So how comes no discussion on Redwood

• So how comes no discussion on Redwood

Mi did think seh enuff Redwood trees was in Canada.

"mi will come back when tings get better". What a damnation.

What to discuss? The man talk it plain!

Mi did think seh enuff Redwood trees was in Canada.

"mi will come back when tings get better". What a damnation.
      Where did Miss Louise Bennent end up? Canada!

Is dat him say?

Redwood is an embarrassment! But I guess he only firsted the GG's wife!

For one, he should have turned down the position of Speaker of the House. I am sure the immigration process had already started, so why waste our time?

Nothing wrong in migrating, but this is even worse than those who had dual citizenship in our parliament.

Did he really say he'll come back when tings get better?!?

No, paraphrasing, but it amounts to about the same.

Tuesday | May 14, 2013
          EDITORIAL - The Redwood factor

Published: Tuesday | May 14, 2013 19 Comments

Whoever Portia Simpson Miller appoints and/or elevates to the presidency of the Senate to succeed Stanley Redwood, she should ensure that he has greater faith in Jamaica than his predecessor.That person, Mrs Simpson Miller must be certain, will have to have the gumption to work hard to help fix Jamaica's myriad problems, rather than throw in the towel.
          If the prospective appointee can't give the prime minister that assurance, she should not give him, or her, the job. She can't allow the embarrassment of another Rev Stanley Redwood.
          We should make clear that this newspaper has no animus towards the Rev Mr Redwood, who, by most accounts, is a nice, friendly guy who acquitted himself with equanimity and decorum during the 16 months he not only served in the Upper House, but as its president.
          But the Rev Redwood is likely to admit that he is more than a bit queasy about his reason for stepping down and the signal that it sends to Jamaica, including the many thousands whose votes gave Mrs Simpson Miller the gift for his appointment. He is emigrating, making no secret that Jamaica is not the place, economically and socially, where he wants to live and raise his family.
          Said the Rev Redwood in his parting remarks to fellow senators: "No other Jamaican should be forced, or feel forced, to make the choice I have to make this month. I feel strongly that after 50 years of Independence, Jamaica should be further along the pathway to be able to sustain more of the hopes and the dreams of more of its citizens. I voice this regret so that as committed and patriotic Jamaicans, you might be challenged to redouble your efforts to put Jamaica first. And to put the people first."
          Rev Redwood is right that Jamaica should be better off, economically and socially. He is certainly within his rights to seek a better life elsewhere.
          But that is an individual choice that he has the wherewithal to make, given his personal circumstances, which is not afforded to all of Jamaica's citizens. His decision to go is not being forced upon him. In ordinary circumstances, that would be no one's business. Except that Rev Redwood has made it everyone's business by accepting high office and throwing in the towel less than a quarter of the way through the journey.
          Rev Redwood can, and perhaps will, make important contributions to Jamaica from wherever he goes. But it is likely to do something to the confidence of the country if, without skipping a beat, one day he is president of the Jamaican Senate and the next, he is living in another country, which he feels is a better place to live, work, do business and raise his family.

'Was PM aware of Redwood’s plan to migrate?'

Published: Monday May 13, 2013 | 5:10 pm with audio | 23 Comments

Political commentator Kevin O’Brien Chang. – File

Senators Sandrea Falconer and Navel Clarke (right) escort first-time senator, the Reverend Stanley Redwood, to the president's seat to take up his post during the opening of the new session of Parliament. - photos by Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

Prime Minister, Portia Simpson Miller. – File

1 2 3 >
            Jovan Johnson, Gleaner Writer

Political commentator, Kevin O’Brien Chang is questioning how much Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller knew about Stanley Redwood’s plans to migrate prior to appointing him Senate president in January last year.

Redwood officially resigned from his position during last Friday’s sitting of the Senate and is to migrate to Canada with his family next Monday.

However, while accepting that family comes first, Chang is accusing Redwood of moral dishonesty on the basis that his imminent departure from Jamaica is the end result of a process that started in 2008 with a decision to seek Canadian citizenship.

He says Redwood knew the potential outcome yet chose to accept the appointment only to leave soon after.

Charging that the situation shows a lack of vetting, Chang is questioning whether Simpson Miller was aware prior to his appointment or if Redwood chose not to inform of his plans before taking up the appointment.

Chang says a precedent has now been set whereby leaders need to ask their nominees for public office if they plan to stay in Jamaica for the duration of their terms.

Redwood should have offered that information!

Chang says a precedent has now been set whereby leaders need to ask their nominees for public office if they plan to stay in Jamaica for the duration of their terms.
              - madness!

His defence is that his plan was to settle his family in Canada then return to Jamaca alone...apparently he had another child since then and could not be away from the infant child...what ****es me off is him saying he wants the best for his talented children and we would all do the same...in essence he is saying talented children will not achieve their full potential in Jamaican schools..

I feel your pain here. This is a psyche blow to Jamaica. Pres of the Senate just up and migrate and claims it for a better life for his faumbilly.

He didnt anticipate this, even as papers submit since 2008?

Perfidious Albion.

He is full of shiit.

best him just kibber his mouth and slink away. Yes, he has an individual right, BUT he also assumed certain responsibilities and he was derelict and callous.

Yuh see, if yuh is a regular citizen, screwed up by successive governments, no one can blame you if you choose to migrate with your family. But when you decide to run for office, you should stick to it! Your belief in the country should be paramount, or at the very least, your belief in yourself to make a difference!

Redwood is an embarrassment!

Or is he saying that if your children was talented like fe him then you would fly them out too.

LOL!

Either way it is very disrespectful .

Him wurse than Mosiah friend Andrew Holness. At least Andrew was home schooling them. But him get up and RUN

Redwood turn logwood or dogwood?

Or driftwood!