• Poor Port Maria

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ife/life1.html

back to back wikid licks..

yeah sad. I notice Port Maria never flood before the new road. I remember the people telling the "engineers" that the way they build the bridge in the town it was going to cause flooding.

Sad fi real

That's what the people claim.

Port Maria is a place I spent a lot of time during the early 70's. I have witnessed heavy rain there, but never flooding.

yeah. Could be a nice little tourist town. The schene coming into that town from Ochi is amazing, it also have a little island on the back road.
          The old bridge in the middle of the town never had a problem. but after you come over the bridge there is a dip and courts and a lot of business place is right there. I don't know how they going to fix it but maybe they should have listen to the people.

That river is below sea level, the bridge is too narrow.

yeah Bridge is too low so the water can't flow under when it comes down, the bridge just turn it inna the town.

I am mindful of the comments of the Govt. woman that declaring areas in Jamaica disaster would somehow affect the image of the country.My feeling is such a declaration has to be made in order to ensure prompt,adequate spending by the Govt in oder to rectify the many devastations caused by the hurricane,otherwise it will be left to some MP and parish council.
                Govt should financially support the people of Port Maria,and fix the root cause of the overspill.