books she distributed.

Please make reference the letter sent to the Prime Minister on August 7 by the Leader of the Opposition Mr. Andrew Holness in relation to this matter.

-30-

Please see below for audio.

Audio:

Holness on flag issue: http://www.sendspace.com/file/ex3vm4

Did that flag consist of Black, Green & Gold or Black, Green & Yellow? If she had the latter what is the charge?

Comedy Hour Continues (JA Style)

This is getting hilarious in a very sad way. I thought educated adults, in particular educated politicians, understood certain protocols associated with a nation’s flag (placement of flag, etc.). Now more than ever I’m convinced that civics should be reintroduced as a mandatory subject in all classrooms, and that even the minister of education should take a crash course in this.

But should I be surprised? Our people have for decades used a certain red, green and black flag in various ways which suggest that it is more important -- or equal to -- the black, green and gold flag.

Then there are the colors of the flag. Isn’t it ridiculous to see the use of yellow as opposed to gold in so many cases? While typing I’m recalling our Veronica and Shelly-Ann celebrating their gold and bronze victories in the 100-meter. One of the ladies had a large black, green and gold flag while the other had a large black, green and yellow flag.

Simply ridiculous!

But, of course, the highpoint….sorry, low point of the history of our flag use occurred in the recent past in that infamous “green-less” flag in St James.

Meanwhile, we are getting ready to divert scarce resources into the formal teaching of our street and home dialect.

Stay tuned….Ity and Fancy Cat couldn’t think up comedy as good as this!

Are you surprised? we don't take care of our environment and show pride in any of our rich heritage. Talk about teaching civics, people will tell you how much it cost. We need more that that as I have advocate in teaching tourism. It is the livelyhood and one of the easiest way to start out.

We talk bout building tourism etc, but what make us unique if we don't have a strong culture, and unique images and pride? It is sad that elected officials and people looking to represent don't know better, even when they try to do good they mess it up bigtime and show their ignorance. Sad that others respect it more than we do.

Bring back the Capital to Spanish Town now! Kingston will remain as the commercial Capital

All who opposed should tek note that Mother Nature will certainly make this so in the future...

Never gonna happen - too much EGO's at stake!

Where is the picture?

Bring back the Capital to Spanish Town now! Kingston will remain as the commercial Capital

All who opposed should tek note that Mother Nature will certainly make this so in the future...
                    I agree... but unnu betta start plan fi Jawges move uptown fram now ar guh kuntry...well askordin to yuh ah kuntry dat still

Memba wen JahJah release di chain all North Street agguh unda water quickquick... but189 Old Hope Road still kriss fi at least 200 more year.

Unuu fi put in unnu application fi lease di land inna Hope Pastures behind wi an upgrade unnuself cause nuh land nuh deh bout inna town too tuff... Babylon lease run out pon wi property inna 2051 suh yuh nuh ave nuff time fi deal wid di matta

Oh...memba fi tun off di light dem
                    Last edited by Don1; August 31, 2012, 04:07 PM.

The only institution in that area that requires preserving in the interest of National Development right now is at 105 Hope Road... an nuh Manning Cup skills and 4x100 run country..

FORTES !

Unnu ah hurry come up... juss come sitten

Yuh ah inject unnuself inna big people tings wen unnu juss start get likke notice wheday.. Unnu history thin lika papah

Relax yuhself an satta wen big, substantial people ah talk

Fresh

das why we cannot be blamed for the failed state.. wi a tek time karreck tings doh..

oh really...an juss who is wi??? Whadat unnu kontrol suh??

Mek wi know nuh... mi hope unnu ave a Hero inna unnu ranks at least

FORTES !.. duh di research... slowly but surely..