• Policeman injured during New Kingston shootout

Policeman injured during New Kingston shootout

5:46 pm, Mon December 10, 2012
    Jamaica’s main commercial district of New Kingston was the scene of a running gun battle on Monday afternoon as police and gunmen traded bullets; reportedly after the hoodlums held up a security guard and robbed him of his firearm.

When the shooting was over one lawman was left seriously injured; shot in the stomach, and one of the suspects was in police custody.

The police reported that shortly 2pm the guard; assigned to a financial institution on Dominica Drive, was held up and robbed of his firearm by two men travelling on foot. The security guard made an alarm and a policeman in plainclothes; who was nearby, responded and challenged the two men.

This led to a shootout which sent shoppers and others in the vicinity running for cover. During the shootout, the policeman was shot in the stomach.

Police personnel; assigned to the New Kingston police post, joined in the chase, which went onto Chelsea Avenue. There the gunmen the commandeered a private citizen’s motor car and escaped.

One suspect was picked up later and the vehicle found; burnt out, several miles away at Horizon Adult Remand Centre near downtown Kingston.

A policeman at the shooting scene later said investigators were theorizing that one of the shooting suspects, was shot and injured, as a trail of blood was observed close to where they commandeered the getaway vehicle.

We need to get rid of all guns on the island!

Simple ting! If you are found with a gun, original Gun Court law should apply - life imprisonment!

Impossible task, unrealistic and wont happen. Wheel and come again.

Sub di BUD stance start to appeal to you?
        DISARM mi seh!

How can we get rid of guns out of the hands of the gangs?

Karl, clearly your memory is a bit suspect now.

Go back to posts on this subject matter and see my views!

Thanks!

Ok, what's your suggestion?

We need to get rid of all guns on the island!

Simple ting! If you are found with a gun, original Gun Court law should apply - life imprisonment!
                What were your views on the 6 Crime Bills put forward by the previous gov't?

I don't know them.

Apparently, the policeman died in hospital.

Sad. Given basket to carry water.

Most murders are from illegal guns - so those are the one to go for
                      BUT
                      The gun trade is closely linked to the DRUG trade
                      SO
                      Have to deal with the DRUG RUNNERS
                      HOWEVER
                      they are protected or disguised as legitimate BUSINESS PEOPLE
                      WHO
                      are also involved in MONEY LAUNDERING
                      THEREFORE
                      we have to have proper legislation and implementation of the laws to deal with that
                      BUT WE KNOW
                      this is not going to happen
                      UNTIL
                      the US asks for another extradition or starts cancelling VISAS
                      SO WE HAVE
                      drugs, murder, money laundering, guns, business people (also include politicians and area dons), big banking (yes the banks know who is who) and innocent people will be robbed, murdered, raped, buggered, maimed because man haffi eat a food.

That's what I really meant. Get the illegal guns off the street.

When that is done, we should see if we need even the licensed ones.

Cannot understand

why there no cameras in a place like New Kingston.

why yuh waan watch di gunbakkle pon youchube? even when the authorities know who the perpetrators are they still can't catch dem...minibus driver who mowed down a girl was in waltham park for months before they found him...and they knew who he was

Maybe only in company parking lots.

But yes, we need them at the street corners, not only in New Kingston but all over the country!

Is Bunting listening!?!