• UWI continues world class tradition... Yappin'

'It's A Hat-Trick!' - Norman Manley Law School Makes It Three From Three
    Published: Wednesday | December 12, 2012 0 Comments
    Anastasia Cunningham, News Coordinator

For the third consecutive year, the Norman Manley Law School took home the winning trophy in the Human Rights World Moot Court Competition.

Held at the University of Pretoria in Pretoria, South Africa, on Monday, World Human Rights Day, the Jamaican institution was elated to pull off that record achievement over several prestigious law institutions from around the world.

"This is the third successive year we have won the competition. We call it a hat-trick," stated Principal Carol Aina.

"We are all at a loss for words at this amazing feat. We are truly excited and proud to have defended the title.

"There are about 45 universities from across the world that enter the competition, including Yale. And it has been quite amazing for us to win three in a row. I don't think anybody else has set that kind of record in any law competition, so it is about how incredible the students are."

Aina said the team members were still in disbelief, but quite pleased with the accomplishment.

"They are really elated and overjoyed. We had the trophy to defend and we thought it would be a difficult task to win three times, so they are really thrilled," she shared with The Gleaner.

"It was a lot of really hard work because they had to combine that with their regular curriculum."

The three-member team comprises Kemoy McEkron, Leslie Mendez, and Tiffany Stewart. They are coached by Nancy Anderson.

PROUD, THANKFUL FOR VICTORY

Dorcas White, senior coach and senior tutor emeritus, stated, "To God be the glory. I am thankful that we could do it three years in a row. I am really proud. I am thankful to be a graduate of this school and to be giving back to this school."

White, who has been at the institution for over 35 years, has participated in coaching the team each year.

The competition has been held on World Human Rights Day in Pretoria for the past four years. Jamaica has only participated for the past three years, winning each year.

Participants in the competition are required to argue a hypothetical case on a non-discrimination issue, using all of the conventions on human rights. They must argue both the respondent's and appellant's sides, which requires them to prepare both sides of the argument.

"I think we will have to retire from the competition now," Aina shared with laughter.

"Three years in a row is almost like too good to be true, so perhaps one retires while one is on the high."

On a serious note, how can we train the Robotics river to flow in the direction of 3D printing. DAT is the futcha!
    Last edited by Willi; December 12, 2012, 11:25 AM.

Mek mi drop one name...Dassault systemes.

mi nuh tink wi cyan yap wi way fawud

Mek mi drop one name...Dassault systemes.
          Yep.... Dassault's product lifecycle management software tool set is the Siemens PLM main competitor

no think?

It is certain we cant.

3D printing is the equivalent of the star trek REPLICATOR and will land a big blow on China and the old factory manufacturing paradigm.

Why put out millions of identical one-size-fits-all widgets, when you can do customized replication locally with exact specs for the particular customer....cheaper/better/faster...the manufacturing olympics motto.

Imagine a new kind of life, replicated life, from 3D printing (dem all can mek working gun from 3D printah...GULP).

no think?

It is certain we cant.

3D printing is the equivalent of the star trek REPLICATOR and will land a big blow on China and the old factory manufacturing paradigm.

Why put out millions of identical one-size-fits-all widgets, when you can do customized replication locally with exact specs for the particular customer....cheaper/better/faster...the manufacturing olympics motto.

Imagine a new kind of life, replicated life, from 3D printing (dem all can mek working gun from 3D printah...GULP).
              Fi reel pawdie... Star Trek tings come to pass to ****!!

thought it was on the 10,000 products scale ?

China innah di millions..

Mek mi follow up wid Silburn...

On a serious note, how can we train the Robotics river to flow in the direction of 3D printing. DAT is the futcha!
                    Wi cyaan yap wi way to dat but Digital Yard ave nuff app fi deal wid dat

Big blow on China?!?

Stay deh!

Yep

http://www.solidworks.com/sw/3d-cad-design-software.htm

I see you have found the religion bredren. LOL.

Actually 3D printing is just one aspect of what is happening. Call it the democratization of manufacturing...no need for big outlay of capital to start production, just skillls, a good idea and the right set of tools. 3D printers, CAD tools, CNC and laser cutting machines.

The Maker Movement is on the rise...coming to a garage near you!

As usual our education system is way behind..but we a try influence some change in dat direction
                          Last edited by Islandman; December 12, 2012, 12:48 PM.

Shhhhh, mek dem gwaan talk.

When from last year we did a negotiate with a company to mek a drug formulation with 3D printing tech from MIT. Shhhhhh.

Would recommend this book to anyone interested in the topic.

http://www.amazon.com/dp/0307720950/ref=rdr_ext_tmb

Chris Anderson has become one of my favorite writers. He recently left his position as editor of Wired Magazine (an outstanding publication) to focus full time on his 3D Robotics company that has been very successful in implementing these new technologies.