• It's not even comical anymore.

Calls mounting for PM to give second address to the nation

Calls have been made for Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller to give another address to the nation in light of the wave of criticism of her presentation on Sunday and concerns about the state of the Jamaican economy.
    It has been recommended that this be done following the Cabinet retreat.
    Financial Analyst, Dennis Chung, is proposing that the second address be used to update the country on the decisions made at the retreat and plug the gaps in the Prime Minister's last address.
    Mr. Chung, who was speaking on RJR's ‘Beyond the Headlines’ on Monday, believes there are some things Mrs Simpson Miller must say during the second address to the nation.
    “’With regards to the retreat, these are the things we have discussed and we are going to level with you on the things we need to to do and how we are going to go ahead moving this thing forward. Whether we have an IMF or not it’s gonna be tough to cast the budget and we need all hands on deck and these are the vesting issues that we commit that we are going to deal with.’ The things that come to mind are the matter of the energy situation, the law and order, the crime and the bureaucracy.”
    The Prime Minister's address on Sunday was criticised for lacking substance.
    The Parliamentary Opposition has also bashed Mrs. Simpson Miller for ignoring the IMF negotiations as well as issues facing the economy.
    Francis Kennedy, president of the Jamaica Chamber of Commerce (JCC) supports the suggestion that the Prime Minister face the nation a second time.
    He believes it would be unwise for the administration to leave the country in the dark on crucial issues such as the status of the IMF negotiations.
    “I do believe…very, very important that the Prime Minister and/or the Minister of Finance should get back and go to the general public. We don’t know what’s happening and I believe the longer this thing stays out, the more pressure there’s gonna be on our foreign exchange reserves and also the pressure on the devaluation of the Jamaican dollar."

http://www.rjrnewsonline.com/local/c...-to-the-nation

The Prime Minister's address on Sunday was criticised for lacking substance.

really?

Wha dem fraid fi tell wi bout di Bittah Pill ?

Why ? dem nuh haffi call election fi a few years well..

Embarrassing.

You embarrassed?

For Portia, yes!

X pected from both sides.....joke ting

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Wha dem fraid fi tell wi bout di Bittah Pill ?

Why ? dem nuh haffi call election fi a few years well..

17 more years, unfortunately!

Portia needs to step, along with some of her ministers.

dem haffi call election before dat..

Quoting Jimmy Cliff ?

Nah man..dat a singular sinting..