• Advocate Warns Of Penalties For Circulating Child Pornograph

Advocate Warns Of Penalties For Circulating Child Pornography

Published: Monday November 12, 2012 | 5:55 pm0 Comments

Children's Advocate Diahann Gordon Harrison - Contributed
    Jerome Reynolds, Gleaner Writer

Jamaicans circulating a photograph purportedly of a young girl engaging in a sexual act with a man are being warned that they could face prison time and huge fines.

The disturbing picture is being circulated on popular social media networking websites as well as on BlackBerry Messenger.

Children’s Advocate Diahann Gordon Harrison and child rights advocate Betty-Ann Blaine have both condemned the action.

According to Gordon Harrison it is reprehensible and irresponsible.

She adds that the sharing of the picture is illegal and carries serious penalties.

Under the Child Pornography (Prevention) Act, the production, possession, importation, exportation and distribution of child pornography and the use of children for child pornography is an offence.

Offenders may receive up to 20 years imprisonment and fined as high the maximum $500,000.

For her part, Blaine said the sharing of the photograph serves to further victimize the young girl and her family and friends.

She says there have been cases were children have committed suicide after their images sexual acts were shared on popular media sharing forums.

The child rights advocate is calling for Jamaicans to be more sensitive and responsible in their actions.

Meanwhile, the Police have advised that they are probing the matter.

They say steps are being taken to ascertain the authenticity of the image as well as its origin.

The Police are asking anyone who may have seen the image and who may be able to identify the child to make contact with Crime Stop, the Centre for the Investigation of Sexual Offences and Child Abuse, Police 119 emergency number or the nearest Police Station.

I was a recipient, thru BBM, of the very disturbing image of a young girl with a grown man. I wonder if the pic is real, because one cannot imagine why someone would do that. Anyway, we should not be surprised to know there are some sick people in this world.

However, something is a bit paradoxical here. On one hand the children's advocates are reminding people that circulating and sharing child pornography is illegal, yet, on the other they are "... asking anyone who may have seen the image and who may be able to identify the child to make contact with Crime Stop..."

How are you going to identify the child if the image is not circulated or shared in some manner?!

Nothing paradoxical...dem sey IF yu see it (although it wrang) and yu know a who fi tell Crime Stop.
      What mi no heardem sey if anyone know who de man is, tell dem mek dem go and buss sm shat unda him r a ss.

The man's face was not shown. Not sure how many people would be able to recognise his other features.

Bwoy Mo you are slipping in your reasoning man. What should she have said, "We are asking you to please widely circulate child porn pictures so that we can arrest the adults who are in the pictures". Come on.

And you have done nothing about it? This should become a police matter immediately, and you have not notified the relevant authorities? The child could be someone who has been kidnapped & repeatedly raped.

Yeah Mo...turn in the person who sent you the photo...

Ahhh...not sure that was what I was suggesting.

Actually, I did!