• Imani Green murder: how violence plagues Jamaica

Imani Green murder: how violence plagues Jamaica

Owen Ellington, the commissioner of the Jamaica constabulary, has worked to increase public confidence in his officers and promised to crack down on crime and corruption, but still the island is plagued by violence.

While major crime is decreasing, and the murder rate fell almost 5% to 1,087 deaths last year – well down from its 2009 peak of 1,683 – poverty, gang violence and the ubiquity of guns remain serious problems, as does mistrust of the police.

read more
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013...olence-jamaica

Steeeups,,

We HAD a credbile solution....Extended curfew and incursions into violent areas by the security forces.

People figget already the heady days when all the High Command had to do was issue a request for a "person of Interest" to turn themselves in and next day di gunman shows up at the nearest Station begging for the police not to shoot him!

We let the momentum subside aned now we back to killing carnival, a veritable free-for-all. This killing is FRONT PAGE NEWS in the UK. The damage is huge.

So the tician dem can gwaan celebrate "achievements" and preen about statistically negigible blips in the crime figures. Sensible people KNOW its still outta control and cannot be spun.

Because of pollytrix the PNP blocked the extension of the S.O. E. and it seems di Labarite dem was happy for it to be ended as well. Instead of John Q public uniting around the issue, we got caught up in the partisan samfie and now look what we reap!

Arise from unno sleep and slumber, we more than sand on the seashore, we more dan number...

[curfew and incursions into violent areas by the security forces]

but...Duncans. st ann...is not a violent area

Well Stated, Sir!

We HAD a credbile solution....Extended curfew and incursions into violent areas by the security forces.

People figget already the heady days when all the High Command had to do was issue a request for a "person of Interest" to turn themselves in and next day di gunman shows up at the nearest Station begging for the police not to shoot him!

We let the momentum subside aned now we back to killing carnival, a veritable free-for-all. This killing is FRONT PAGE NEWS in the UK. The damage is huge.

So the tician dem can gwaan celebrate "achievements" and preen about statistically negigible blips in the crime figures. Sensible people KNOW its still outta control and cannot be spun.

Because of pollytrix the PNP blocked the extension of the S.O. E. and it seems di Labarite dem was happy for it to be ended as well. Instead of John Q public uniting around the issue, we got caught up in the partisan samfie and now look what we reap!
        Well said, Willi. In fact, I agree with every sentence you’ve typed here.

Indeed we had a “credible solution”! We were presented with this glorious opportunity back in 2010, and I am still amazed when I reflect on the opposition by some on this very forum (RBSF) to the idea of that clean-things-up-once-and-for-all state of emergency!

Have we learnt anything? Well, today, the criticism of our security forces continue, with no concomitant anger at the actions of the brutal creatures who shoot, stab, behead and rape ordinary Jamaicans! It is with interest that I note that the Police High Comand has found it necessary to issue a statement reminding Jamaicans where to primarily direct their criticism (see today’s Daily Gleaner: http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead5.html )!

I guess we’re destined to “get what we deserve” in the most perverse of ways!

Duncans, Trelawny or St Ann? just checking...

Historian - Have we learnt anything? Well, today, the criticism of our security forces continue, with no concomitant anger at the actions of the brutal creatures who shoot, stab, behead and rape ordinary Jamaicans! It is with interest that I note that the Police High Comand has found it necessary to issue a statement reminding Jamaicans where to primarily direct their criticism
            Well said and we are quick to criticise the police without waiting for the facts to come out. Killers should be pounced upon, and there should be no let up!!

Drugs like crazy...

Originally posted by Skeng D View Post
                [curfew and incursions into violent areas by the security forces]

but...Duncans. st ann...is not a violent area
                Just an FYI, Duncans is not in St. Ann.

really?

Mek mi guh furdah and state the unvarnished truth.

Some labahrite did a gwaan like seh Tivoli was some paragon of virtue, when it was clearly a cancer on the body social/political/spiritual, etc. Nothing could be furdah from the truth, as it was the most organized and deadly garrison we had, despite the seeming order it represented.

However, the orange dem have many more garrisons, but dem was outta control with poor central command and were increasingly linking themselves to Tivoli and whatever regional power there was in their vicinity.

The REAL rub was all those people who thought that just deporting Dudus and neutering Tivoli would solve our crime problems. This was so ludicrous that I still cant fathom why people thought that in the face of overwhelming evidence to the contrary. Jungle had their Black roses, the East have their power base, Span Town is VERY organised, both green and orange, Mobay, MayPen, etc. They were all sharpening their skills and they have all learned and as we know power abhors a vacuum.

Now we see 2010 advances screeching to a halt and any trend reader sees where this is going...

People, what do we want. Cast off di dyam Tician dem and tek back wi country. We need to insist that dem fix dis intermede and do what is necessary to get us on track to DRAMATICALLY lower crime and with a sense that we again own our streets, instead of living defenseless in a Safari, vulnerable to any passing hungry lion!

Who unno love more, unno party or Jamaica? Unno claim seh unno love di Rock, so will U stand up to the samfie lies and ally yourself ONLY WITH THE blessed truth?

Time running out....we haffi mek up wi mind fast!