• Stealing land by the courts in Jamaica

NEWS
    Boston farmers stand to lose crops in land ownership dispute

'Give us more time'
    BY INGRID BROWN Associate editor — special assignment browni@jamaicaobserver.com
    Monday, April 29, 2013

A group of Portland farmers has until tomorrow to comply with a court order to remove approximately four acres of banana, plantain and pineapple from a plot of land in Boston, which they claimed to have been cultivating for the last three decades.

But, according to the farmers, it is impossible to uproot that many acres of budding plants, especially since a lot of the crops have just began to bear.

Charles Fletcher displays the judgement from the court giving him 30 days to vacate the land. (PHOTO: KARL MCLARTY)

1/3

The land, which sits on the main road in Boston and overlooks the sea, is prime real estate. It is said to have been idle for as long as anyone can recall. That's the reason the farmers said they began farming it in the first place.
    Charles Fletcher, one of those who was hauled before the court, said in the 35 years he has been working the land, no one has ever made a claim of ownership. Over time, he said, a total of 16 small farmers joined him, planting a variety of crash crops.
    According to Fletcher, it was only in the middle of last year, when he was served with a subpoena to attend court, that he became aware of who the land owner was.
    "When I go to the Port Antonio court I tell the judge I don't know who the land belong to and she say I have to go survey the land and find out, but I tell her I can't afford to do that," Fletcher told the Jamaica Observer North East.
    Fletcher said although he got a lawyer to represent his interest in court, it did not help, as at the final hearing in March, the judge ordered him to vacate the land by the end of April.
    The Observer North East obtained a copy of the court's judgment, which was delivered by Resident Magistrate Marjorie Moyston. It stated: "It is hereby ordered that judgement is for the plaintiff. Defendant to quit and deliver up possession of land by the 30th day of April, 2013."
    Fletcher said he was one of three farmers who were served with subpoenas. However, he was the only one who received a judgement since the others did not make a court appearance.
    One farmer, he explained, was able to immediately clear the land, as he did not have a lot of crops in the ground. The other farmer, who had cultivated a thriving plot of pineapple, according to Fletcher, did not go to court as the subpoena was issued in the wrong name.
    But Fletcher said while he is not disputing ownership of the land, he believes he should be allowed more than 30 days in order for the huge volume of crops he has on the property to mature. Failing that, the farmer said, he should at least be compensated for the crops if they have to be destroyed to make way for the owner to occupy the land.
    "Look at the quality plantain here. Where me going to put dem in one month time?" he said, pointing to the lush crop.
    "I just can't afford for this amount of plantain and bananas to go down like that because Hurricane Sandy did mash dem down and them just coming up back and just start shoot," he continued.
    His position is being supported by Richard Maragh, first vice president of the Jamaica Agricultural Society Portland division, who is also appealing to the relevant authorities to grant Fletcher some more time on the land.
    Maragh said he is not objecting to the eviction, since the property does not belong to Fletcher, however he believes that after 35 years of farming the land a little more leniency can be shown.
    Maragh said Fletcher would need a minimum of one year for the plantain and banana crop to mature, during which time he could begin relocation of the young suckers."
    "Cutting them down now wouldn't help as we are currently short of bananas and plantains Jamaica because of Hurricane Sandy and so the market he is supplying is looking forward to getting them," Maragh told the Observer North East.
    Meanwhile Fletcher said many farmers like himself have been unable to locate suitable farmlands to ply the only trade at their disposal and that they did not knowingly or deliberately capture someone else's land.
    "When we come here in the 70s dem call up here 'logwood walk' because it was all in woodland and it is us who help to bring the land to where it is," he said.
    One resident who identified himself as Spencer said the farmers should not take the court's decision lying down as ownership of the land has never been proven.
    "We need to see a title for the land because we don't know if it is owned by who dem say own it," he told the Observer North East.
    Another resident said they had been of the belief that the land belonged to the community as it adjoins a community centre.

Read more: http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...#ixzz2Rqt1vOIe

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

After 35 years the owner claimed his land...lol...dat owner if their is one dead and gone long time ,or if im migrate and just come back fi claim it ,im ave a damm good lawyer to manuver di court shitstem, if im live down deh , how no one from the community nuh know im and dem a farmer ?..prime real estate .

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How the man can't afford to find out who own the land but can afford lawyer...it's not his land him need fi get to stepping...

He isnt disputing that he doesnt own it , although he should like you say , but ownership is really in question and if so , I would advocate for him to stay there.Di way out it look di so called owner soon put claim on the community center....PRIME REAL ESTATE !
        Last edited by Sir X; April 29, 2013, 09:07 AM.

Ownership is in question by whom?

You read the article ?

An eviction notice by an absentee owner for over 35 years who no one knows about except the courts ,should be questioned because the courts didnt question its validity of ownbership , doesnt mean it should not be challenged! pretty sure you have heard the terms fraud and forgery ?

But a suh it set ,when you havent the means to challenge you get abused and society in a wider sense.

Read see if you can get pass , eviction notice by the courts and not questioned by the occupants , see what you come up with !

I changed shouldnt to should ...typo

National Land Agency, 8 Ardenne Road Kingston 10 - $1500 to find out the name of the owner...don't see the relevance...someone owns the land and it is not the current occupant...current occupant needs to go...if knowing the name of the owner makes him feel better go to Ardenne Rd & pay the $1500 to satisfy his curiosity...after he removes himself from the land of course

Real estate laws , not sure how it works in Jamaica but in stome states if you reside on a property for X years and can prove that you have kept up the property and invested $$$ and landlord/owner has been absent , you are entitled to ownership/or compensation.

It can be challenged .I believe Ja has a law like that , if you can prove you have been paying taxes X yrs etc , that land is yours.

My thing is they are under the belief its government land .

National Land Agency, 8 Ardenne Road Kingston 10 - $1500 to find out the name of the owner...don't see the relevance...someone owns the land and it is not the current occupant...current occupant needs to go...if knowing the name of the owner makes him feel better go to Ardenne Rd & pay the $1500 to satisfy his curiosity...after he removes himself from the land of course
                    Bricktop, Jamaica a runnings country. People thief land by changing the name on the title! Also I heard that if a person pay the taxes for a certain amount of years (30 or 20 not sure) then they can legally claim ownership. The farmers should have tried that route!

Brick know dat mi wonder if im ave shares wid di investor....Prime Real Estate , dem soon claim di community center, if man can tief beach a Ja , wha dem caaan tief ?...legal gun pum (stick up )

you are correct, in Jamaica squatters may acquire possessory rights to private land after 12 years and rights to state land after 60 years...if they can prove they have been occupying it for the period

No judge is going to rule like that...plus they are strengthening anti-squatting laws in Jamaica now...

Well people without knowledge and mean$$$ will suffer , right Brick and its O.K a suh it set...No judge is gonna rule like that ...lol

Yes people change names on title...judges don't rule in favour of squatters with that paying taxes thing...they always lose...