• Gunmen invade DPP's office

Gunmen invade DPP's office

5:12 pm, Fri November 30, 2012

The Police High Command has launched a manhunt for one of two gunmen who escorted a witness to the offices of the Director of Public Prosecutions this morning, demanding that she change her statement in a murder case.

Investigators are tightlipped about the major security breach which has sparked outrage at the DPP's office.

However, its understood that sometime this morning two men, one armed with a gun, escorted a woman to the DPP's office, demanding that she change her statement in a case in which a Jamaica Defence Force soldier was killed two years ago.

Police personnel at the entrance to the DPP's office became suspicious and confronted the men.

One of them fled while the other was nabbed and is now in police custody.

A senior investigator contacted by RJR News declined comment, citing the sensitivity of the matter.

There are now concerns for the safety of the witness.

Its believed that the authorities will now be forced to place the witness in protective custody, while they track down the men beind Friday's incident.

It's understood that DPP Paula Llewellyn is expected to release a statement on the matter next week.

The Jamaica Defence Force soldier, 23 year old Tursha Lambert Lee was shot and killed by gunmen at a bus stop along Washington Boulevard on February 5, 2010.

The soldier was a private attached to the Military Training Wing in New Castle, St Andrew.

It was reported that private Lee was at a bus stop along Washington Boulevard when he was pounced on by a group of men armed with guns.

The men opened fire hitting the soldier several times and he died on the spot.

HL, yuh have a settee in di basement where I can stay for a while? Cah not even me can deal wid dis nuh more.

I promise, you won't even remember I am there!

Its believed that the authorities will now be forced to place the witness in protective custody, while they track down the men beind Friday's incident.
      DUH!

There is a certain reluctance about that statement.

If there was any doubt.

Brazen Act!
          Published: Saturday | December 1, 2012 0 Comments

Llewellyn
          Man detained after trying to force witness to change story

Barbara Gayle, Justice Coordinator

A St Andrew woman and her husband were yesterday placed in protection after two men took the woman to the office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) demanding that she change her statement in a murder case.

The police nabbed one of the men but the other escaped.

Staff members of the DPP's office became suspicious after the woman entered the office and started to cry.

The men were reportedly waiting outside the DPP's office.

According to reports, the police were called and one of the men held.

The matter is being investigated by the Major Investigation Task Force.

The woman had testified in a case earlier this year in which two men were charged with murder.

retrial ordered

One of the accused was convicted and a retrial ordered for the other after a hung jury.

The matter was mentioned in court yesterday when the man on retrial was denied bail.

It was after that the woman was taken to the office of the DPP in an effort to have her change her statement.

DPP Paula Llewellyn was disturbed by the action, but said it would not deter the guardians of justice.

"We will not be intimidated and if anybody interferes with witnesses, they will be charged with attempting to pervert the course of justice," Llewellyn told The Gleaner.

HL, yuh have a settee in di basement where I can stay for a while? Cah not even me can deal wid dis nuh more.

I promise, you won't even remember I am there!
            I have to give you lots of credit--when I know you have the option not to live in Jamaica.

Keep a low profile. I am sure i could arrange a safe-house for you. It's in Alabama though....

Steeeups. All is well man. Yuh nuh see seh Ministah can travel business class and drive Prado. Wha more dan dat U did want.

Help has arrived!

Safe house? In Alabama?!? Yah style mi like criminal, HL!?? But yuh nuh easy!