• No more 'bad man' murals!

No more 'bad man' murals!
    Police destroy, deface paintings of dons in St Catherine North
    BY KARYL WALKER Editor — Crime/Court Desk walkerk@jamaicoabserver.com
    Wednesday, February 20, 2013

POLICE in the St Catherine North Police Division have painted out the murals of dons and 'bad men' in a bid to quash the attraction of impressionable youngsters to gangsterism.

Superintendent Anthony Castelle took the Jamaica Observer on a tour of the tough division yesterday and pointed out several murals — that formerly had images of gang leaders and their cronies who had been cut down — which have been either smashed or painted over in the blue of the constabulary.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2LOj5dEED

Good job, JCF!

If you have no morals, you should get no murals!

Where were these murals placed? Private property? What right does the Police have to be defacing private property? Since when have they become the moral police?

Murals are the least of our problems, how about fostering an environment where gangs are not appealing?

Good job, JCF!

If you have no morals, you should get no murals!
          You know this is something I had noticed, and wondered about since the Tivoli incursion. I noticed that in the background on many of the television footages, there was an monument, quite elaborate as a matter of fact, of the scum bag criminal don "Jim Brown", and was saying to myself, "Why doesn't the government carry out an urgent and public destruction, with full media presence, of the darn thing, in order to send a message to the youths?." Isn't that what is done in public squares all over the world when criminals/politicians/politcal criminals/dictators or their heirs are overthrown?.

Plasters for sores.

So guys, unu really tink di police is patting themselves on the back over this mammoth effort?

Of course its a tiny step in...yuh know what, mek mi leave it alone. I'll come back to the next time our police kill 7 boys in a Portmore community.

Don't get jumpy Mosiah...if you paint a mural on your house of yu badman cousin, yu tink police have any right inside there painting it blue?

Are these murals painted on the walls of their families or even friends? Are they painted on public facilities? What is the parish council's rules on signage?

If painting these murals is legal, then we need to find a way to change that.

True, there are likely rules against defacing public property, and it is unlikey these murals are on private property.

suh wait why you seh dem paint out Bricky mural a pormore???

no hortical every little helps. broken window theory at work... all community when name gazza and zion.. name change!!..

Paint out?! Dah wall deh pulverize!

Given where we find ourselves today...YES!

in toronto if you have a private building with graffiti or tags you have to clean it up or the municpal will do it and send you the bill.... It comes down if it art or not.......... I say paint them out. All them welcome to gaza and re re should be painted out and prosecuted for who deface the property..