Unnu tink mi did done, mi just a come - OCG!

• Unnu tink mi did done, mi just a come - OCG!

OCG warns Cabinet of 'criminal offence'

BY BALFORD HENRY Senior staff reporter balfordh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, December 19, 2012

THE Office of the Contractor General (OCG) says that it is appalled at the Cabinet's challenge to its powers to access information needed to complete investigations into three major investment projects being pursued by the Government.

The Government has challenged the OCG's probe into the North-South Link of Highway 2000, the Gordon Cay Container Transshipment Hub, and establishment of an oversight panel to oversee the award of the Government contracts.

(Left) Attorney General Patrick Atkinson. Transport and Works Minister Dr Omar Davies.

1/1

The OCG says that until and unless a court of competent jurisdiction overrules the decision made in the case of Lawrence v Ministry of Construction (Works) and the AG (1991), or otherwise restrains it from proceeding with requisitions, failure by the Cabinet or any other person or authority to comply with its requisitions for information "amounts to a flagrant violation of the rule of law and constitutes a criminal offence under section 29 of the Contractor General Act".

The OCG said that for clarity, it had decided to provide an overview of the positions posited by the Office of the Cabinet over the past seven months for the information of Parliament. The special report was tabled in the Senate on Friday.

In the report, the OCG said that the actions of the Cabinet had also affected its monitoring of the operations of Blue Diamonds Hotels and Resorts Inc and the Liquefied Natural Gas project.

The special report also said that the OCG regards the situation as grave, "which is not only incongruous in nature, but which further questions the intent of the Cabinet of Jamaica and, by extension, the current administration", in its decision to challenge the statutory requests of the OCG for the provision of certain documents.

The OCG said that the situation raises "very serious concerns", "especially since it had, in the past, received the full and unfettered support and compliance of the Office of the Cabinet".

The OCG filed an Affidavit in the Supreme Court on July 6, in response to an earlier application by Minister of Transport and Works Dr Omar Davies seeking, among other things, to have the court restrain the office from securing information from a Government-appointed Independent Oversight Panel (IOP) and from monitoring and investigating the panel's activities and reporting on those activities.

Former Contractor General Greg Christie had accused the Government of trying to bypass his office and threatened legal action if the oversight panel did not supply the requested information. He maintained, up to his retirement last month, that the Contractor General Act gives him the power to vet pre- and post-contractual agreements.

However, Dr Davies and Attorney General Patrick Atkinson want the court to determine the extent of the contractor general's power to investigate matters in the pre-contract stage, and to bar him from issuing any document on sensitive matters to the media prior to tabling them in Parliament.

Members of the IOP — Principal and Pro-Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies Professor Gordon Shirley, businessman R Danny Williams, and retired territory senior partner for auditing firm PricewaterhouseCoopers Everton McDonald — have decided to stand down until the matter is settled in court.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2FSQeRVWo

Dis Govt yah nuh easy yuhnuh, dem didah bawl fi OCG fi check ebry nook and cranny pan di next side. But now dem ah contradict dat said speech an ah question di powah of di said office. Dem all ah refuse fi produce necessary documentation. Dem people yah ah portray di same ting weh ah gwaan outah street, badman rule. Das why dem kyaan control di man dem outah street kah dem nuh bettah at all. What a life eh, mek yuh wondah how dem fi try curtail badness when dem ah profess di said ting.

Well, I hope the courts deal with it once and for all. Trouble is with our courts sometimes, I am not sure justice is always done.

The first question; what does supreme court in Ja mean? Is it the highest court on the island? If no, then we need to revisit the definition of supreme. I now see why there is a call to learn patios. What is being used to interpret the laws of the land? Ja's constitution or that of another sovereignty?

These questions need to be answered before Ja can truly take her place on this globe. I will say it again Ja needs a College of history and Political science.

Jamaica needs that like it needs a hole in the head. We already have too many of those types...along with too many habadashers, traders and assorted margin gatherers large and small

What we need are true colleges of science, technology. engineering and maths focused on creating practical, market-ready innovation

Enuff of the Yapping Ramping Shops

It's quite possible that you misunderstood me. I'm not talking about sitting in class and saying slavery ended in Ja due to the kindness in the British hearts. I'm talking about a serious research in history. History of Europe,Africa and Asia. The science of politics across these continents. How they shaped the world we live in today.

You talk of science and technology when you don't know where your supreme court lies. What does that mean? Innovate something of world standard and quality then you will know.

A nation cannot move forward without a firm grounding in history and political science. How will Ja interact with players in the global village. On just science and technology alone. The case of Lewis the engineer and the transformers should be a lesson to all.

=Jawge;397395]It's quite possible that you misunderstood me. I'm not talking about sitting in class and saying slavery ended in Ja due to the kindness in the British hearts. I'm talking about a serious research in history. History of Europe,Africa and Asia. The science of politics across these continents. How they shaped the world we live in today.
              You called for the establishment of a college to do this.That is totally unnecessary...Jamaica already has infrastructure & intellectual resources to do this if persons choose to do so... It's a question of prioritizing very limited resources

You talk of science and technology when you don't know where your supreme court lies. What does that mean? Innovate something of world standard and quality then you will know.
              STEM and the supreme court are unrelated issues....the conflation is ludicrous

What we're dealing with here is POLICY... something I have a modicum of experience in...do you have any??

A nation cannot move forward without a firm grounding in history and political science. How will Ja interact with players in the global village. On just science and technology alone. The case of Lewis the engineer and the transformers should be a lesson to all.
              Wi nuh ave time fi dilly dally wid more Talk Shops and Yappers... more yapping will get us nowhere out of crisis or the persistent poverty we're in

It's time for Makers...not Yappers
              Last edited by Don1; December 19, 2012, 02:02 PM.

Suh what happen tuh di Intellectual Ghetto ??

Apple vs Samsung.. hmm..

:-)

what's that?

gwaan play dumb.. yuh finally unnastan wheh Mutty was a preach..

Mutty was an old fogey with not a clue about the importance of technology

This here says it all:
                          "What we're dealing with here is POLICY... something I have a modicum of experience in...do you have any??"

The sad part is that you believe yourself. Suddenly you are into policies.

What is the objective of science and technology on the island? To maximize the island resources then TRADE with other nations. You may still not understand where the science of politics and history comes in but over time, you will get it.

I am absolutely into policy and its implementation. By inference it's reasonable to conclude that you clearly have no experience in the area

Deciding where and how to spend resources constitutes policy. One has to have an understanding of the policy dynamics of a sector such as education (and its sector linkages) to make good policy decisions and then execute at the implementation stage.

Once the correct decisions are made & implemented to enable more proficiency in STEM on a national scale, over time Jamaica should become more productive and regionally competitive..... at that point the policy decisions show up at the trade or macro level via increased value added output & productivity

Jamaica spending scarce resources on a college to study or teach history as you suggest would be utter stupidity... it's that simple

We need Makers...not Yappers
                            Last edited by Don1; December 19, 2012, 10:45 PM.

yes you are right. It's a stupid notion and I am a fool. Continue on your merry way.